BlueHost Review

I did a crowd-sourcing post in late 2013 and asked 35 experienced web experts for their hosting advice. BlueHost came up as the #2 most recommended host in the survey. Want to know why BlueHost has been so popular for the past 10 years? Read on to read my experience and review on the web host.

BlueHost

URL:
http://www.bluehost.com
Services:
Shared, VPS, and Dedi Host
Monthly:
$3.95/mo

Reviewed by:
Rating:
4
On June 17, 2013 . Updated: August 12, 2014


Summary

In 2010, BlueHost and its sister companies, FastDomain and HostMonster, were sold to the Endurance International Group (EIG), an U.S. conglomerate based in Massachusetts. In June 2011, roughly six months after the sell-out, Matt moved on and resigned his CEO position in the company. Is BlueHost still as good today? Let's look into the details.

There are hundreds, if not thousands, of reviews of BlueHost hosting on Internet. Most of these reviews talk about the same stuffs – unlimited hosting features, free domain for first year, and the almighty Anytime-Money-Back-Guarantee. Sure, those facts are important to know as a consumer but I am not going to beat the dead horse once more in this review.

If you wish to learn about BlueHost hosting features, the best place to be is (guess where?) http://www.bluehost.com – the website has the most updated and accurate info for that ;) If, on the other hand, you are looking for real user feedbacks and reviews from an existing BlueHost customer (for almost 10 years!) – this is the review to read.

So are you ready to move on? Now let’s dive into this.

First, some background story

BlueHost was started by Matt Heaton, who also started HostMonster and FastDomain, in 1996. Back in the 2000′s, BlueHost was my #1 host for small-to-mid size websites. I started using the web host in 2005 and was a satisfied customer –  top class technical support, comprehensive hosting features, and very reasonable price – it’s hard not to love BlueHost in those days.

Enter CPU throttling – 2009.

In 2009, BlueHost (alongside with HostMonster) introduced a new feature to all customers – CPU throttling.

In case you are new with the term, CPU throttling (at BlueHost/HostMonster) simply refers to the process of reducing user’s CPU usage in whenever the particular user is pulling “too much” server resources at one time. At this particular time, BlueHost will freeze (or slash down) your CPU usage substantially and technically “jail” your websites in the server.

Such hosting feature was not seen before 2009. According to Matt (BlueHost founder) – the company has spent thousands of hours to develop the system and called this the Hosting Nirvana for shared hosting users.

You can easily tell if your website has been frozen by BlueHost or HostMonster by checking your CPU throttling log in cPanel. If your site is throttled but it is ultimately up to BlueHost staffs to decide should your jailed site be released or not.

Unfortunately, CPU throttling wasn’t quite “Nirvana” to me.

Back then, I had WebHostingSecretRevealed.com (WHSR) hosted at HostMonster and a few small affiliate sites hosted at BlueHost. My websites were totally frozen for hours daily (see image below – my CPU throttle log at BlueHost) ever since the CPU throttling feature was introduced.

bluehost cpu throttling

Screenshot of BlueHost CPU throttling log in 2009.

You can read my old post to learn more about this issue – BlueHost and HostMonster users alert: CPU Throttling.

In a nutshell, I thought BlueHost and HostMonster were over-throttling its customers and stopped recommending them (both hosts were dropped to 3-stars rating) to my readers.

EIG Acquisition and Today’s BlueHost

In 2010, BlueHost, alongside with its sister companies, FastDomain and HostMonster, were sold to the Endurance International Group (EIG). In June 2011, roughly six months after the acquisition, Matt resigned his CEO position in the company.

Since then, BlueHost underwent some major revamps for better business prospect.

Today, BlueHost stands as one of the most largest hosting providers in market, powering more than 2 million websites worldwide. The company is no longer the simple shared hosting provider it used to be in 2005. A freshly-designed website  was launched not long ago (which I think is a lot more better and use-friendly) and three new levels of hosting services (VPS, reseller, and dedicated hosting) were added in BlueHost service.

Exclusive Discount: BlueHost at $3.95/mo

BlueHost Hosting Discount – $3.95/mo for first contract
No coupon or promo code needed – just purchase via our discount link and get 50% discount from your first bill.

To order BlueHost at this discounted price, click this promo link (opens in new window).

Visit BlueHost Online

My Experience with BlueHost Hosting

Okay, enough history lesson.

Key question: Is BlueHost right for you? Let’s take a quick look on BlueHost’s pros and cons.

 What I like about BlueHost

Solid Server Performance

I am quite impressed with BlueHost’s server performance recently. The web host scored 99.9% uptime on average in 2014; and have landed in my Top 5 Uptime Scoring Hosts several times this year (see image below). Not too bad for a $3.95/mo host, eh?

BlueHost Uptime Score (Jul – Aug, 2014)

BlueHost Uptime Record for the past 30 days (August 2014)

BlueHost Uptime Score for the past 30 days (August 2014)

BlueHost Uptime Score (Feb – Mar, 2014)

BlueHost Hosting Uptime Score(Past 30 days, February - March 2014)

BlueHost Hosting Uptime Score (Past 30 days, February – March 2014)

Best User Dashboard + Great Additional Features

BlueHost user admin dashboard.

BlueHost user admin dashboard.

Personally, I like how user dashboard works on BlueHost. Though it’s running on the standard cPanel, the custom UI design makes it a lot more user friendly than the old one.

It’s also worth mentioning that BlueHost offers plenty of handy addon features that you can’t get from other web hosts – including phpPgAdmin, language preferences, 404 settings, dedicated domain management system, as well as built-in support for Spam Hammer, goMobi, Weebly, Cloud Flare, and so on.

Helpful user support portal

Another thing most hosting review sites failed to point out is that BlueHost runs a HUGE knowledgebase for customer support. The company provides extremely comprehensive documentations for its services and operates a YouTube channel to deliver video tutorials.

This is a huge time-saver for all BlueHost users as we don’t have to go to live chat or phone support every time we have problems with the web host. I have checked several BlueHost video tutorials when I was writing this review and found them quite helpful.

Here are some samples for your reference.

How to backup your website at BlueHost

Using the Weebly Website Builder

Flexible hosting choices

As mentioned, BlueHost now provides all four level hosting plans – shared, VPS, dedicated, and reseller hosting. You no longer have to worry about server upgrades or out-growing your hosting company with BlueHost.

Anytime Money Back Guarantee

BlueHost allows users to cancel their account anytime and ask for a pro-rated refund. In other words, BlueHost has to work very hard to win businesses as it is very easy for users to snub the web host.

 Problems with BlueHost / Important to know

While BlueHost is one of the top rated web hosts in many other hosting review sites (and to certain extend I agree with these reviews), there are a few important issues I need to point out in this review.

Be extra careful with CPU throttling

BlueHost’s CPU throttling is still something not to be careless with. Good thing is – I see very little complaints about BlueHost CPU throttling these days (myself included). But dear readers – please remember to keep an eye on your CPU throttling log always to avoid any undesired hassles (remember – slow sites kill search rankings and user conversions).

Two Massive Outages in 2014

Not everyone is as happy as myself with BlueHost server performance in 2014. I thought you might want to read more about the two major outages occurred in 2014 here and here.

Survey / Other Users Feedbacks

BlueHost ranked #2 in WHSR 2013 Survey

I did a crowd-sourcing post in late 2013 and asked 35 experienced web experts for their hosting advice. BlueHost came up as the #2 most recommended web host in the survey. Lori Soard, Paul Crowe, Kevin Muldoon, and Sharon Hurley recommended BlueHost hosting. Below are their feedbacks.

WHSR Web Hosting Survey 2013

Lori SoardLori Soard; radio personality, published author, writer and social media marketers at Lori Soard

“For a first-time blogger, I would recommend BlueHost.

Although this hosting company gets a few mixed reviews, they come recommended by WordPress, which is one of the most popular blogging platforms. The hosting company also offers a WordPress auto-install, which makes getting set up quick and easy for someone without a lot of webdesign experience. Unlimited disk space and bandwidth transfer are also a nice addition. Rates start at $4.95/month (if you pay in advance), so it is also reasonably priced for someone trying things out. I also like the fact that newbies can get support 24/7 in a variety of ways (online, via telephone or via e-mail).”

 Paul Crowe, blogging guru at Spice Up Your Blog

Paul Crowe

“For my WordPress hosted sites I have gone with Blue Host.I have used HostGator in the past but I find Blue Host provides the best packages for my needs.

They have the easy install of WordPress we expect from all hosting services but also a great uptime record and costumer support.

Kevin Muldoon, pro-blogger at Kevin Muldoon

Kevin Muldoon

“First time bloggers should not use a lot of resources at first.

Due to this, I would recommend a good shared hosting company such as BlueHost. Once their website has started generating more traffic, they can then review their hosting requirements.”

Sharon Hurley, professional web writer at Sharon HH

Sharon HH

“I’ve used 5 or 6 web hosting service providers over the last 7 years, including many of the popular shared hosting providers.

The one I keep coming back to is Bluehost, where I currently host more than ten domains. It’s a great host for sites with low to medium traffic and everything you want is easy to set up. I’ve been impressed with their uptime and their tech support department is extremely responsive and helpful if there’s ever an issue.”

Michael Hyatt; NY Times Bestseller Author, Former Chairman and CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishers.

Michael

“If you use WordPress as I recommend, you will need a hosting service too.

And, BlueHost is the best web host for WordPress.”

 

Note: I wasn’t able to reach Michael Hyatt in person. His personal assistant Trivinia Barber replied my email and pointed out that Michael has repeatedly recommended BlueHost on his blog in the past. The feedback above is quoted from Michael’s blog. 

So, time for conclusion – Should you host at BlueHost?

Considering the fact that BlueHost is –

  1. Very cheap; price after discount – $3.95/mo
  2. One of the most popular hosting brands in the world – more than 2 millions websites hosted plus recommended by many experienced webmasters.

It would be a good pick if you are looking for a popular budget web host.

For more details or to order BlueHost, visit (link opens in new window): http://www.bluehost.com

Visit BlueHost Online

(P/S: The links above are affiliate links – if you purchase via this link, it will credit me as your referrer. This is how I keep this site alive for 6 years and add more free hosting reviews based on real test account – your support is highly appreciated. Buying via my link doesn’t cost you more – in fact, I can guarantee that you’ll get the lowest possible price for BlueHost hosting. )