iPage Review

iPage Review
Plan in review: Essential
Reviewed by:
Review Last Updated: February 13, 2018
Strong uptime (>99.95%) and ultra low price - Suitable for newbies who to start at minimum cost. Shared hosting plan only comes with basic features and average tech support.

The brand ‘iPage.com’ has been around since 1998 (domain WhoIs record – March 24th, 1995) but it was not very well known until the company’s re-launch in October 2009.

We were one of the first who got invited to test out iPage during soft launch period and reckoned iPage as the Best Budget Hosting in the past.

Is iPage still good in 2018? Let’s find out.

About iPage, the company

  • Headquarter: Burlington, Massachusetts, U.S. (unverified)
  • Established: 1998; major revamp in 2009.
  • Services: Shared, VPS, dedicated hosting

The iPage brand is owned by Endurance International Group (EIG), a NASDAQ-listed company that owns some of the biggest names in hosting industry, including BlueHost and Hostgator. At time of writing, EIG claims that their cloud-based platform is serving approximately 5.37 million subscribers globally.

(Quick Jump) Review iPage Hosting in:

iPage Hosting Performance


Our experience & thoughts:

Hosting uptime above 99.95%

Support PHP 7 

Lack of other latest technology

Lack of option in server location: Users can only host their site in U.S.

Mix server speed test results – TTFB below 500ms at Webpage Test but rated C at Bitcatcha Speed Test 


iPage Reliability Test

iPage hosting performed very well in uptime and speed test. For the (multiple) iPage-hosted sites we tracked, uptime score were constantly above 99.95%. In one recent speed test at WebpageTest.org, the Time-to-first-byte (TTFB, which measure server speed) was 354ms. Both figures are impressive for a budget host selling at $1.99/mo.

Server Uptime (Feb 2018): 99.99%

Test site hosted at iPage went down for 2 minutes in January 9th, 2018. Average 30-day uptime score: 99.99%.

 Server Uptime (Mar 2017): 99.99%

iPage uptime score for the last 30 days (Feb/Mar 2017): 99.99%.

Older iPage Uptime Records (2013 – 2016)

* Click to enlarge image.

Jul 2016: 99.97%

ipage uptime july 2016

Mar 2016: 99.97%

ipage - 201603

Feb 2016: 100%

ipage feb uptime

Apr 2015: 100%

ipage uptime score (2015)

Dec 2014: 100%

iPage Uptime Score - Nov - Dec 2014

Oct 2014: 99.99%

iPage uptime scores (October 20 - Novermber 21, 2014).jpg

Dec 2013: 99.93%

iPage uptime score for December 2013 - January 2014

iPage Speed Test Results at WebpageTest.org

TTFB at 354ms for test site.

iPage Speed Test Results at Bitcatcha

Test site #1 (March 2016): 

ipage feb 2016 speed
iPage server speed from 8 different test points. Response time in U.S. below 100ms (impressive). Host rated B+ by Bitcatcha.

Test site #2 (February 2018): 

Test site hosted at iPage performed well in United States, Japan, England, Australia, and Brazil. Host rated C by Bitcatcha.


Back to top


iPage Customer Support


Our Experience & Thoughts:

24×7 live support – acceptable respond speed

Good billing practice – users can refund or cancel account easily

Does not host a support forum

Not so helpful Help Documents

No free site migration for first time customers

Lots of complaints on iPage technical support


Okay Live Chat Support

I checked iPage’s live chat support in 2017 and compared their service quality with 27 other companies.

The web host did fairly well in the test. The live chat support was quick to respond; my questions were answered professionally. In overall it was a good experience.

No Free Migration

You will need to migrate your existing sites to iPage by yourself – which can be a major headache if your current sites are hosted on a cPanel host (iPage uses vDeck).

My guide on how to transfer a site might be helpful in this situation.

iPage Support Documents

iPage failed to impress me in their Support section.

Help documents are not that helpful and I bumped into several 404 errors when browsing around.

Guess you’ll have to find another way to cancel your account with iPage.


Back to top


iPage Hosting Features


Our Experience & Thoughts:

Newbie-friendly – smooth on-boarding process 

Easy to use user-interface

Options to upgrade to VPS and dedicated hosting

Free malware scan – basic SiteLock features included in shared plan

Customizable spam filters 


Limited Website Builder features (only 6 pages)

Limited server resources (unclear ToS on server usage limits)

Does not support Shell access (SFTP) and custom cron job



iPage is a newbie-friendly host. I have purchased iPage twice (one for testing, the other for a friend) in the past. I was able to setup my accounts right after payment in both occasions.

The ordering process was idiot-proof and customer on-boarding process was smooth.

* Click image to enlarge.

Idiot-proof ordering process.

Pay for Advance Features

The original iPage shared hosting plan is very basic – No SFTP, no CDN, limited server resources, no custom cron job, no auto backup. Even the built-in website builder allows you to build only six pages.

The whole setup, apparently, is meant for hobby blog or small business who want a simple site online.

You can, however, purchase and add in advance features when ordering (see image below).

iPage base plan is ultra cheap ($1.99/mo) – but you get what you paid: the basics.


iPage Spam Filter

iPage shared hosting plan comes with basic email spam filter. Once enabled, the system will auto scan your emails for spam.

Premium Spam Filter, which costs $9.95/year, include advance features like grey-listing (auto reply email that isn’t from a familiar sender) and auto white-listing.

To configure iPage email spam filter: Login to dashboard > Manage Spam Filter

The Truth Behind iPage Unlimited Hosting 

First of all – there is no such thing as unlimited hosting.

Yes, iPage allows you to host unlimited addon domain at your hosting account; but it’s only “unlimited” if you are not exceeding the CPU resources allocated to your account. If you exceed certain level of CPU usage (which normally won’t), iPage will have your hosting account suspended.

iPage offers “unlimited” disk space and MySQL databases.


It is clearly written in iPage TOS that the company’s hosting is only “unlimited” under normal usage.

Though iPage is not the only one in this practice – every unlimited hosting provider limit users’ server usage.

iPage terms in resource usage (source).

iPage VPS Hosting

Jerry’s note

If you signup to iPage shared hosting, chances are you will upgrade to their VPS plan in future. 

This is where Dylan Harty, iPage VPS hosting user, kicks in. I first knew Dylan when he emailed to point out some mistakes I made on this page. After some discussion, I decided to add his feedback on iPage VPS to this review. Dylan is not affiliated to iPage in any way. I do, however, paid for his effort in writing this helpful review.

This section is a little long. In summary, here are the pros & cons of iPage VPS (according to Dylan):


  • Very affordable
  • 24-7 VPS/dedicated server support line.
  • Very helpful support team able to use SSH.
  • Good support ticketing system
  • Competitive server hardware
  • No restrictions like shared hosting
  • No overcharge for bandwidth
  • Ability to run a source server


  • The odd support hiccup
  • Downtime for DDOS attacks and such
  • Some servers have a soft boot on initial registration
  • Dedicated servers take 12-48 hours to set-up
  • Preinstall of CentOS 6.4-6.5 only

Back to top


Price: The #1 thing that makes iPage tick


Our Experience & Thoughts:

Best budget hosting for short/long term

 Entry price starts at $1.99/mo (36-month term)

200 – 300% cheaper than other providers

Free one year domain for all new customers

Prices jump to $8.99/9.99/mo for 24/12-month renewal


 Updates: iPage remains at $1.99/mo for now

iPage price fell back to $1.99/mo after some short term fluctuation last year. FYI the price tag jumped to $3.25/mo out of sudden and went back to $1.99/mo a week later. I have no idea why the drastic price change happened (strategy testing, perhaps?). iPage remains as my #1 budget host – refer to details below to understand why.



iPage = Best Budget Hosting Service

After testing and using more than 50 web hosting services, I realized something very important: Most budget shared hosting providers actually offer more or less the same features in their hosting plans: “unlimited” addon domain, one-click app installer, basic webmail service, and average technical support.

These features are basic but sufficient for most small websites.

In this case – since you are getting the same thing, it’s better that you just go with the cheapest deal.

And this is why iPage is awesome for newbies who want to start at minimum cost.

Price Comparison: iPage vs Other Hosting Brands

Web Hosting Signup Price vs. iPage Control Panel Free Domain?
iPage $1.99/mo vDeck
A2 Hosting $4.90/mo 150% Higher cPanel
WebHostingHub $6.99/mo 249% higher cPanel
Arvixe $7.00/mo 250% Higher cPanel
HostMonster $4.95/mo 149% Higher cPanel
IX Web Hosting $3.95/mo 98% Higher Custom
GreenGeeks $3.95/mo 98% Higher cPanel
HostPapa $3.95/mo 98% Higher cPanel


iPage long term cost – still the cheapest

“But iPage jacks up their price during renewal, no?”

Yes – iPage’s introductory prices for the first term of service only and automatically renew at the regular rate.

Shared hosting plans renew at $7.99, $8.99, and $9.99 per month for 36-, 24-, and 12-month term.

But as this is what most budget hosting companies are doing – iPage’s price is still one of the lowest in long run (see table).

Web Hosting Signup (3-year) Renewal (2-year) Hosting Cost Domain Cost Total Cost (5-Year)
iPage $1.99/mo $8.99/mo ($1.99 x 36) + ($8.99 x 24) $15 x 4 $347.40
A2 Hosting* $4.90/mo $9.99/mo ($4.90 x 36) + ($9.99 x 24) $15 x 5 $491.16
WebHostingHub $4.99/mo $12.99/mo ($4.90 x 36) + ($12.99 x 24) $15 x 4 $548.16
Arvixe $7.00/mo $7.00/mo $7 x 60 $15 x 4 $480.00
HostMonster $4.95/mo $15.99/mo ($4.95 x 36) + ($15.99 x 24) $15 x 4 $691.96
IX Web Hosting $3.95/mo $7.95/mo ($3.95 x 36) + ($7.95 x 24) $15 x 4 $393.00
GreenGeeks $3.95/mo $9.95/mo ($3.95 x 36) + ($9.95 x 24) $15 x 4 $441.00
HostPapa* $3.95/mo $12.99/mo ($3.95 x 36) + ($12.95 x 24) $15 x 5 $528.00


* Note: No free first-year domain for Hostpapa and A2 Hosting. 


Back to top


Verdict: Should You Host at iPage?

Given that there are both pros and cons; negative and positive reviews on iPage; should you still go with the hosting company?

The decision is yours to be made.

iPage – not the best web host around

iPage scored 51 in our 80-point review check list (WHSR rating: 3.5-star, revised Feb 2018).

They are certainly not the best web host you can get in market.

Their original shared hosting plan offers very basic features.

Company’s technical support seems poor based on many negative users feedback found online.

BUT, they are one of the cheapest hosts!

For newbies and bargain hunters, iPage’s ultra-low price tag is hard to be ignored. 

iPage is reliable (uptime constantly >99.95%), extremely cheap ($70+ for first three years), and easy to start (smooth signup process). There are very few web hosts that can provide the same bargain.

For more details or to order iPage hosting, visit: https://www.ipage.com



(P/S: We use affiliate links in this review. If you purchase via our link, it will credit WHSR as your referrer. This is how I keep this site alive for more than 9 years and publish more data-driven hosting reviews like this one. Your support is highly appreciated. Buying via my link doesn’t cost you more – in fact, I can guarantee that you’ll get the lowest possible price for iPage hosting. )