GreenGeeks 主機評論

評論人:Jerry Low。 .
  • 評論更新:15 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日
GreenGeeks主持
審查中的計劃:GreenGeeks Ecosite Pro
評論者:Jerry Low
評分:
評論更新: 15年2021月XNUMX日
總結
GreenGeeks Web Hosting 已通過 Bonneville 環境基金會 (BEF) 認證,300% 環保; 並以實惠的註冊價格(2.49 美元/月)提供出色的網絡託管性能。 然而,雖然幾乎一切看起來都很光明 - 高昂的續訂成本令人望而卻步。

GreenGeeks擁有超過十年的網絡託管業務,是那些尋求環保服務的人們的獨特堡壘(稍後會詳細介紹)。

該公司由Trey Gardner在2008創立,他在多家大型託管公司的豐富經驗中受益匪淺。 今天,Trey和他經驗豐富的專業核心團隊將GreenGeeks打造成一家健康,穩定和有競爭力的公司。

我的GreenGeeks故事

長期閱讀WHSR的讀者對Trey Gardner並不陌生。 在2000年代,我們對首席執行官進行了兩次採訪,並在過去發表了關於他的項目的多條評論。

在撰寫本文時,我們正在託管一個測試網站(看這裡)在GreenGeeks共享託管平台上,並使用我們稱為“ HostScore”的內部系統持續監控其性能。 您可以查看 GreenGeeks在這裡的最新性能評論.

在這篇評論中–我將使用我的個人帳戶帶您到幕後,並演示將您的網站託管在GreenGeeks上的感覺。

關於GreenGeeks,公司

  • 成立時間:2008
  • 總部:加利福尼亞州阿古拉山
  • 服務:共享,VPS,經銷商託管

該公司的根源於北美,通過35,000多個網站為300,000多家客戶提供服務。 作為環保 託管公司,它致力於留下積極的能源足跡,並用三倍的已使用能源信用額代替了已使用的能源。

如果您想知道為什麼這可能很重要,市場情報公司IDC估計,在接下來的10年中,企業管理的數據將增加50百分比。 這意味著即使考慮到服務器技術的進步,處理數據所需的服務器數量也會顯著增加。

讓我們仔細看看,看看這個由行業專家運營的服務是否能夠成為一個偉大的網絡主機。

在本次審查中

 評測總結

 

GreenGeeks 託管註冊折扣

新 GreenGeeks 用戶在他們的第一張 GreenGeeks 賬單上享受一次性 70% 的折扣,EcoSite Lite 計劃(單站點託管)在折扣後每月收費 2.49 美元。 單擊此處(新窗口,附屬鏈接)後,促銷優惠券將自動應用於您的購物車。

GreenGeeks 註冊折扣
新用戶可在GreenGeeks三年期託管計劃上節省$ 250 +, 點擊這裡訂購.

 

 


 

優點:我們喜歡GreenGeeks嗎?

1.環保:300%綠色託管(行業榜首)

鑑於公司名稱,讓我們暫時關注綠色虛擬主機。

並非所有綠色託管公司都有兩個主要區別,即他們是使用碳抵消額度還是可再生能源證書。 要完全理解每個的含義,請閱讀我們的文章 綠色虛擬主機如何工作.

GreenGeeks聲稱提供“可再生能源支持的300%綠色虛擬主機”。

這意味著他們購買的可再生能源證書數量是他們提供的服務所用數量的三倍。

認證綠色公司

該公司是公認的EPA綠色電力合作夥伴,與環境基金會合作購買風能信用額度。

greengeeks綠色證書
GreenGeeks頒發的綠色證書 EPABEF.

除此之外,還有一個事實是,他們的數據中心之一在多倫多。 近年來,幾個數據中心已經轉移到那裡,以利用一種稱為“自然冷卻”的現象。

多倫多的自然冷卻利用寒冷的天氣來幫助將數據中心的運營成本(和碳足跡)降低多達50%。 這些設施具有專門設計的附加冷卻迴路,以允許室外冷凍空氣補充設備所需的傳統冷卻系統。

 

2.出色的服務器速度–在所有速度測試中均評為A

GreenGeeks運行我們通常的性能測試,點亮......好吧,綠色全面。

我們的測試服務器位於歐洲,我決定從倫敦進行額外的測試,只是為了觀察是否對主機性能有任何明顯的影響。

毫不奇怪,由於我們的服務器位於荷蘭,因此 GreenGeeks 性能測試顯示了基於歐盟的測試的最佳速度。 然而,它也設法顯示 出色的頁面加載速度 也是全面的——從亞洲到北美。

但是,如果您略過直的“ A”並略微深入數字,那麼新加坡的“首字節時間”(TTFB)會稍高一些。 這是可以預期的,因為GreenGeeks在該位置沒有數據中心。

BitCatcha 速度測試(2021 年 XNUMX 月)

greengeeks bitcatcha 測試結果
GreenGeeks在最近的Bitcatcha速度測試中被評為“ A +”(在這裡查看實際測試結果)。 服務器響應時間在德國測試節點最快(9ms),在澳大利亞最慢(277ms)。

網頁速度測試 – 來自英國倫敦(2021 年 XNUMX 月)

WebpageTest.org 上的 GreenGeek 速度測試。
WebpageTest.org 上的 GreenGeek 速度測試。 來自位於美國的服務器的 TTFB = 413 毫秒(在此處查看實際測試結果).

 

3.服務器位置的選擇

GreenGeeks 數據中心位置
GreenGeeks 的數據中心位於芝加哥、蒙特利爾和阿姆斯特丹。

選擇託管帳戶時,您可以通過選擇配置您的 GreenGeeks 帳戶的位置來選擇您的網站的託管位置。

公司在美國芝加哥設有數據中心(測試IP:216.104.36.130); 加拿大蒙特利爾(測試 IP:184.107.41.68); 和荷蘭阿姆斯特丹(測試 IP:198.20.98.2)。 無論您選擇哪個數據中心,您都將享受與 GreenGeeks 相同的好處和託管功能,例如擴展性、速度、安全性和環保技術。

 

4.對於新手和非技術人員來說都很容易

每月 2.49 美元的註冊費(在初始註冊期後續訂 10.95 美元),您幾乎可以獲得無限量的一切,甚至 免費域名註冊網站遷移服務 扔進去。

GreenGeeks免費網站遷移

例如,不僅網絡空間不受限制,而且是 SSD 存儲,速度很快。 然後是每日備份和免費網站傳輸,這在這個價位幾乎不常見。 將其與其他所有內容結合起來,您將很難找到可比的產品。

WordPress主機略有不同,但很多人會很高興地註意到有一個免費的WordPress網站遷移服務。 這是許多網站主機收取大量費用的東西。

綠色極客移民
要在 GreenGeeks 發起您的免費站點遷移請求,請登錄您的 GreenGeeks 客戶經理 > 支持 > 站點遷移請求 > 選擇服務。
綠色極客移民
選擇服務後,您需要提交一些基本信息和遷移說明。 為 GreenGeeks 提供您以前的主機主控制面板或帳戶管理登錄名是理想的選擇——這是他們完成遷移請求所需的一切。

HTTP/2、HTTP/3、LiteSpeed、MariaDB 和 PHP 8 

GreenGeeks 產品默認啟用 HTTP/2 和 HTTP/3,這本身就是另一回事。 HTTP/2 和 HTTP/3 是新的傳輸協議,可以使您的網站加載速度更快。

另外值得一提的是,GreenGeeks 使用的是 MariaDB,它與 SSD 硬盤、Optimized LiteSpeed 和 PowerCache 緩存技術相結合,形成強大的前線。 這可能是影響它們速度性能的一個重要因素,不能掉以輕心。

Sitepad站點構建器

GreenGeeks提供 Sitepad 作為事實上的拖放網站建設者。 雖然Sitepad的使用比普通的拖放式網站構建器稍微複雜一些,但我仍然認為這是一個加分點。 它仍然需要使用零編碼技能,並且比平均值略微更全面。

它附帶了許多預先設計的模板(通過700)以及可用於修改它們的各種小部件。 最重要的是,Sitepad是GreenGeeks已集成到其控制面板中的第三方網站編輯器。 因此,原始開發人員有動力使其與新技術和工具保持同步。

sitepad 網站建設者
GreenGeeks 用戶可以使用內置的 SitePad Builder 輕鬆構建網站。 在撰寫本文時,有 700 多個預建網站主題可用。

讓我們加密SSL集成

GreenGeeks推出了其專有的內置 我們加密SSL 適用於託管在共享和經銷商平台上的用戶的集成於2019年XNUMX月進行。 GreenGeeks用戶現在可以一鍵安裝“讓我們加密通配符SSL”並自動續訂他們的SSL。 無需觸摸CSR /私鑰/ CRT文件。

綠色極客 SSL
這就是我的GreenGeeks用戶儀表板*的外觀。 要將免費的SSL添加到您的域,請登錄到信息中心>安全性>添加SSL證書>選擇服務和域。
使用新的儀表板,在 GreenGeeks 向您的域添加免費 SSL 非常容易。 簡單地選擇您要安裝 Let's Encrypt SSL 的域,然後單擊“確認並創建”。 Let's Encrypt 將在幾秒鐘內保護您的站點。

*注意:現有的GreenGeeks用戶–切換到新的GreenGeeks AM控制面板以訪問此SSL工具。

廣泛的安全功能

為確保帳戶安全,GreekGeeks採用雙管齊下的方法,利用帳戶隔離以及Secure vFS。 通過保持帳戶孤立,他們能夠保護用戶免受他們自己的服務器環境中的資源浪費。 例如,如果基於與您的服務器相同的服務器的其他帳戶存在大量使用量激增,則您的帳戶不會受到影響。

每個帳戶也通過自己的實時惡意軟件掃描進行保護。 這是對孤島心態的另一個跟進,但也意味著您的帳戶可以安全地避免可能影響同一服務器上其他帳戶的任何內容,例如惡意軟件。

 

5.有用的客戶支持和知識庫

GreekGeeks的客戶服務範圍很廣,幾乎擁有網絡託管者想要的一切。 該公司是 獲得商業改善局的認可 目前被用戶評為“ A”。 他們不僅提供24/7電子郵件支持,電話支持和實時聊天,還擁有一些您可以利用的有趣資源。

首先是知識庫,用於快速 DIY 幫助。 還有一些基本教程可以對此進行補充,涵蓋從如何在您的帳戶上設置電子郵件到特定於平台的支持(包括 WordPress 或 Drupal)的所有內容。

總的來說,在可用於提供幫助的資源方面,GreenGeeks遠遠超過了我迄今為止遇到的網絡主機的80百分比。

事實上,我能看到的唯一缺點是缺乏基於視頻的教程,鑑於我們對富媒體格式的傾向,這些教程變得越來越重要。

GreenGeeks支持
總的來說,在可用於提供幫助的資源方面,GreenGeeks遠遠超過了我迄今為止遇到的網絡主機的80百分比。

 

6.預算友好–新用戶可享受大折扣

像大多數預算託管提供商一樣,GreenGeeks為新用戶提供很大的折扣。 如果您是第一次註冊GreenGeeks,您將獲得最高70%的價格折扣。 單域共享託管的起價僅為$ 2.49 / mo,在當今市場上,這是非常合理的。

*重要提示:但是請注意,GreenGeeks價格在第一學期後將上漲,有關更多詳細信息,請參見下面的Con#2。

新用戶可在GreenGeeks三年期託管計劃上節省$ 250 +, 點擊這裡訂購.

 

缺點:GreenGeeks有什麼不好

1.續訂期間價格上漲

網站託管費用 一直是許多 WHSR 讀者的主要關注點。 便宜的價格標籤是 僅適用於 GreenGeeks 的首次客戶.

當您在第一個學期後續訂託管計劃時,Ecosite Lite 和 Ecosite Pro 計劃的常規費率分別為 10.95 美元/月和 15.95 美元/月。

雖然這種做法在當今的網絡託管市場中很常見; 我們認為提前提醒我們的用戶很重要。 許多客戶沒有意識到他們將支付更高的價格,當他們看到信用卡對帳單上的自動收費時,他們會感到震驚。

 

GreenGeeks計劃和定價

GreenGeeks共享主機

GreenGeeks提供 共享, VPS, WordPress和經銷商託管解決方案。 綠色極客 WordPress共享計劃 基本上是一樣的東西——兩者的價格相同,並且在三個不同的包中具有相似的功能——Ecosite Lite、Ecosite Pro 和 Ecosite Premium。 根據 GreenGeeks 的說法,高級計劃託管帳戶放置在客戶較少的服務器上,並且還具有增加的 CPU、內存和資源。

特別服務生態網站精簡版Ecosite ProEcosite Premium
SSD存儲GB 50無限制無限制
插件域1無限制無限制
電子郵件帳戶50無限制無限制
WP 修復工具沒有
專用IP$ 48 /年$ 48 /年免費
對象緩存沒有沒有
註冊(12-mo)$ 4.95 /月$ 6.95 /月$ 10.95 /月
註冊(24-mo)$ 3.95 /月$ 5.95 /月$ 9.95 /月
註冊(36-mo)$ 2.49 /月$ 4.95 /月$ 8.95 /月
續訂價格$ 10.95 /月$ 15.95 /月$ 25.95 /月

 

GreenGeeks VPS 主機

GreenGeeks VPS 有 2 個版本——4GB、8GB 和 XNUMXGB。 以下是他們 VPS 計劃的一些快速亮點。

特別服務GB 2GB 4GB 8
SSD存儲GB 50GB 75GB 150
數據傳輸10 TB 10 TB 10 TB
cPanel/Softaculous包括包括包括
記憶GB 2GB 4GB 8
CPU內核4個vCPU4個vCPU6個vCPU
註冊$ 39.95 /月$ 59.95 /月$ 109.95 /月

 

關於服務器限制的注意事項

雖然GreenGeeks聲稱提供 無限的空間和帶寬,ToS中有一條令人討厭的線條,它闡明了“過度的資源用戶政策”:

當託管帳戶消耗了訂閱的託管計劃和/或訂閱的可伸縮資源附加組件和/或100個文件(也稱為“計算資源”)上分配的資源的75,000%時,便被視為使用“資源過多”。和/或“資源”和/或“資源使用情況”。

通常,所有Web主機都已實現此功能,但GreenGeeks未設置時間限制。 通常用“比15秒更長的時間”或類似的東西來完成該陳述。 這意味著,只要您達到設定的限制,即使是一秒鐘,他們也有權強制升級您。

值得注意的是,最大文件/索引節點的上限為75,000,這並不是說實話的好處(相比之下) InMotion HostingHostGator的 在紙上允許最多250,000 inode; A2 Hosting 允許最多300,000)。

 

 

有關GreenGeeks虛擬主機的常見問題解答

誰是GreenGeeks?

GreenGeeks是一家網絡託管公司,於2006年以環保網絡託管的原則成立。其總部位於加利福尼亞州的阿古拉山(Agoura Hills),但它們的客戶遍布全球,其數據中心位於美國,加拿大和荷蘭。

如何在GreenGeeks上安裝WordPress?

SoftAculous應用程序安裝程序隨附GreenGeeks上的計劃。 此點擊安裝實用程序可以幫助您在託管帳戶上自動安裝WordPress。

GreenGeeks託管的好嗎?

GreenGeeks是初學者入門的好地方,並提供了有關Web託管的相對獨特的觀點,它試圖在一個碳排放量巨大的行業中實現環保,同時又不犧牲服務器性能。

什麼是綠色託管?

綠色託管是指致力於減少Web託管對環境的影響。 這可以通過多種方式來完成,例如購買綠色能源信用額度或碳補償。

了解有關綠色託管如何工作的更多信息.

GreenGeeks是否適合商業用途?

GreenGeeks適合企業使用,但它們的重點仍然主要放在共享和VPS託管上。 較大的企業應該意識到並註意可能的限制。

 

我們推薦 GreenGeeks 嗎?

GreekGeeks對我來說有點混亂。

一方面,作為一個仍然希望地球(及其上的生命)繼續存在一段時間的技術極客,我很欣賞生態友好性。 GreenGeeks 服務器在我們的測試中顯示出的出色速度性能和簡單的 Let's Encrypt 免費 SSL 管理只不過是王牌。

然而,另一方面,高額的續訂費是一個很大的轉折點。

判決:偉大的環保託管,但從長遠來看價格昂貴

總的來說,我覺得 GreenGeeks 是一個主機,無論是博客還是小型企業,它都能出色地處理任何事情。 事實上,考慮到可用的設施、價格和資源,我認為這是初學者託管網站的理想場所。

綠色極客印章
GreenGeeks 為希望炫耀其環保託管網站的用戶準備了各種“印章”。 訪問者將能夠通過單擊 GreenGeeks Seal 來驗證您是否託管了 green。 要獲取這些印章的代碼,請登錄 > 儀表板 > 個人資料 > Greengeeks Seal。

GreenGeeks 託管的替代方案

如果 GreenGeeks 不適合您,這裡還有另外兩家提供類似計劃的綠色託管公司:

  • A2 Hosting –以合理的價格快速加載服務器-$ 3.92 /月。
  • HostPapa – 共享主機計劃起價為 2.95 美元/月。

點擊這裡: 立即以70%的折扣獲得GreenGeeks託管

關於Jerry Low

WebHostingSecretRevealed.net (WHSR) 的創始人 - 他的托管評論文受到 100,000 用戶的信任和使用。 在網絡託管、聯盟營銷和 SEO 方面擁有超過 15 年的經驗。 ProBlogger.net、Business.com、SocialMediaToday.com 等的貢獻者。

GreenGeeks Review

Reviewed by: Jerry Low . .
  • Review Updated: Jul 26, 2021
GreenGeeks
Plan in review: GreenGeeks Ecosite Pro
Reviewed by: Jerry Low
Rating:
Review Updated: July 26, 2021
Summary
Bonneville Environmental Foundation (BEF) certified, 300% eco-friendly, excellent shared hosting performance, and affordable signup price ($2.49/mo) - GreenGeeks is *the* best green hosting providers in market. However, while almost everything looks bright - the hefty renewal cost is a turnoff.

With more than ten years in the business of web hosting, GreenGeeks is a unique bastion for those seeking a service that is eco-friendly (more on this later).

Founded in 2008 by Trey Gardner, the company has benefited from his extensive experience in several large hosting companies. Today, Trey and his experienced core team of professionals have built GreenGeeks into a healthy, stable and competitive company.

My GreenGeeks Story

Long time WHSR readers should be no stranger to Trey Gardner. We have done two interviews with the CEO in 2000's and published multiple reviews on his projects in the past.

At this time of writing, we are hosting a test site (see it here) on GreenGeeks shared hosting platform and monitoring its performance consistently using our in-house system called “HostScore”. You can check out the GreenGeeks' latest performance review here.

In this review – using my personal account, I will take you behind the scenes and demonstrate what's it like to host your website at GreenGeeks.

About GreenGeeks, the Company

  • Established: 2008
  • Headquarter: Agoura Hills, CA
  • Services: Shared, VPS, reseller hosting

The company’s roots lie in North America and has served over 35,000 customers with more than 300,000 websites. As an eco-friendly hosting company, it has dedicated itself to leaving a positive energy footprint and replaces used energy with triple the energy credits that are used.

If you’re wondering why this might be important, market intelligence firm IDC has estimated that over the next 10 years, data managed by businesses will increase by as much as 50 percent. This means a notable increase in the number of servers required to handle the data, even considering advances in server technology.

Let’s take a closer look and see if this service, run by industry experts, can cut the ice as a great web host.

In this GreenGeeks Review…

 Review Summary

 

GreenGeeks Hosting Signup Discount

New GreenGeeks users enjoy a one-time 70% discount on their first GreenGeeks bill, EcoSite Lite Plan (single site hosting) costs $2.49/month after discount.  Promo coupon will be auto applied to your cart once you click here (new window, affiliate link).

GreenGeeks Signup Discount
New users save $250+ on GreenGeeks Triennially Hosting Plans, click here to order.

 

 


 

Pros: What We Like about GreenGeeks?

1. Environmental Friendly: 300% Green Hosting (Industry's Top)

Given the company name, let’s focus on Green Web Hosting for a moment.

Not all green hosting companies but two key differences are whether they use Carbon Offset Credits or Renewable Energy Certificates. To fully understand the implications of each, read our article on How Green Web Hosting Works.

GreenGeeks lays claim to offering “300% Green Web Hosting Powered by Renewable Energy”.

This means that they buy three times more the amount of Renewable Energy certificates than is being used by the services they provide.

Certified Green Company

The company is a recognized EPA Green Power Partner which works with environmental foundations to purchase wind energy credits.

greengeeks green certificate
GreenGeeks green certificate issued by EPA and BEF.

Aside from that, there is also the fact that one of their data centers is in Toronto. In recent years, several data centers have been moving there to take advantage of a phenomena called “free cooling”.

Free cooling in Toronto leverages on the chilly weather to help reduce the operational cost (and carbon footprint) of data centers by as much as 50 percent. These facilities have additional cooling circuits specially designed to allow the freezing outdoor air to supplement traditional cooling systems that the equipment demands.

 

2. Excellent Server Speed – Rated A in All Speed Tests

Running the usual gamut of our performance tests, GreenGeeks lights up… well, green across the board.

With our test server located in Europe, I’ve decided to throw in an additional test from London as well, just to observe if there’s any noticeable impact on hosting performance.

Not surprisingly, GreenGeeks performance tests showed best speeds from EU-based tests since our server is in the Netherlands. However, it also managed to show excellent speeds across the board as well – from Asia to North America.

However, if you look past the straight ‘A’s and dig into the number a little bit, there is a slightly higher Time-to-First-Byte (TTFB) from Singapore. This is expected since GreenGeeks has no data center in this location.

BitCatcha Speed Test (July 2021)

greengeeks bitcatcha test results
GreenGeeks rated “A+” in recent Bitcatcha speed test (see actual test result here). Server response time is fastest for test node in Germany (9ms) and slowest in Australia (277ms).

WebPage Speed Test – from London, United Kindom (July 2021)

GreenGeek speed test at WebpageTest.org.
GreenGeek speed test at WebpageTest.org. TTFB from server located at United States = 413 ms (see actual test results here).

 

3. Choice of Server Locations

GreenGeeks Data Centers Location
GreenGeeks' data centres are in Chicago, Montreal and Amsterdam.

When selecting a hosting account, you can choose where your website is hosted by selecting where your GreenGeeks account is provisioned.

The company has data centers in Chicago, United States (test IP: 216.104.36.130); Montreal, Canada (test IP: 184.107.41.68); and Amsterdam, Netherland (test IP: 198.20.98.2). You will enjoy the same benefits and hosting features such as scaling, speed, security, and eco-friendly technologies with GreenGeeks regardless of which data center you choose.

 

4. Easy for Newbies and Non-technical People

For a sign-on fee of $2.49 per month (renews at $10.95 after initial sign-up duration), you’ll get practically unlimited amounts of everything, plus even free domain registration and website migration services thrown in.

GreenGeeks Free Site Migration

For example, not only is web space unlimited, but it’s SSD storage, which is fast. Then there is the daily backup and free website transfer, which is practically not often seen at this price point. Round that up with everything else and you’ll be hard pressed to find a comparable offering.

WordPress hosting comes with slight differences, but many of you will be pleased to note that there is a free WordPress site migration service. This is something that many web hosts charge a significant amount for.

greengeeks migration
To initiate your free site migration request at GreenGeeks, log in to your GreenGeeks Account Manager > Support > Site Migration Request > Select a Service.
greengeeks migration
Once you have selected your service, you'll need to submit some basic information and migration instructions. It is ideal to provide GreenGeeks with your previous hosting primary control panel or account management login – which is everything they need to complete your migration request.

HTTP/2, HTTP/3, LiteSpeed, MariaDB, and PHP 8 

The GreenGeeks offerings are HTTP/2 and HTTP/3 enabled by the default and that’s a whole other story in itself. HTTP/2 and HTTP/3 are the new transfer protocols that can make your site load much faster.

It’s also worth noting that GreenGeeks is using MariaDB, which when combines with SSD hard drives, Optimized LiteSpeed and PowerCache caching technology to form a powerful front line. This is probably a big factor in their speed performance and isn’t to be taken lightly.

Sitepad Site Builder

GreenGeeks offers Sitepad as its de facto drag-and-drop site builder. While Sitepad is slightly more complex to use than the average drag-and-drop website builder, I’d still consider this a plus point. It still requires zero coding skills to use and is slightly more comprehensive than average.

It comes with many pre-designed templates (over 700) plus a wide array of widgets you can use to modify them. Most importantly, Sitepad is a third-party site editor that GreenGeeks has integrated into its control panel. As such, the original developer has the motivation to keep it current with new technology and tools.

sitepad site builder
GreenGeeks users can build a website easily with the built-in SitePad Builder. There are more than 700 pre-built website themes available at time of writing.

Let's Encrypt SSL Integration

GreenGeeks launched their proprietary built Let’s Encrypt SSL Integration in July 2019 for users hosted on shared and reseller platforms. GreenGeeks users can now one-click install Let's Encrypt Wildcard SSL and renew their SSL automatically; without touching a CSR / Private Key / CRT files.

GreenGeeks SSL
This is how my GreenGeeks user dashboard* looks like. To add a free SSL to your domain, login to your dashboard > Security > Add SSL Certificate > Select a Service and Domain.
Adding a free SSL to your domain at GreenGeeks is super easy with the new dashboard. Simple select the domain you wish to install the Let's Encrypt SSL and click “Confirm and Create”. Your site will be secured by Let's Encrypt within seconds.

* Note: Existing GreenGeeks users – switch to the new GreenGeeks AM control panel to access this SSL tool.

Extensive Security Features

To ensure account safety, GreekGeeks takes a two-pronged approach, making use of account isolation as well as Secure vFS. By keeping accounts siloed, they are able to protect users from resource hogs within their own server environments. For instance, if another account based on the same server as yours has a massive usage spike, your account won’t be affected.

Each account is also secured with its own real time malware scanning. It’s another follow up on the silo mentality, but also means that your account will be safe from anything that may affect another account on the same server, such as malware.

 

5. Helpful Customer Support and Knowledgebase

GreekGeeks runs the gamut in terms of customer service, having almost everything a web host seeker would want. The company is recognised by Better Business Bureau and currently rated as “A” by the users. They not only have 24/7 email support, phone support and live chat, but also some interesting resources you can leverage on.

First is the knowledge base, for quick DIY assistance. There are also several basic tutorials to supplement this, covering everything from how to set up email on your account to even platform-specific help (such as for WordPress or Drupal).

Overall in term of resources available for help, GreenGeeks surpasses easily 80 percent of the web hosts I’ve encountered so far.

In fact, the only drawback I can see is the lack of video-based tutorials, which are becoming increasingly important given our leanings towards rich media formats.

GreenGeeks support
Overall in term of resources available for help, GreenGeeks surpasses easily 80 percent of the web hosts I’ve encountered so far.

 

6. Budget Friendly – Big Discount for New Users

Like most budget hosting provider, GreenGeeks holds big discount for new users. If you are signing up on GreenGeeks for the first time, you'll get price discount for up to 70%. Single domain shared hosting starts at just $2.49/mo – which I think is very reasonable in today's market.

* Important: However note GreenGeeks prices will increase after first term, see Con #2 below for more details.

New users save $250+ on GreenGeeks Triennially Hosting Plans, click here to order.

 

Cons: What's Not So Good with GreenGeeks

1. Prices Increase During Renewal

Website hosting cost has always been a major concern for many WHSR readers. The cheap price tags are only available for GreenGeeks first time customers.

When you renew your hosting plan after your first term, the regular rate for Ecosite Lite and Ecosite Pro plans will be $10.95/mo and $15.95/mo respectively.

While this practice is common in today's web hosting market; we think it's important alert our users upfront. A lot of customers don’t realize they are going to pay higher prices and they get sticker shock when they see the auto-charge on their credit card statement.

 

GreenGeeks Web Hosting Plans & Pricing

GreenGeeks Shared Hosting

GreenGeeks offers Shared, VPS, WordPress, and Reseller hosting solutions. GreenGeeks WordPress and Shared Plans are basically the same thing – both were priced the same and come with similar features in three different packages – Ecosite Lite, Ecosite Pro, and Ecosite Premium. Premium plan hosting accounts, according to GreenGeeks, are placed on servers with less customers and also comes with increased CPU, Memory & resources.

FeaturesEcosite LiteEcosite ProEcosite Premium
SSD Storage50 GBUnlimitedUnlimited
Addon Domains1UnlimitedUnlimited
Email Accounts50UnlimitedUnlimited
WP Repair ToolNoYesYes
Dedicated IP$48/year$48/yearFree
Object CachingNoNoYes
Signup (12-mo)$4.95/mo$6.95/mo$10.95/mo
Signup (24-mo)$3.95/mo$5.95/mo$9.95/mo
Signup (36-mo)$2.49/mo$4.95/mo$8.95/mo
Renewal Price$10.95/mo$15.95/mo$25.95/mo

 

GreenGeeks VPS Hosting

GreenGeeks VPS comes in three packages – 2GB, 4GB, and 8GB. Below are some quick highlights of their VPS plans.

Features2 GB4 GB8 GB
SSD Storage50 GB75 GB150 GB
Data Transfer10 TB10 TB10 TB
cPanel/SoftaculousIncludedIncludedIncluded
Memory2 GB4 GB8 GB
CPU Cores4 vCPU4 vCPU6 vCPU
Signup$39.95/mo$59.95/mo$109.95/mo

 

Notes on Server Limitations

While GreenGeeks lays claim to offering unlimited space and bandwidth, there is that pesky line in the ToS that spells out an “Excessive Resource User Policy”:

A hosting account is considered using “Excessive amounts of resources” when it consumes 100% of the allocated resources on the subscribed hosting plan and/or subscribed scalable resource add-on(s) and/or 75,000 files also known as “Computing Resources”, and/or “Resources”, and/or “Resource Usage”.

Normally, all web hosts have this in place, but GreenGeeks doesn’t set a time limit. It is usual to complete that statement with something like “for periods longer than 15 seconds” or similar. This means that any time you hit the limits set, even for a second, they have the right to force an upgrade on you.

It’s also worth noting that maximum files/inodes are capped at 75,000 which is not all that great to be honest (in contrast both InMotion Hosting and Hostgator allows up to 250,000 inodes on paper; A2 Hosting allows up to 300,000).

 

 

FAQs about GreenGeeks Web Hosting

Who is GreenGeeks?

GreenGeeks is a web hosting company founded on the principles of environmental-friendly web hosting in 2006. Their headquarters are located in Agoura Hills, California but they have clients all over the world with data centers in United States, Canada, and Netherland.

How do I install WordPress on GreenGeeks?

Plans on GreenGeeks come with the Softaculous application installer. This click-to-install utility can help you install WordPress automatically on your hosting account.

Is GreenGeeks hosting good?

GreenGeeks is a good place for beginners to start and offers a relatively unique perspective on web hosting, trying to be environmentally friendly in an industry with a massive carbon footprint without sacrificing the server performance.

What is Green hosting?

Green hosting is when an effort is expended on reducing the environmental impact caused by web hosting. This can be done in a number of ways, such as the purchase of green energy credits or carbon offsets.

Learn more about how Green hosting works.

Is GreenGeeks suitable for business use?

GreenGeeks is suitable for business use, but their focus remains mostly on shared and VPS hosting. Larger businesses should be aware and exercise caution on possible limitations.

 

GreenGeeks = Great Eco-Friendly Host but Pricey in the Long Run

GreekGeeks is a little of a mixed bag of tricks to me.

On one hand, as a technology geek who still hopes to have Earth (and the life on it) around for quite some time more, I appreciate the eco-friendliness. The excellent speed performance that GreenGeeks servers have shown in our tests and the easy Let's Encrypt free SSL management are nothing but aces.

On the other hand, however, the hefty renewal fee is a big turn off.

In overall, I feel that GreenGeeks is a host which would do admirably with anything from a blog all the way even to a small business. In fact, I think it’s an ideal place for a beginner to host their site, given the facilities, pricing and resources available.

GreenGeeks Seal
GreenGeeks prepared various”seals” for users who wish to show off their environmentally friendly-hosted website. Visitors will be able to verify that you host green by clicking on the GreenGeeks Seal. To get code for these seal, login > Dashboard > Profile > Greengeeks Seal.

Alternatives to GreenGeeks Hosting

In case GreenGeeks is not for you, here are other two green hosting companies offering similar plans:

  • A2 Hosting – Fast loading server at a reasonable price – $3.92/mo.
  • HostPapa – Shared hosting plans start at $2.95/mo.

Side-by-side Comparison with Others

Click Here: Get GreenGeeks hosting at 70% discount now

About Jerry Low

Founder of WebHostingSecretRevealed.net (WHSR) - a hosting review trusted and used by 100,000's users. More than 15 years experience in web hosting, affiliate marketing, and SEO. Contributor to ProBlogger.net, Business.com, SocialMediaToday.com, and more.