網站在2020中承擔多少費用?

Jerry Low的文章。 .
更新:Jun 29,2020

更新: 公佈了新的價格研究報告(1年第一季度)–我們的樣本量現已增加到2020家公司和250個託管計劃。

網站的總成本

網站託管只是構建網站真實成本的一部分。 要創建一個真正成功的網站,項目需要被視為一個完整的業務,而不僅僅是一個獨立的項目。 閱讀我的其他市場調查看 建立網站的總成本.

因此,您已經決定要建立一個網站。 無論是個人網站還是電子商務,都能為您的業務提供支持-一旦您開始涉足, 64美元的問題 會打你的:我應該花多少錢在網絡託管上?

構建網站涉及不同的成本

在計算網站成本時,需要考慮許多因素,並且所有因素都可能有很大差異,具體取決於您的需求的複雜程度。 也就是說, 建立一個網站 基本上可以歸結為以下幾項:

  1. 網站託管
  2. 內容創作
  3. 平面設計
  4. Web開發
  5. 營銷和其他人

在本文中,我們將專門研究項目#1 - 租用網絡主機的費用.

網站託管是您網站的一個重要因素,因為它不僅會影響您網站的潛在性能,還會影響整體費用。 無論您擁有自己的網站多長時間,都需要支付網絡託管費用。

虛擬主機要付多少錢?

快速回答:共享的網絡主機通常很便宜 - 預計每月支付3 - $ 7; 另一方面,VPS託管每月收費$ 20 - $ 30。

有不同類型的服務器 託管網站 –價格各異,並提供不同的功能和選項。 您不僅需要找到合適的功能和價格,還需要選擇信譽良好的託管服務提供商。 正確的組合可以帶來一生的幸福,但錯誤的組合最終會使您花費比預期多得多的錢。

託管網站最便宜的方式是什麼?

Hostinger,Interserver和TMD Hosting是市場上最便宜的主機之一。

結論 推薦的廉價主機清單。 注意 便宜的主機 通常會遇到各種問題-請確保您還閱讀了文章底部的針對這些問題的建議的解決方案。

為了幫助您做出正確的選擇,我們研究了100共享和VPS託管公司,並編寫了以下指南。


共享虛擬主機支付多少錢?

共享託管價格

總結

  • 入門級:註冊價格= $ 2.91 / mo,續訂= $ 3.63 / mo
  • 中層:註冊價格= $ 5.24 /月,續訂= $ 6.21 /月

產品細節

共享託管行業是一個競爭激烈的競爭領域 - 這對像你我這樣的消費者來說是件好事。 不僅共享託管通常很便宜,其中許多還具有出色的服務器性能和強大的功能。

入門級託管計劃的平均註冊價格為2.91美元,平均續訂價格提高25%。 中端共享主機價格大幅上漲,平均為5.24美元,但在續訂時整體顯示整體價格上漲幅度較小,為18%。

“免費”託管服務提供商的續訂價格最昂貴

有趣的是,續訂時最高的價格上漲歸因於還提供免費虛擬主機的主機。 這些項目續訂了付費計劃後,價格顯著上漲,漲幅高達2,711%。

註冊折扣就像度蜜月

儘管我們注意到只有58和60家提供入門級和中級計劃的公司分別提高了續訂價格,但這些公司通常提供的註冊價格也比競爭對手低。

不過,重要的是要意識到,與提供低得多的註冊價格的提供商進行註冊可以為用戶提供一個“蜜月期”,在此期間,他們有機會在做出確定的長期選擇之前徹底評估所提供的服務。

價格只是因素之一

請記住,在網絡託管方面,成本是非常微妙的事情,因為大多數提供商都提供各種計劃。 因此,我建議您 超越成本 考慮虛擬主機所提供的確切功能,然後再考慮價格。

推薦的共享主機(價格合理))

筆記:

  1. 所有五家託管公司的收費都低於或接近市場平均費率,並允許用戶在其中級套餐中託管無限域名。
  2. 您可以從我們的評論中了解有關這些虛擬主機的更多信息– A2 Hosting, GreenGeeks, Hostinger, InterserverTMD Hosting.
  3. GreenGeeks是列表中唯一的環保主機-該公司購買了清潔能源信用額度以抵消其用電量。
  4. InterServer不提供單域共享託管計劃; 他們也是唯一不在續約時提高其續約價格的公司。 但在託管測試中的表現要好於平均水平。

有關共享主機的更多信息

到目前為止,最常用和經常選擇的選項,術語共享託管是非常直接的。 您的託管空間在單個服務器上共享組合資源。

例如,當主機告訴您共享帳戶將位於具有雙8核心Intel Xeon處理器,128GB RAM和具有無限SSD存儲的RAID存儲的服務器上時。 聽起來不錯不是嗎?

不幸的是,由於您使用的是“共享”帳戶,因此您將與主機決定放置在同一服務器上的其他人共享這些資源。 它可以是單個服務器上數十到數百個共享帳戶的任何內容。

共享主機 - 優點:1)通常成本低,2)需要較少的技術技能,3)無需服務器維護或管理; 缺點:1)服務器問題影響同一服務器上的所有帳戶,2)系統資源的限制。

共享主機性能

因為服務器上的所有資源都在不同的帳戶之間分配,所以在許多情況下性能有點不穩定。 如果您碰巧與許多其他不佔用太多資源的休眠帳戶共享服務器,那麼您將沒事。 如果您所在的服務器上有許多活動的高活動帳戶,則性能可能會受到限制,因為您必須等待分享資源的時間。

通常,共享主機提供商通過限制共享服務器上的資源使用來管理這一點。 如果最終佔用過多的服務器資源時間,則可能會被迫升級到更昂貴的計劃。

服務水平

共享主機計劃通常是您最便宜的。 結果,您會發現大多數共享主機計劃都附帶有限的服務級別。

這可能包括對正常運行時間的保證較低或不保證以及更有限的客戶支持渠道。

共享主機續訂價格

網絡託管業務具有極大的競爭力,許多託管服務提供商經常爭取新客戶的市場份額。 價格是他們可能選擇與之抗爭的功能之一。

這意味著他們通常會為新客戶提供夢幻般的買入優惠。 如果您沒有註意並被這些夢幻般的優惠所吸引,那麼在更新您的託管計劃時,您最終可能需要支付額外費用。

以最便宜的託管計劃為例 SiteGround 提供。 只需$ 3.95即可為新客戶提供買入服務,但該計劃更新了令人眼花繚亂的$ 11.95。 始終注意計劃收取的正常價格,而不是買入折扣。 這些應該作為獎勵,而不是你採取計劃的主要原因。


VPS主機支付多少錢?

VPS託管價格

總結

  • 入門級:註冊價格= $ 17.01 / mo,續訂= $ 18.19 / mo
  • 中檔:註冊價格= $ 26.96 /月,續訂= $ 29.15 /月

評論

由於功能增強以及更好的服務級別協議和客戶支持,VPS託管通常比共享託管高出許多。 與此同時,預計支付的費用將低於您對專用服務器的預期收入。

VPS價格差異很大

根據我們2020年網絡主機定價研究–在低端市場,某些VPS計劃(例如SkySilk和HostNamaste的計劃)起價可低至每月2美元。 在高端市場,VPS託管的價格可能會一直上漲到2,100美元, SiteGround 正在尋找最高的計劃。

提供VPS計劃的服務提供商的續訂價格上漲幅度相對較低,入門級計劃平均上漲7%,中端計劃上漲8%。 儘管平均價格為入門級(入門級)$ 17.01 / mo,中端價格為$ 29.96 / mo,但該套餐的價格也受到高級計劃提供商的嚴重影響。

基本VPS託管價格總體穩定

我們的研究進一步指出,入門級VPS計劃基本上保持穩定,而中級計劃的價格在過去一年中下降了多達51%。 這些數字可能出現偏差,可能是由於我們在2020年增加了樣本量,將原來的50個提供者擴大到250個。

推薦的VPS託管(價格合理)

筆記:

  1. InMotion Hosting和A2 Hosting的價格略高於平均市場價格-但它們的服務器在我們的測試中表現異常出色。
  2. A2 Hosting還提供非託管的VPS託管,這要便宜得多。
  3. 您可以在我們的評論中了解有關這些主機的更多信息: A2 Hosting, BlueHost, InMotion Hosting, InterserverLiquidWeb。 另外,請參閱我們的 最佳VPS託管選擇 獲得更多選擇。
  4. 我們不包括 雲主機 提供者(類似於VPS的服務),例如 數字海洋, Vultr, 亞馬遜AWSGoogle雲端,等等。 在某些情況下,例如,如果您正在運行SaaS業務,或者網站流量受季節變化的影響很大,那麼雲託管可能是更好的解決方案。
  5. 亞馬遜AWS提供了一個 方便的成本計算器 對於那些需要估算雲託管成本的人來說 - 去玩吧。

有關VPS託管的更多信息

在過去,共享主機的唯一選擇是獲得自己的專用服務器,今天您可以選擇VPS。 即使整個環境都是模擬的,VPS也會讓您產生擁有自己服務器的錯覺。

VPS服務器提供完全專用服務器的所有靈活性和功能。 唯一的限制是主機對VPS帳戶施加的限制 - 通常是在處理器,內存和存儲等物理資源方面。

有了這些功能,VPS是那些仍然不確定是否需要管理專用服務器的巨大資源的人們極具成本效益的解決方案。

VPS主機 - 優點:1)比專用服務器便宜很多,2)高度可定制和可擴展,3) - 良好的技術支持。 缺點:1)比共享託管,2要昂貴得多需要更多的技術知識來管理

VPS主機性能

這是共享主機和VPS主機之間的關鍵區別之一。 VPS主機帳戶是隔離的,這意味著分配給該帳戶的資源僅適用於該帳戶。 如果服務器上的其他WPS帳戶使用大量資源,則您的VPS帳戶不會受到影響。

更重要的是,VPS服務器通常允許完全訪問共享帳戶通常不具有的功能,例如root訪問權限,自選控制面板甚至可以直接控制某些腳本正在運行的版本。

這些功能使您看起來好像在運行一個成熟的專用服務器。 不幸的是,它們還要求您知道您在做什麼,您負責非常詳細的服務器配置。 弄錯了我會讓你頭痛不已。

了解VPS託管如何在本指南中使用.

服務水平

VPS帳戶通常由擁有更多活躍網站以滿足更高流量的主機佔用。 因此,許多網絡託管服務提供商知道他們可能需要更多的關注支持 - 並且部分支付更高的費用。

VPS帳戶通常以更高的正常運行時間保證和支持級別為後盾。

VPS主機續訂價格

VPS帳戶與共享帳戶沒有區別,因為Web主機正在為新客戶的市場份額而戰。 因此,為新客戶找到大幅折扣的計劃並不罕見。

同樣,它有助於審視這個以及計劃的特徵及其實際續約價格而不是初始折扣。 新客戶的折扣可能與共享託管計劃中的折扣一樣陡峭。

一些VPS託管提供商將大筆折扣用作誘餌,但其續訂價格可提高多達300%。


我的號碼來自哪裡?

我們的虛擬主機定價研究

WHSR Research已花費大量資源來分析一千多個託管計劃。 提供這些計劃的是共享託管領域的250家公司,另外250家提供VPS託管的公司。

審查中的共享主機計劃僅進入中級級別。 為了便於分析,我們簡化了定義,其中入門級計劃支持單個域,而中級計劃支持至少10個(通常為25個)域。

由於提供的服務種類繁多,VPS計劃更加複雜。 我們觀察了從納米包裝服務器到高端包裝服務器的計劃。

共享主機定價數據

500個共享託管計劃的託管費。 共享託管費低至每月0.33美元。 表按字母順序排序。 如果發現錯誤,請告訴我們。 請訪問託管公司的網站以獲得最佳準確性。

筆記:

  1. 列出的價格是每月的價格,基於2或3年的訂閱期(以較低者為準)。
  2. 對於提供終生交易(又稱一次付款並終生託管)的提供商,我們對託管價格的平均間隔為5年。

VPS主機定價數據

500個VPS託管計劃的託管費(於2020年XNUMX月更新)。 表按字母順序排序。 請訪問託管公司的網站以獲得最佳準確性。

筆記:

  1. 列出的價格是每月的價格,基於2或3年的訂閱期(以較低者為準)。
  2. InterServer VPS計劃僅按月訂閱-因此不提供試用期。

常問的問題

在Google上託管網站需要多少費用?

使用Google託管網站有兩種方法。 第一種是通過Google協作平台上的Google協作平台開始的,每用戶每月起價為$ 5.40。 第二個是Google Cloud Hosting,其價格根據您的需求而有很大差異。

域名和託管費用多少錢?

通常-域名每年的費用為$ 10-$ 15; 共享虛擬主機的費用為每年$ 36到$ 120。 因此,總的來說,預計每年將為域名和託管支付46至135美元。

請注意,某些託管公司會為其託管包提供免費域名。 用戶可以通過註冊這些主機來省錢。

託管網站最便宜的方式是什麼?

託管網站的最便宜方法是使用免費的虛擬主機或網站構建器。 這些通常還允許您使用免費的子域名(即yoursitename.wix.com),因此,您的費用實際上為$ 0。

但是,出於各種原因,通常不建議使用這些方法。 最重要的是,免費解決方案通常受到極大限制,並且經常會迫使您在您的網站上進行主機的品牌宣傳。 如果您有能力支付$ 3 – $ 10的每月費用,則有很多預算託管選擇。 Hostinger, TMD HostingInterserver 是我推薦的提供商。

我可以用計算機託管自己的網站嗎?

簡而言之-是的,您可以將計算機變成服務器,然後 託管自己的網站。 但是,構建可靠且快速的服務器需要大量投資。 您希望自己的託管服務越好,越可靠,則成本越高。 否則,您可以 與提供商託管您的網站.

Google是否有免費的虛擬主機?

不,Google不提供免費的虛擬主機。 這是清單 免費虛擬主機 服務,如果您正在尋找一個。

免費託管好嗎?

免費託管通常不僅在存儲空間和內存等資源方面受到高度限制,而且通常還帶來許多風險和許多限制。 例如,某些免費託管計劃不允許您投放廣告,而其他一些則可能禁止您使用某些應用程序或插件(對於WordPress)。

Wix真的免費嗎?

Wix確實有非常有限的免費計劃。 但是,您將不得不在您的網站上展示Wix廣告。

託管網站時要考慮的其他費用

如上所述,虛擬主機只是構建網站的實際成本的一部分。 為了創建一個真正成功的網站,需要從整體上將項目視為一個整體,而不僅僅是一個單獨的項目。

除了計劃和 建立網站,還需要考慮其他因素,例如長期內容開發,營銷,電子商務費用(如果適用)等。 當然, 域名 這將指向網站託管空間的網站。

一旦您考慮了所有這些業務的其他組成部分,您就可以更真實地了解構建網站的真實成本。

How Much Does Website Hosting Cost in 2020?

Article by Jerry Low . .
Updated: Apr 01, 2020

Updates: New price study (Q1 2020) released – we have increased our sample size to 250 companies and 1,000 hosting plans now.

The Total Cost of Having a Website 

Web hosting is only one segment of the true cost of building a website. To create a truly successful website, the project needs to be looked as an entire business, not just a standalone item. Read my other market survey to see the total cost of building a website.

So you’ve decided you want to set up a website. Be it a personal website or an ecommerce to support your business – as soon as you get your feet wet, that sixty-four-dollar-question is going to hit you: How much should I spend on web hosting?

Different costs involved in building a site

There are a number of factors that you need to consider when calculating the cost of a website, and all of them can vary wildly, depending on how complex or simple your needs are. That said however, the cost to build a website basically boils down to the following items:

  1. Web hosting
  2. Domain
  3. Content creation
  4. Graphic design
  5. Web development
  6. Marketing and others

In this article, we will specifically look into item #1 – the cost of renting a web host.

Web hosting is an important factor for your website because it affects not only the potential performance of your site, but also factors into the overall cost. And you’ll pay web hosting fees for however long you own your website.

How much to pay for a web hosting?

Quick answer: A shared web host is usually cheap – expect to pay $3 – $7 per month; VPS hosting on the other hand costs $20 – $30 per month.

There are different types of servers to host a website – all at different price points and offering different features and options. You need to find not only the right features and price, but also choose a reputable hosting provider. The right combination can lead to a lifetime of bliss, but the wrong one can end up costing you much more money than you expected.

What is the cheapest way to host a website?

Hostinger, Interserver, and TMD Hosting are some of the cheapest hosting in market.

Check out this list of recommended cheap hosting. Note that cheap hosting often comes with various problems – make sure that you also read my suggested solutions with these problems at the bottom o the article.

To help you make the right choice, we studied 100 shared and VPS hosting companies and compiled the following guide.


How Much to Pay for Shared Web Hosting?

Shared Hosting Prices

Summary

  • Entry Level: Signup price = $2.91/mo, renewal = $3.63/mo
  • Mid-tier: Signup price = $5.24/mo, renewal = $6.21/mo

Details

The shared hosting industry is a highly competitive playing field – which is a good thing for consumers like you and me. Not only that shared hosting is usually cheap, many of them also come with excellent server performance and great features.

Entry level hosting plans averaged $2.91 on sign up, with an average renewal price increase of 25%. Mid-tier shared hosting prices stepped up significantly, averaging $5.24 but showed an overall shorter price increase across the board on renewal at 18%.

Renewal prices at “free” hosting provider are most expensive

Interestingly, the highest price increases upon renewal were attributed to hosts which also offered free web hosting. These showed significant price increases upon renewal for their paid plans – as much as 2,711% more.

Signup discounts are like honeymoon

Although we noted only 58 and 60 companies offering entry-level and mid-tier plans respectively increasing prices on renewal, these companies also typically offered lower sign-up pricing than competitors.

Still, it is important to realize that signing up with a provider that offers significantly lower sign-up pricing offers users a ‘honeymoon period’ during which they have the opportunity to thoroughly evaluate the services provided before making a definitive long-term choice.

Price is only one of the factors

Bear in mind that cost is a very delicate matter when it comes to web hosting since most providers offer various plans. As such I advise you to look beyond the cost to the exact features that a web host is offering before considering the price.

Recommended Shared Hosting (at Reasonable Price Range)

Notes:

  1. All five hosting companies charge below or similar to market average rates and allow users to host unlimited domain in their mid-tier plan.
  2. You can learn more about these web hosts from our reviews – A2 Hosting, GreenGeeks, Hostinger, Interserver, and TMD Hosting.
  3. GreenGeeks is the only eco-friendly hosting in the list – the company purchases clean energy credits to offset their power usage.
  4. InterServer does not offer a one-domain shared hosting plan; they are also the only company that does not increase their renewal price upon renewal. but perform better than average in my hosting tests.

More about Shared Hosting

By far the most commonly available and frequently chosen option, the term shared hosting is quite literal. Your hosting space shares the combined resources on a single server.

Let’s take for example when a host tells you that your shared account will be on a server with an twin 8-core Intel Xeon processors, 128GB of RAM and RAID Storage with unlimited SSD storage. Sounds great doesn’t it?

Unfortunately, since you are on a “shared” account, you will be sharing those resources with as many other people as your host decided to put on that same server. It could be anything from between tens to even hundred of shared accounts on a single server.

Shared Hosting
Shared Hosting – Pros: 1) Usually low cost, 2) Less technical skill required, 3) No need for server maintenance or administration; Cons: 1) Server issues affect all accounts on the same server, 2) Limitations in system resources.

Shared Hosting Performance

Because all resources on the server are split between the different accounts, in many cases performance is a little bit spotty. If you happen to share a server with lots of other dormant accounts that don’t take up much resources, you will be fine. If you are on a server with many active high-activity accounts, performance may be more limited as you must wait for your share of time for resources.

Typically, shared hosting providers manage this by placing restrictions on resource usage on shared servers. If you end up taking up too much server resource time, you may be forced to upgrade to a more expensive plan.

Service Levels

Shared hosting plans are normally the cheapest you’ll find. As a result of that, you will discover that most shared hosting plans come with limited service levels.

This includes possibly lower or no guarantees on uptime and more limited customer support channels.

Shared Hosting Renewal Price

The web hosting business is incredibly competitive, and many hosting providers often fight for market share in new customers. Price is one of the features they may opt to fight with.

This means that they will often have fantastic buy-in offers for new customers. If you are not paying attention and get taken in by these fantastic offers, you may end up paying a premium in fees when it comes time to renew your hosting plan.

Take for example the case of the cheapest hosting plan that SiteGround offers. New customers are offered a buy-in at only $3.95 but the plan renews at an eye-watering $11.95. Always pay attention to the regular prices that a plan charges and don’t get taken in by buy-in discounts. These should be taken as a bonus, not the main reason you take up a plan.


How Much to Pay for VPS Hosting?

VPS Hosting Prices

Summary

  • Entry level: Signup price = $17.01/mo, renewal = $18.19/mo
  • Mid-range: Signup price = $26.96/mo, renewal = $29.15/mo

Observations

Due to increased features backed with better service-level agreements and customer support, VPS hosting often comes at a premium above shared hosting. At the same time, expect to pay a lot less than what you would expect to for a dedicated server.

VPS prices vary a lot

Based on our 2020 web host pricing study – At the low end of the scale, some VPS plans such as that from SkySilk and HostNamaste can start from as low as $2 per month. At the high end of the scale, the price of VPS hosting may stretch all the way up to the $2,100 price tag that SiteGround is looking for on its highest plan.

Service providers offering VPS plans showed relatively low renewal price increases across the board, with entry-level plans up by 7% on average and mid-tier plans up 8%. Although prices averaged at $17.01/mo (entry) and $29.96/mo (mid-tier) it was also noted that the range was skewed heavily by providers of premium plans.

Basic VPS hosting prices are generally stable

Our research further noted that entry-level VPS plans have remained mostly stable while mid-level plan pricing has dropped by as much as 51% over the past year. A possible aberration in these numbers may have resulted from our increased sample size in 2020, which expanded the original 50 providers observed to 250.

Recommended VPS Hosting (at Reasonable Price Range)

Notes:

  1. InMotion Hosting and A2 Hosting prices are slightly above average market rates – but their server performed exceptionally well in our tests.
  2. A2 Hosting also offers unmanaged VPS hosting, which is significantly cheaper.
  3. You can learn more about these hosts in our reviews: A2 Hosting, BlueHost, InMotion Hosting, Interserver, and LiquidWeb. Also, see our Best VPS hosting selection for more choices.
  4. We did not include cloud hosting providers (similar service to VPS) like Digital Ocean, Vultr, Amazon AWS, and Google Cloud, etc in our study. In some scenarios, for instances if you are running a SaaS business or your site traffic is heavily affected by season changes – then cloud hosting might be the better solution.
  5. Amazon AWS provides a handy cost calculator for those who need to estimate their cloud hosting cost – go play with it.

More about VPS hosting

Where in the past the only choice up from shared hosting was to get your own dedicated server, today you can opt for VPS. VPS gives you the illusion of having your own server even though the entire environment is simulated.

VPS servers offer all the flexibility and features of a fully dedicated server. The only limitations are those imposed on the VPS account by the host – usually in terms of physical resources such as processor, memory and storage.

With these features, VPS are extremely cost-effective solutions for those who still are not sure if they require the immense resources that come managing a dedicated server.

VPS Hosting – Pros: 1) Much cheaper than dedicated servers, 2) Highly customizable and scalable, 3) -Good technical support. Cons: 1) Much more expensive than shared hosting, 2) Requires more technical knowledge to manage

VPS Hosting Performance

This is one of the key differentiators between shared hosting and VPS hosting. VPS hosting accounts are isolated, meaning that the resources allocated to that account are only for that account. If another WPS account on the server is using a lot of resources, your VPS account won’t be affected.

More importantly, VPS server often allow full access to functions that shared accounts do not typically have such as root access, self-chosen control panels to even direct control of what versions of some scripts are running.

These features make it seem as though you are running a fully-fledged dedicated server. Unfortunately, they also require you to know what you are doing you are responsible for very detailed server configurations. Getting it wrong my cause you a ton of headaches.

Learn how VPS hosting works in this guide.

Service Levels

VPS accounts are often taken up by hosts which have more active websites that cater to higher traffic. As such, many web hosting providers know that they may require more attentive support – and in part are paying higher fees for such.

VPS accounts are often backed by higher uptime guarantees and support levels.

VPS Hosting Renewal Price

VPS accounts are no different from shared accounts in the sense that web hosts are fighting for market share of new customers. As such, it is not uncommon to find steeply discounted plans for new customers.

Again, it helps to look past this and towards the features of the plan and their actual renewal prices rather than the initial discount. The discounts for new customers can be just as steep as those found in shared hosting plans.

Some VPS hosting providers use a large discount as a hook, but their renewal prices scale up by as much as 300%.


Where Do My Numbers Come From?

Our Web Host Pricing Research

WHSR Research has spent a significant amount of resources analyzing over a thousand hosting plans. Offering these plans were 250 companies in the shared hosting segment, with another 250 companies offering VPS hosting.

Shared hosting plans under review were exclusively entry to mid-level tier. For the purposes of our analysis, definitions wee simplified with entry level plans supporting a single domain while mid-level plans supported a minimum of 10 (usually 25) domains.

VPS plans were more complex due to the immense range of services available. We observed plans ranging from nano-sized package servers to high-end ones.

Shared Hosting Pricing Data

Hosting fees for 500 shared hosting plans. Shared hosting fees go as  low as $0.33 a month. Table is sorted in alphabetical order. Please let us know if you found an error. Please visit hosting company's website for best accuracy.

Notes:

  1. Listed prices are per month, based on 2 or 3 year subscription periods, which ever is lower.
  2. For providers that offer lifetime deal (aka, pay once and get hosted for life), we averaged the hosting prices with 5 year time range.

VPS Hosting Pricing Data

Hosting fees for 500 VPS Hosting plans (updated April 2020). Table sorted in alphabetical order. Please visit hosting company's website for best accuracy.

Notes:

  1. Listed prices are per month, based on 2 or 3 year subscription periods, which ever is lower.
  2. InterServer VPS plan comes in monthly subscription only – hence no trial period is offered.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to host a website on Google?

There are two ways to host a website with Google. The first is via Google Sites on G Suite, which starts at $5.40/mo per user. The second is Google Cloud Hosting for which prices vary greatly depending on your needs.

How much does it cost for a domain name and hosting?

Typically – A domain name costs $10 – $15 per year; a shared web host costs $36 to $120 per year. So in total, expect to pay $46 – $135 per year for a domain name and hosting.

Note that some hosting companies offer free domain with their hosting packages. Users can save money by signing up with these hosts.

What is the cheapest way to host a website?

The cheapest way to host a website is by using a free web host or site builder. These often also allow you the use of a free subdomain name (ie. yoursitename.wix.com), so your cost can essentially be $0.

However these are not generally recommended for various reasons. Most importantly of all is that free solutions are often extremely limited and more often than not will force you to carry the branding of the host on your site. There are plenty of budget hosting choices if you can afford to pay $3 – $10 per month – Hostinger, TMD Hosting, and Interserver are providers I recommend.

Can I host my own website with my computer?

In short – yes, you can turn your computer into a server and host your own website. However, it requires significant investment to build a server that is reliable and fast. The better and more reliable you want your own hosting to be, the higher the cost. Otherwise, you can host your website with a provider.

Does Google have free Web hosting?

No, Google does not offer free web hosting. Here's the list of free web hosting services if you are looking for one.

Is free hosting good?

Free hosting is often not just highly limited in terms of resources like storage space and memory, but also usually comes with many risks and many restrictions. For example, some free hosting plans won't allow you to run ads, while others may prohibit you from using certain applications or plugins (in the case of WordPress).

Is Wix really free?

Wix does indeed have a very limited free plan. However, you will be forced to display Wix ads on your site.

Other Costs to Consider When Hosting a Website

As mentioned above, web hosting is only one segment of the true cost of building a website. To create a truly successful website, the project needs to be looked at holistically as an entire business, not just a standalone item.

Aside from planning and creating the website, consideration also needs to be put into other factors such as longer-term content development, marketing, eCommerce fees (if applicable) and so on. And of course, the domain that will point to the website sitting on the web hosting space.

Once you factor in all of these additional components of the business, then you will have a more realistic idea of the true cost of building a website.