TMDHosting Review

Reviewed by: Jerry Low . .
  • Review Updated: Oct 21, 2020
TMDHosting
Plan in review: Business
Reviewed by:
Rating:
Review Updated: October 21, 2020
Summary
TMDHosting is one of the "rare gems" in hosting industry that I recommend to bloggers or business in need of a reliable web hosting solution. Not only do they offer stable server performances and tons of useful features, but they also have some of the best customer support team in the industry.

Updates: Added latest pricing info and speed test results (May 2020). 

TMD Hosting has been around for over 10 years and has been considered as a reliable choice for those in need of a quality web hosting provider.

With four data centers spread across the United States and an overseas data center in Amsterdam, does the PC Editor’s Choice still have what it takes to be considered as the best web host for bloggers and businesses?

My experience with TMD Hosting

TMD Hosting is not the best-known hosting provider in the world but if you bump around at hosting forums or social media groups – you'll notice that their user feedback tends to be a lot more positive than many other big hosting names out there.

So to find out more about TMD, I personally signup to a TMD Hosting shared account and put them to the test. And boy, they did not fail to impress! What started as a test-project account turned into a daily-use account. Because of the good performance I see, I am hosting more and more websites at TMD these days.

In this TMD Hosting review…

In this review, I will show you the behind scenes and help you decide if TMD is right for you.

I have came down to a list of pros and cons, as well as months of server performance statistics for your reference. I have spoke to employees and managers at TMD Hosting numerous times, part of those conversations are recorded in this review.

I will also share a special deal for WHSR users only (under pro #5 – big discounts for new signups) where you can get an additional 7% discount on top of TMD's signup promotion price.

And in case you want to check things out yourself, here's our test site (please go easy on it).

About TMD Hosting

  • Company HQ: Orlando, United States
  • Established: 2007
  • Data centers: US, UK, Holland, Singapore, Japan, and Australia
  • Services: Shared, VPS, Cloud, WordPress, Reseller, Dedicated Hosting

 


 

TMD Hosting – Pros & Cons

Here are what I like and dislike about TMD.

The Pros: Things I Like about TMDHosting

After testing out TMDHosting, we found that there’s a lot to love about the hosting provider. Here are some of the pros that stand out.

1. Great Performance: Blazing Fast + Reliable Server

In terms of server performances, TMDHosting can go toe-to-toe with some of the best in the industry. Not only do they strong uptime rates, but they also have blazing fast speed with fast server response time.

TMD Hosting Speed Test

TMD Hosting Speed Test at Bitcatcha
TMD Hosting Speed Test (May 2020): Result = A+. Test site hosted at TMD Hosting kept response time below 300ms for all test points. My test site is hosted in TMD's Europe data center – hence it performed best in London (see actual result here).
TMD Gtmetrix test
GT Metrix Speed Test from Mumbai, India using LTE Mobile line connection; TTFB recorded was 1.0s – which is acceptable for a budget shared hosting (see actual result here).

TMD Hosting Uptime 

Recent Records

We launched an automated system to track web host performance in September 2019. The following screenshots are taken on May 11th, 2020. TMD had a small period of downtime on 4th February and scored 100% in other times during February to May 2020.

TMD Hosting Uptime
TMD Hosting Uptime – you can see latest result at our sister site HostScore.

Past Records

Here are some uptime records are from another old site that I hosted with TMD.

Jan 2019: 100%
Feb 2017 : 99.94%

tmd uptime 072016
Jul 2016: 99.71%
TMDHosting uptime score for March 2016: 100% - site has not gone down for more than 1,400 hours.
Mar 2016: 100%

2. Easy To Use Interface

TMDHosting recently revamped their Portal Dashboard and made it much more accessible to its users. Now you can manage everything in one convenient portal which houses the billing, support tickets, cPanel login, and other upgrades.

This is how TMD Hosting user dashboard looks like – I am showing you the page right after I login to my personal account.

TMD Hosting user dashboard demo – some part of the image is censored for privacy reason.
TMD Hosting user dashboard demo – some part of the image is censored for privacy reason.

3. Clear Guidelines On Server Limitations

When it comes to server usage limitations, TMDHosting is  transparent with their guidelines.

Other companies tend to be quite vague with server limitations, which can be annoying. TMDHosting, on the other hand, will allocate specific CPU seconds per month to each shared hosting account and send alerts to users if they exceed 70% of their CPU seconds. This is especially fair for users who might not realize they need to upgrade their plans to accommodate their website’s growth.

Quoting TMD Hosting ToS:

The Company will notify the Customer in case that their account reaches 70% of their monthly CPU time allotted, in order to work together and find a solution/evaluate the needs of The Customer and/or the software used by the Customer. In cases where the Customer is not taking actions to address CPU time usage over 70% of their monthly plan allotment, the Company reserves the right to limit access to shared CPU resources for the given account until their monthly quota is reset.

4. 60 Day Money Back Guarantees

The industry standard for money back guarantees on shared and cloud hosting plans are usually within 30 days. TMDHosting, on the other hand, offers a 60-day money back guarantee for their shared and cloud hosting plans. This gives users ample time to test out TMDHosting and not lose a ton of money if you’re not sold on their services.

5. Affordable Price: Not the Cheapest, but Reasonable

TMDHosting tends to hold big discounts for new customers. You can get as much as 65% worth of discounts for their different hosting plans if you’re a new customer. TMD shared hosting price is not the cheapest, but I opined that they are reasonable priced. 

Here's how TMD's price stack up with other similar web hosting services:

Web HostsPrice*Review
TMDHosting$5.95/mo
A2 Hosting$4.90/moReview
BlueHost$3.95/moReview
GoDaddy$4.99/moReview
GreenGeeks$3.95/moReview
Hostgator$8.95/moReview
Hostinger$4.95/moReview
InMotion Hosting$5.99/moReview
iPage$1.99/moReview
SiteGround$5.95/moReview

 

*All prices are based on new signup for 24 months subscription period. Prices are checked on January 2019. For best accuracy, please refer to official sites.

TMD Hosting Special Discount

We managed to get exclusive deal from TMD Hosting – You can now get 7% additional discount on top of the discounted signup price with coupon code “WHSR” or “WHSR7”. This coupon code can be applied to the “Purchase Information” in your order page (refer to screenshot below).

Shared hosting starts at $2.74 per month instead of the usual $2.95.

Save additional 7% using special promo code “WHSR7” (click here to order now).

6. Selection of Hosting Locations

If you tend to focus on a particular continent (i.e. Asia, Europe, or the U.S.), TMD Hosting offers multiple hosting locations that you can choose in order to have better server performances for your targeted audience.

At the moment, you can choose to host your website at either Phoenix, Chicago (US), London (UK), Amsterdam (NL), Singapore, Tokyo (JP), and Sydney (AU).

7. Weebly Ready

Weebly is a drag-and-drop site builder that lets you build a website without any coding whatsoever. This makes it easy for people who are not technical experts or busy entrepreneurs to create a working website in just mere minutes.

You can build a simple website easily using Weebly (basic features) at TMD Hosting.

8. Responsive Customer Support

My experience with their customer support team has been excellent. Whether it’s their 24×7 live chat team, forum, and their phone support, I’ve managed to consistently receive fast responses. They even offer to help transfer web files and databases for those with existing websites for free!

TMD Hosting manages an active support forum – which I think is quite useful.

The Cons For TMDHosting – Important to Know

There’s a lot to love about TMDHosting, however, that doesn’t mean they don’t have any flaws. Below are some of the cons that I think needs to be pointed out.

1. Auto Backup Feature Can Be Better

The industry standard for database and file retention backup period is usually within 7 to 14 days. TMDHosting only offers 5 days for their database retention period and 1 day for the file retention period. Even though their daily backup feature is free, there’s still room for improvement.

2. Renewal Prices Are Slightly High

While TMDHosting does offer affordable signup prices for their plans, their renewal prices tend to hike up quite significantly. For example, their Starter Shared Hosting plan signup price is at $2.95/mo and renews at $8.95/mo $4.95/mo*.

Note: TMD Hosting heard our complaints (I wished). The company has revised their renewal prices for all shared and cloud hosting plans! 

3. Standard CloudFlare Package Only

Currently, TMDHosting only offers the standard CloudFlare package for its hosting plans. A2 Hosting, at a similar price, offers the CloudFlare Railgun package which gives better optimization and loading speeds.

 


 

TMD Hosting Plans & Pricing

TMD Hosting offers different hosting plans – Shared, Reseller, VPS Cloud, WordPress Managed, and Dedicated. Let’s take a look at the these hosting plans.

TMD Shared Hosting Plans

Shared Hosting plans are divided into three different tiers at TMD: Starter, Business, and Enterprise. They offer all the standard features that you would expect such as Free Domain, NGINX web server, and cPanel support.

The differences between them are additional features such as WildCard SSL and Memcache instance for higher plans.

Shared PlansStarter PlanBusiness PlanEnterprise Plan
Storage (SSD)UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Data TransferUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Website Hosted1UnlimitedUnlimited
Free Domain
NGINX Server
Memcache 128MB256MB
Opcache
WildCard SSL
New User Discount65%40%30%
Signup (2 Year)$2.95/mo$4.95/mo$7.95/mo
Renewal (2 Year)$4.95/mo$7.95/mo$12.95/mo
OrderVisit OnlineVisit OnlineVisit Online

 

* Notes:

  • As I am using TMD Shared Hosting, we will focus more in their shared hosting service in this review.
  • Use special coupon code “WHSR” to get 7% additional discount on top of the already discounted price listed at TMD Hosting website. 

TMD VPS Hosting Plans

Their VPS Hosting plans is separated into five different tiers: Starter, The Original, Smart, E-Commerce, and Super Powerful. These Open-Stack powered VPS hosting plans allow for great flexibility, giving you room to scale up if your website grows bigger. In terms of resources, you can get as much 200GB of SSD Space and 10TB Bandwidth on the highest tier.

TMD VPS offerings is considered as one of the top rated VPS hosting in market – you can compare these plans with others in the article.

VPS PlansStarterOriginalSmarteCommercePowerful
Storage (SSD)40 GB65 GB100 GB150 GB200 GB
Data Transfer3 TB4 TB5 TB8 TB10 TB
Memory (DDR4)2 GB4 GB6 GB8 GB12 GB
CPU Cores22446
New User Discount50%50%50%50%50%
Signup Price$19.97/mo$29.97/mo$39.97/mo$54.97/mo$64.97/mo
Renewal Price$39.95/mo$59.95/mo$79.95/mo$109.95/mo$129.95/mo
Order Visit OnlineVisit OnlineVisit OnlineVisit OnlineVisit Online

 

 

TMD Cloud Hosting

Similar to their Shared Hosting plans, TMDHosting offers three tiers of Cloud Hosting: Starter, Business, and Enterprise.

The big difference between the tiers are the resources given with the Starter plan getting only 2 CPU Cores and 2GB DDR4 RAM while the Business and Enterprise plan gets 4 CPU Cores, 4GB DDR4 RAM and 6 CPU Cores, 6GB DDR4 RAM respectively.

Cloud PlansStarterBusinessEnterprise
Storage (SSD)UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Data TransferUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Memory (DDR4)2 GB4 GB6 GB
CPU Cores246
Memcache128 MB256 MB
New User Discount60%50%40%
Signup Price$5.95/mo$6.95/mo$9.95/mo
Renewal Price$8.95/mo$11.95/mo$17.95/mo
OrderVisit OnlineVisit OnlineVisit Online

 

Other TMD Hosting Plans

Managed WordPress Hosting

If you’re using WordPress, TMDHosting offers cheap Managed WordPress Hosting service that’s optimized for the platform. Aside from the standard features such as free domain, SSL certificates, and NGINX web server, the WordPress hosting plan is pre-configured to give maximum performance for WordPress websites.

Reseller Hosting

For those looking into reseller hosting, TMDHosting offers three tiers for their Reseller Hosting plan: Standard, Enterprise, and Professional. Some of the features included are unlimited website hosted, WHM/cPanel, and server resources ranging from 700GB bandwidth to 2000GB bandwidth.

Dedicated Hosting

The Dedicated Server Hosting offers the most power and server resources that you can get form TMDHosting. Separated into four tiers, you can either get the Starter, The Original, Smart, and Super Powerful plan. In addition to features such as premium support and unlimited bandwidth, you can get storage from 1TB up to 2x2TB and as high as 32GB DDR4 RAM.

Confused with TMD Cloud and VPS Hosting Plans?

I asked TMDHosting sales agent about the difference between their Cloud and VPS Hosting plans. The following is the answer I got –

Help me choose between your cloud and vps plans – how are these two difference?

The Cloud solutions we offer are suitable for medium sized websites, they use lots of servers to produce a large “cloud” of computing power. In this cloud, a virtual container is created and this container is similar to a VPS, with the difference that it is quite harder for it to go down, mainly due to the structure of the computing cloud itself.”

– TMDHosting Sales Agent, Todd Carter

My takeaway: If scalability is not a big issue (assuming that your site will not get a sudden spike in traffic), go with TMD's VPS Hosting Plan to save money.

 

 


 

Bottom Line: TMD Hosting – It's a Yes!

To recap, here's what I like and dislike about TMD Hosting –

Who should host at TMD?

I recommend TMD Hosting for bloggers or business in need of a reliable web hosting solution. Not only do they offer stable server performances and tons of useful features, but they also have some of the best customer support team in the industry.

If you’re considering the Shared Hosting plan, I’d recommend you go for the Business Plan tier as the signup costs are just $24 in different ($2.95/mo vs $4.95/mo) but you’ll have much better server performance and capacity.

TMD Hosting Alternatives and Comparisons

Make use of our Web Host Comparison tool to find out how TMD Hosting stack up with others. If you are looking for quick comparisons, below are a few:

 

 

* Note: I hope that you find this review helpful. This website is funded by users – we get a commission (at no additional cost to you) if you make a purchase via our link. 

About Jerry Low

Founder of WebHostingSecretRevealed.net (WHSR) - a hosting review trusted and used by 100,000's users. More than 15 years experience in web hosting, affiliate marketing, and SEO. Contributor to ProBlogger.net, Business.com, SocialMediaToday.com, and more.