دليل استضافة VPS: كيف يعمل الخادم الخاص الافتراضي؟

مقال بقلم جيري لوو. .
تحديث: مارس 16 ، 2020

* التحديث: تمت إزالة Guhat في VPS مجانًا ، وتغيير سعر cPanel المضافة ، وتحديث الأسعار لعام 2020.

عندما يتعلق الأمر موقع استضافة هناك العديد من الخيارات المختلفة المتاحة. كل منها له مزاياه الخاصة ، ويختلف في الميزات ونقاط السعر. سنقوم اليوم بإلقاء نظرة فاحصة على استضافة Virtual Private Server (VPS).

تسمح لك استضافة VPS بتخزين أصول الويب الخاصة بك على مساحة تم تكوينها لتبدو وكأنها خادم مخصص مستقل.

جدول المحتويات (رابط سريع)


ما هو استضافة VPS

VPS لتقف على Virtual Private Server. VPS هي مساحة صامتة على خادم يحتوي على خصائص الخادم بأكمله. هذا يعني أن لديها نظام تشغيل خاص بها (OS) ، تطبيقات ، موارد ، وتكوينات. كل هذا موجود في خادم واحد قوي. يمكن أن يكون لكل خادم حسابات VPS متعددة عليه.

كيف VPS استضافة العمل؟

كما يوحي الاسم ، فإن الفكرة الرئيسية لاستضافة VPS تدور حول المحاكاة الافتراضية. باستخدام هذه التقنية ، يمكن تقسيم الخوادم بالكامل وتخصيصها لأشخاص مختلفين.

يشاركون خادمًا فعليًا واحدًا ، لكن كل منهم يكتسب فوائد القدرة على إعداد وتكوين مساحتهم كما لو كانت ملكًا لهم تمامًا. يمنحهم ذلك درجة عالية من المرونة بالإضافة إلى عنصر إضافي من الخصوصية - مقابل جزء صغير من تكلفة خادم مخصص.

تقوم تقنية المحاكاة الافتراضية بتقييم الخادم ككل ثم تقسم الموارد بين حسابات مختلفة بناءً على ما يدفعه أصحاب الحسابات هؤلاء. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كان لدى الخادم 128 جيجابايت من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي ، فقد يقسم ذلك إلى جزأين أو أكثر.

بعد ذلك ، سيتم تخصيص مبلغ من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لكل صاحب حساب على النحو المحدد في عقد الاستضافة الخاص بهم. الموارد المخصصة لكل حساب مخصصة لهذا الحساب فقط ولن يتم استغلالها حتى إذا كانت الحسابات الأخرى تحتاج أو تستخدم أكثر.

ما هي استضافة VPS؟ أكبر الاختلاف بين استضافة VPS مشتركة هو كيفية مشاركة موارد الخادم. لاحظ أنه يتم تخصيص موارد الخادم المخصصة (مثل RAM وطاقة CPU) لكل شريحة VPS.
أكبر الاختلاف بين استضافة VPS مشتركة هو كيفية مشاركة موارد الخادم.

من وجهة نظر المستخدم ، يعني مضيف VPS:

  • لن يتم مشاركة الموارد المضمونة - الذاكرة ، وقت المعالجة ، التخزين ، إلخ.
  • أمان أفضل للموقع - سيتم استضافة موقع الويب الخاص بك في بيئة معزولة. إذا حدث أي شيء غير مرغوب فيه لحساب جارك ، فلن يؤثر ذلك عليك ؛ و
  • درجة عالية من الرشاقة - يمكنك الحصول على صلاحيات إدارية على مستوى الخادم مثل الوصول إلى الجذر واختيار نظام التشغيل والمزيد.

مزايا استضافة VPS

استضافة VPS هي التوازن المثالي بين السعر والأداء والأمان والقدرة على تحمل التكاليف والخصوصية. بعض الفوائد المذهلة التي ستحصل عليها باستخدام الخدمات هي ؛

  1. التكلفة المشتركة للخدمات
  2. إعداد خادم سريع
  3. وصول خادم أفضل بمزيد من التحكم
  4. بيئة محتواة خاصة
  5. مستوى مماثل من الخدمات كما هو الحال مع خادم مخصص
  6. التدرجية لاستخدام أفضل على المدى الطويل

المشتركة مقابل VPS مقابل استضافة خادم مخصص

قد يشعر البعض بالارتباك بسبب كثرة الخيارات عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمشاركة ، VPS ، والاستضافة المخصصة. دعونا نفعل تحليل قصير ومقارنة لفهم الاختلافات الرئيسية بشكل أفضل.

استضافة مشتركة

تشبه الاستضافة المشتركة مشاركة غرفة مع الآخرين.

الاستضافة المشتركة تشبه أنك تعيش في غرفة مع الكثير من الأصدقاء. هذا يعني أنك يجب أن توضع في نفس الغرفة ويجب أن تقسم تكلفة العديد من الأشياء لأنها كذلك بأسعار معقولة ورخيصة.

ومع ذلك ، فإن وجود العديد من الأفراد يشاركون نفس المساحة يعني أنه يجب أن يكون هناك قدر من العطاء والأخذ. يجب مشاركة الموارد (على سبيل المثال ، 5 أشخاص يقومون بالتناوب لاستخدام الحمام).

وهذا يعني أيضًا أن ما يؤثر على صديق واحد قد يؤثر عليك أيضًا. إذا كان أحد الأشخاص الذين يشاركون تلك المساحة مصابًا بالإنفلونزا - فقد تصاب أيضًا بالعدوى. سيتم مشاركة كل ما هو موجود في هذه الغرفة بينكم جميعًا (يبدو غير صحي قليلاً ، أليس كذلك؟).

هناك العديد من مالكي مواقع الويب الذين يفضلون استخدام خدمات الاستضافة المشتركة لسبب بسيط هو سهولة إدارتها وبأسعار معقولة. سيهتم مقدمو خدمات الاستضافة بصيانة الخادم ، لذلك يحتاج مالكو الويب فقط للتركيز على إنشاء مواقعهم وتشغيلها.

امتلاك الموارد المشتركة في بعض الأحيان يمكن أن يكون له ظروف غير متوقعة. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كان أحد مواقع الويب مشغولًا للغاية ويستخدم الكثير من الموارد ، فقد يتعطل موقع الويب الخاص بك. سيؤثر هذا على أداء موقعك من خلال أي خطأ خاص بك. الأمل الوحيد في حل المشكلة هو ما إذا كان خنزير المورد يطلق الموارد التي يستخدمها ، أو إذا تدخل مضيف الويب الخاص بك.

مزودات الاستضافة المشتركة: Hostinger, Interserver, GreenGeeks

VPS استضافة

استضافة VPS يشبه مجمع سكني.

استضافة VPS كأنك تعيش في مجمع سكني. هذا يعني أن أشخاصًا آخرين يعيشون في نفس المبنى ، لكن لديك شقتك الآمنة. قد يكون لديك مساحة أكبر وبالتأكيد عدد أقل من القيود بالمقارنة مع العيش في مساحة مشتركة. هذا يعني أيضًا أنه إذا كان جارك يسيء التصرف ، فإنه يمثل مشكلة مالك المبنى وليس مشكلتك.

وبالمثل ، في حالة VPS ، هناك العديد من المستخدمين الذين يستخدمون نفس الخادم ولكنهم معزولون عن بعضهم البعض. وهذا يعني أنه لن يتأثر أي شخص بحجم الموارد التي يستخدمها الآخر.

ستحصل على السرعة والأمان اللذين تحتاجهما دون أي تنازلات. إنه سيناريو مثالي تقريبًا لأنك تحصل على فوائد خادم خاص ولكنك لا تزال تشارك تكلفة الخدمات.

مقدمي استضافة VPS: InMotion استضافة, TMD استضافة, BLUEHOST

استضافة مخصصة

استضافة الخادم مخصصة يشبه طابق واحد.

استضافة الخادم مخصصة تشبه كونها مالك منزل. أنت حر في الانتقال إلى أي مكان داخل موقعك الذي يعجبك. ومع ذلك ، سوف تضطر إلى دفع ثمن الرهن العقاري والفواتير التي يمكن أن تكون باهظة الثمن.

وبالمثل ، في الخادم الحقيقي المخصص ، ستدفع مقابل الخادم بالكامل الذي لا تتم مشاركته مع أي شخص آخر. سوف تحصل على السيطرة الكاملة على جميع الخدمات. لسوء الحظ ، إنه أيضًا خيار الاستضافة الأغلى ويحتاج إلى بعض الخبرة الفنية للإدارة.

يشيع استخدامه من قبل أولئك الذين لديهم مواقع ويب ذات متطلبات محددة. يمكن أن يشمل ذلك القدرة على التعامل مع مستويات عالية من حركة مرور الويب أو زيادة متطلبات الأمان.

موفرو استضافة مخصصون: A2 استضافة, Altus المضيف, HostPapa


مضيف VPS: متى يكون الوقت المناسب للتبديل؟

حان الوقت للترقية إلى VPS عندما ...

* ملاحظة: في حال كنت تبحث عن استضافة VPS - فيما يلي قائمة أفضل استضافة VPS.

1. أنت بحاجة إلى مزيد من السرعة

عند إضافة المزيد من المحتوى إلى موقع الويب الخاص بك ، فمن المحتمل أن تتباطأ سرعته بعد مرور بعض الوقت. ينطبق هذا بشكل خاص على مواقع الويب التي تعتمد على عمليات كثيفة قواعد البيانات (مثل WordPress!). إذا لاحظت أوقاتًا طويلة على نحو متزايد للعملية ، فقد حان الوقت للتفكير في ترقية نوع أو خطة الاستضافة.

علاوة على ذلك ، ستشهد معظم مواقع الويب زيادة في عدد الزيارات بمرور الوقت. تشير المواقع الشائعة إلى معدلات مرور أعلى بكثير ، وهي رائعة بالنسبة لك. ومع ذلك ، فهذا يعني أن خططك الحالية لن تتمكن على الأرجح من إدارة هذا الحجم من الزيارات. الترقية إلى استضافة VPS هي الخطوة المنطقية التالية بالنسبة لك في هذه المرحلة.

ميزة السرعة المعروفة
مثال: بعض خدمات استضافة VPS المدارة تأتي مع ميزات سرعة إضافية. معروف VPS يمكن للمستخدمين (انظر الصورة) تحسين مضيف الويب الخاص بهم من خلال LiteSpeed ​​(+ $ 20 / mo) و LS Cache (+ $ 6 / mo) بأسعار معقولة.

2. تدهور الأداء

الحصول باستمرار أخطاء خادم 503 على الأرجح يعني أن خدمات موقع الويب الخاص بك ليست متاحة للزائرين والعملاء في الوقت المناسب. يحدث هذا غالبًا بسبب نقص الموارد مثل الذاكرة. إذا حدث ذلك بشكل متكرر ، فقد يتوقف زائرو موقعك عن الحضور ، لذلك مرة أخرى ، فقد حان الوقت للانتقال إلى استضافة VPS.

ميزات Hostpapa vps
مثال: يحصل المستخدمون المستضيفون لـ VPS على موارد خادم مخصصة لمواقعهم على الويب. HostPapa VPS Hosting (انظر الصورة) ، يتم ضمان مستخدمي HostPapa VPS Plus مع ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي 1.5 GB ووحدة المعالجة المركزية الأساسية 4.

3. زيادة المخاوف الأمنية

إذا كنت محظوظًا بدرجة كافية للدخول إلى خادم يواجه عدة هجمات ضد موقع آخر مستضاف هناك ، فقد تصبح الأمور صعبة. بموجب هذا السيناريو ، سيتعين عليك الاعتماد على النعم الجيد لمضيفك لإدارة الموقف ؛ أو بدلاً من ذلك ، قم بالتبديل إلى استضافة VPS وتجنب الموقف تمامًا.

A2 استضافة ميزات الأمان في خطة VPS
على سبيل المثال: استضافة V2 المدارة يوفر الحماية الاستباقية (تشمل الميزات KernelCare ، وحماية DDoS ، وجدار الحماية المزدوج للاستضافة ، والفحص الروتيني للفيروسات) ضد المتسللين الضارين وتهديدات الأمان.

4. احتياجات نظام التشغيل الخاصة

من خلال الوصول الكامل إلى الجذر (والذي يأتي عادةً مع خطط استضافة VPS غير المُدارة) ، يمكنك تثبيت وتخصيص أي برنامج تحتاجه لتحسين تجربة الاستضافة. تعتبر هذه المرونة ذات قيمة خاصة عندما تحتاج إلى تثبيت نظام تشغيل مخصص.

نظام التشغيل vps interserver
على سبيل المثال: InterServer المدارة VPS الاستضافة تقدم خيارات نظام التشغيل 16 ؛ بما في ذلك دبيان ، و CentOS ، و Ubuntu ، و Gentoo ، و Open Wall ، و Fedora ، و Slackware.

خدمة استضافة VPS مجانية: أين يمكن العثور عليها؟

إليك بعض استضافة VPS المجانية التي وجدناها على الإنترنت.

مزودات مجانية ل VPSتخزينمكبر الصوت : يدعم، مع دعم ميكروفون مدمج لمنع الضوضاء بطاقة الائتمان؟الدعم؟
Ohosti25 جيجا بايت512 MB
InstaFree5 جيجا بايت256 MB

قد لا يكون البحث عن استضافة VPS المجانية بعيد المنال مثل طائر الدودو ، ولكن قد تشعر بخيبة أمل إزاء ما تجده. معظم VPS المجانية ليست ببساطة قوية وقوية مثل تلك المدفوعة.

الأمن هو عادة قضية رئيسية عند استخدام منصة مجانية. تخيل استضافة مواقعك جنبًا إلى جنب مع المواقع غير المرغوب فيها / القديمة / غير المدارة - فأنت لا تعلم أبدًا متى سيؤدي هؤلاء الجيران إلى حدوث مشكلات (على الرغم من وجودك في VPS).

وكذلك دعم العملاء والأداء. لا يمكنك طلب دعم رفيع المستوى وأداء خادم أعلى عندما لا تدفع أي مبلغ من المال ، أليس كذلك؟

خلاصة القول هي أن الأجهزة والبرامج وعرض النطاق الترددي جميع تكاليف المال. إذا كان مقدمو الخدمات يقدمون لك كل هذا مجانًا ، فيجب عليهم كسب المال من مكان آخر - على الأرجح من بياناتك.

ولكن مرة أخرى ، خطط VPS هذه المجانيه. أنها تناسب احتياجات بعض مالكي الويب - خاصة بالنسبة للمستخدمين الذين يقومون بتطوير تطبيق ويب أو المستخدمين الذين يريدون تذوق استضافة VPS قبل الانتقال للخيارات المدفوعة.


استضافة VPS للأسئلة المتداولة

كيف أبدأ باستضافة VPS؟

معظم تستضيف شبكة VPS جيدة سيقدم مقالات قاعدة معارف شاملة حول كيفية إدارة مضيف VPS الخاص بك. يجب أن تكون هذه هي محطتك الأولى للتعرف على البيئة إذا كنت حديث العهد ببيئة VPS.

ما هي الحوسبة السحابية؟

الحوسبة السحابية هي المكان الذي يتم فيه تجميع موارد العديد من أجهزة الكمبيوتر المتصلة بالشبكة معًا. هذا يعطي إمكانات أكبر بكثير من حيث قابلية التوسع من العديد أنواع أخرى من استضافة المواقع.

ما هو استخدام استضافة VPS؟

استضافة VPS مخصصة عادة لمواقع الويب التي تحتاج إلى معالجة كميات أكبر من حركة المرور. في هذه الحالات ، سيكون المضيف قادرًا على ضمان توفر الموارد وزيادة الأمان.

فيما يلي بعض النصائح حول اختيار استضافة VPS الصحيحة.

كم هو استضافة VPS؟

عادةً ما تكلف استضافة VPS أكثر من الاستضافة المشتركة ولكن أقل من خادم مخصص. عادةً ما يتم تحديد الأسعار اعتمادًا على مقدار الموارد المطلوبة والميزات الأخرى مثل الحسابات المُدارة ، التي تتراوح ما بين 6 دولارات إلى بضع مئات من الدولارات شهريًا.

تحقق من عروض استضافة VPS الشهيرة وميزات VPS البارزة.

أي استضافة VPS هي الأفضل؟

هناك العديد من شركات استضافة المواقع ذات السمعة الطيبة التي تقدم خطط VPS قوية. بعض هذه تشمل InMotion استضافة, A2 استضافة, InterServerو SiteGround.

استضافة VPS المُدارة وغير المُدارة

إذا سبق لك استخدام جهاز كمبيوتر بمفردك (نعم ، قد يبدو هذا غريبًا ، ولكن هناك سبب لذلك) ، فربما تعرف ما يشبه استخدام استضافة VPS غير المُدارة. في كلتا الحالتين ، أنت مسؤول عن إعداد وصيانة جميع التطبيقات التي تعمل على النظام.

VPS غير المُدار: -
مع VPS غير المُدار ، فإن مقدم خدمة الاستضافة لديه مسئوليات اثنين فقط - التأكد من تشغيل VPS الخاص بك ومن أنه متصل بالشبكة. كما يمكنك أن تتخيل ، قد يستغرق هذا قليلًا من الخبرة الفنية من جانبك للتعامل معها.

VPS المدارة: -
في بيئة VPS المدارة ، يمكنك الجلوس والاسترخاء وإعلام مضيفك بما تريد القيام به. لا توجد مشكلات أمنية يجب الاهتمام بها ، وليس المهام الخاصة بالوظائف التي ستحتاج إلى معالجتها. سيقوم مضيفك بإدارة كل شيء نيابة عنك وحل أي مشاكل تنشأ.

VPN مقابل VPS: ما الفرق؟

بصراحة ، ليس هناك الكثير من التشابه.

ما هو VPN؟
VPN هي شبكة خاصة (أي ExpressVPN و NordVPN) التي يستخدمها معظم الناس للحفاظ على أمانهم وخصوصًا على الإنترنت.

ما هو VPS؟
VPS من ناحية أخرى هو خادم افتراضي يمكنك استخدامه مثل خادم مخصص لاستضافة موقع الويب الخاص بك أو إدارة مهام أخرى متعلقة بالإنترنت ، مثل إعداد Cloud Storage أو استضافة البريد الإلكتروني أو ما شابه. وهما متشابهان في اختصار فقط.

هنا يأتي - أقوم بتضمين هذا الجزء لأنه يمكنك استخدام VPN للاتصال بخادم VPS وإدارته. ستحافظ شبكة VPN على اتصالك الخاص ولا يمكن تعقبه ، حتى يمكنك تسجيل الدخول إلى VPS دون أن يعلم أي شخص بخلاف ذلك.

الأهم من ذلك ، عند استخدام اتصال VPN ، يتم تشفير جميع البيانات التي يتم إرسالها من وإلى جهازك. هذا يعني أنه إذا كنت ترسل معلومات حساسة مثل كلمات المرور ، فمن المستحسن استخدام خدمة VPN.

بعض موفري VPN جيدة تقديم عناوين IP ثابتة وتمنح العديد من المستخدمين ميزة أخرى لأن معظم مزودي خدمات الإنترنت يستفيدون من عناوين IP الديناميكية لمعظم العملاء. باستخدام VPN مع IP ثابت ، يمكنك اختيار القائمة IP الخاصة بك فقط للسماح لها بالاتصال VPS الخاص بك. هذا يزيد من الأمن بدرجة عالية جدا.


الخط السفلي

متوسط ​​VPS أغلى من الاستضافة المشتركة ، لكن هذا ليس صحيحًا دائمًا. نظرًا للتوسع الذي توفره حسابات VPS ، يمكن أن تختلف الأسعار كثيرًا. عند التفكير فيما إذا كنت تريد الانتقال إلى مضيف VPS ، أفضل التركيز على ما إذا كنت قادرًا على إدارة حساب VPS.

هناك بعض ما يتم إدارته ، لكن مستوى المعرفة التقنية المطلوبة يختلف عن الاستضافة المشتركة المنتظمة. إنه أمر لا يمكن التغلب عليه ، لكن ألا تنفق جهودك بشكل أفضل في إدارة الأصول الرئيسية - موقع الويب الخاص بك؟ هل تريد قضاء وقت إضافي في تعلم إدارة حساب VPS الخاص بك بدلاً من ذلك؟

الجانب الآخر هو قابلية التوسع. بمجرد الحصول على تعليق منه ، يكون لمستخدمي استضافة VPS وقت أسهل بطريقتين: أ) من الأسهل توسيع النطاق وهناك عدة شرائح ، لذلك تكلفة تشغيل موقع الويب زيادة بطيئة و B) ستعطيك ميزة تقنية عندما ينمو موقعك بشكل كبير للغاية تحتاج إلى الانتقال إلى خادم مخصص.

الموارد ذات الصلة

لقد نشرنا أيضًا عددًا من الإرشادات القابلة للتنفيذ ومراجعات الاستضافة المفيدة لأولئك الذين يبحثون عن مضيف الويب.

VPS Hosting Guide: How Virtual Private Server Works?

Article by Jerry Low . .
Updated: Jun 18, 2020

* Update: Removed Guhat in free VPS, added cPanel price change, and updated pricing for 2020.

When it comes to website hosting there are many different options available. Each has their own merits, differing in features and price points. Today we’re going to be taking a closer look at Virtual Private Server (VPS) hosting.

VPS hosting allows you to store your web assets on space that has been configured to look and feel like a standalone dedicated server.

Table of Content (Quick link)


What is VPS Hosting

VPS stands for Virtual Private Server. A VPS is a siloed space on a server that has the characteristics of an entire server itself. A virtual server hosting has its own Operating System (OS), applications, resources, and configurations. All of this is contained within a single powerful server. Each server can have multiple VPS accounts on it.

How Does VPS Hosting Work?

As the name implies, the entire premise of VPS hosting revolves around virtualization. With this technology, entire servers can be ‘split up’ and allocated to different people.

Virtual servers share a single physical server, but each gain the benefits of being able to set up and configure their space as if it were wholly belonging to them. This gives them a high degree of flexibility along with an added element of privacy – for a fraction of the cost of a dedicated server.

Virtualization technology assesses the server as a whole and then divides resources up among different accounts based on what those account holders paid for. For example, if the server has 128GB of RAM, it may split that up in 2 or more parts.

Each account holder will then be assigned the amount of RAM as specified in their hosting contract. The resources allocated to each account are only for that account and will not be tapped into even if other accounts need or use more.

What is VPS hosting? The biggest difference between a shared and VPS hosting is how server resources are being shared. Note that dedicated server resources (such as RAM and CPU power) are allocated to each VPS slice.
The biggest difference between a shared and VPS hosting is how server resources are being shared.

From a user point of view, a VPS host means:

  • Guaranteed resources – Memory, Processing time, storage, etc will never be shared.
  • Better site security – Your website(s) will be hosted in an isolated environment. If anything untoward happens to your neighbour’s account,it will not affect you; and
  • High degree of agility – You gain server-level administrative powers such as root access, choice of OS, and more.

Advantages of VPS hosting

VPS hosting is the perfect balance of price, performance, security, affordability, and privacy. Some of the amazing benefits you will get by using the services are;

  1. Shared cost of services
  2. Quick server setup
  3. Better server access with more control
  4. Private contained environment
  5. Similar level of services as with a dedicated server
  6. Scalability for better long term use

Shared vs VPS vs Dedicated Server Hosting

Some might get a little confused because of the multitude of choices when it comes to shared, VPS, and dedicated hosting. Let’s do a short analysis and comparison to better understand the key differences.

Shared Hosting

Shared hosting is like sharing a room with others.

Shared hosting is like you are living in a room with a lot of friends. It means you must fit in the same room and you must split the cost of several things because it is affordable and cheap.

However, having several individuals sharing the same space means there must be some degree of give and take. Resources need to be shared (e.g. 5 people rotating to use a washroom).

It also means that what affects one friend may affect you as well. If one of the people sharing that space has the flu – you might get infected as well. Everything that is in that room is to be shared among all of you (sounds a little unhygienic, right?).

There are many website owners who prefer to use shared hosting services for the simple reason that it is easy to manage and affordable. Hosting service providers will take care of server maintenance, so the web owners only need to focus on building and operating their site.

Having shared resources sometimes can have unforeseen circumstances. For example, if one website were to be very busy and using up a lot of resources, your website might get stuck waiting. This will affect the performance of your site through no fault of your own. Your only hope of resolution is if the resource hog releases resources it is using, or if your web host intervenes.

Shared hosting providers: Hostinger, InterserverGreenGeeks

VPS Hosting

VPS hosting is like an apartment complex.

VPS hosting is like you are living in an apartment complex. It means that other people are living in the same building, but you have your own secure apartment. You may have more space and definately fewer restrictions as compared to living in a shared space. It also means that if your neighbour is misbehaving, it is the problem of owner of building, not yours.

Similarly, in the case of VPS, there are several users that are using the same server but they are isolated from each other. It means that no one will be affected by how much resources another is using.

You will get the speed and security that you need without compromise. It is almost a perfect scenario because you gain the benefits of a private server but in a way still share the cost of services.

VPS hosting providers: InMotion Hosting, TMD HostingBlueHost

Dedicated Hosting

Dedicated server hosting is like a bungalow.

Dedicated server hosting is like being the owner of a house. You are free to move anywhere within your property that you like. however, you will have to pay for the mortgage and bills that can be expensive.

Similarly, in a real dedicated server, you will pay for the entire server that is not shared with anyone else. You will get complete control over all services. Unfortunately, it is also the most expensive hosting option and needs some technical expertise to manage.

It is commonly used by those who have websites with specific requirements. THis can include the ability to handle high levels of web traffic or increased security requirements.

Dedicated hosting providers: A2 Hosting, Altus Host, HostPapa


VPS Host: When is the Right Time to Switch?

It's time to upgrade to VPS when…

* Note: In case you were looking for a VPS hosting – here's my list of best VPS hosting.

1. You Need More Speed

When you add more content to your website, its speed will likely slow down after some time. This is especially true for websites that rely on database-intensive operations (like WordPress!). If you notice increasingly long process times, it’s time to contemplate an upgrade in hosting type or plan.

Further, most websites will see increased traffic over time. Popular sites mean much higher traffic rates, which is fantastic for you. However, it means that your existing plans will likely not be able to manage that volume of traffic. Upgrading to VPS hosting is the next logical step for you at this point.

KnownHost speed feature
Example: Some Managed VPS hosting services come with extra speed features. KnownHost VPS (see image) users can optimize their web host with built-in LiteSpeed (+$20/mo) and LS Cache (+$6/mo) at reasonable fees.

2. Performance Degrades

Continuously getting 503-server errors most probably means that your website services are not being made available to your visitors and customers in a timely manner. This is often caused by a lack of resources such as memory. If it happens frequently, your site visitors may stop coming, so again,  it may be time to move to VPS hosting.

Hostpapa vps features
Example:  VPS hosting users get dedicated server resources for their websites. HostPapa VPS Hosting (see image), HostPapa VPS Plus users are guaranteed with 1.5 GB RAM and 4 core CPU.

3. Increased Security Concerns

If you’ve become unlucky enough to have gotten onto a server which is facing multiple attacks against another site hosted there, things can get tough. Under this scenario, you’ll have to rely on the good graces of your host to manage the situation; or alternatively, switch to VPS hosting and avoid the situation altogether.

A2 Hosting security features in VPS plan
Example: A2 Managed VPS Hosting offers proactive protection (features include KernelCare, DDoS protection, dual hosting firewall, routine virus scanning) against malicious hackers and security threats.

4. Special Operating System Needs

With full root access (that usually comes with unmanaged VPS hosting plans), you are able to install and customize any software that you need to optimize your hosting experience. This is flexibility is especially valuable when you need to install a custom OS.

interserver vps operating system
Example: InterServer Managed VPS Hosting offers 16 operating system options; including Debian, CentOS, Ubuntu, Gentoo, Open Wall, Fedora, and Slackware.

Free VPS Hosting: Where to Find Them?

Here are some free VPS hosting we found online.

Free VPS ProvidersStorageMemoryCredit Card?Support?
Ohosti25 GB512 MB
InstaFree5 GB256 MB

Searching for free VPS hosting may not be as elusive as the dodo bird, but you might be disappointed at what you find. Most free VPS are simply not as powerful and robust as paid ones.

Security is usually a major issue when you are using a free platform. Imagine hosting your sites alongside with spammy / outdated / unmanaged sites – you never know when these neighbors are going to cause troubles (even though you are on VPS).

So are customer support and performance. You can't ask for high level support and topnotch server performance when you are not paying any amount of money, right?

The bottomline is that hardware, software, and bandwidth all costs money. If service providers are giving you all of this for free, they have to earn money from somewhere else – most likely from your data.

But then again, these VPS plans are FREE. They fit the needs of certain web owners – especially for users who are developing a web application or users who want a taste of VPS hosting before going for the paid options.


VPS Hosting Frequent Asked Questions

How do I get started with VPS Hosting?

Most good VPS web hosts will offer comprehensive knowledge base articles on how to manage your VPS host. This should be your first stop in familiarizing yourself with the environment if you're new to the VPS environment.

What is cloud computing?

Cloud computing is where the resources of several networked computers are pooled together. This gives far more potential in terms of scalability than many other types of web hosting.

What is VPS hosting used for?

VPS hosting is typically for websites that need to handle larger amounts of traffic. In these cases, the host would be able to guarantee resource availability and increased security.

Here are a few tips on picking the right VPS hosting.

How much is VPS hosting?

VPS hosting will typically cost more than shared hosting but less than a dedicated server. Prices are usually set depending on the amount of resources required and other features such as managed accounts, ranging from as little as $6 to as much as a few hundred dollars per month.

Check out the popular VPS hosting provides and their notable VPS features.

Which VPS hosting is the best?

There are many reputable web hosting companies offering solid VPS plans. Some of these include InMotion Hosting, A2 Hosting, InterServer, and SiteGround.

Managed vs Unmanaged VPS Hosting

If you’ve ever used a computer on your own (yes, this might sound strange, but there’s a reason for it) then you’ll probably know what it’s like to use unmanaged VPS hosting. In both situations, you’re responsible for the setup and maintenance of all applications which run on the system.

Unmanaged VPS:-
With an Unmanaged VPS, your hosting provider has only two responsibilities – making sure your VPS is running and that it’s connected to the network. As you can imagine, this may take a little technical expertise on your part to handle.

Managed VPS:-
In a Managed VPS environment, you can sit back, relax and let your host know whatever you’d like done. There are no security issues to be concerned about, not function-specific tasks you’ll need to handle. Your host will manage everything for you and resolve any issues that crop up.

VPN vs VPS: What’s the Difference?

To be honest, there is not much of a similarity.

What is a VPN?
A VPN is a private network (ie. ExpressVPN and NordVPN) which most people use to keep secure and private on the Internet.

What is a VPS?
A VPS on the other hand is a virtual server you can use like a dedicated server to host your website or manage other web-related tasks, such as setting up Cloud Storage, hosting email or such. The two are similar in acronym only.

Here comes the but – I include this segment because you can use a VPN to connect to a VPS server and manage it. The VPN will keep your connection private and untraceable, so you can sign in to the VPS without anybody knowing otherwise.

More importantly, when using a VPN connection, any data which is sent to and from your device is all encrypted. This means that if you’re sending sensitive information like passwords, using a VPN service is recommended.

Some good VPN providers offer fixed IP addresses and that gives many users another advantage since almost all ISPs make use of dynamic IPs for most customers. By using a VPN with a fixed IP, you can choose to only whitelist your IP to allow it to connect to your VPS. This increases security by a very high degree.


The Bottom Line

The average VPS is more expensive than shared hosting, but this is not always true. Because of the scalability that VPS accounts offer, prices can vary a lot. When considering whether you need to move to a VPS host, I would rather you focus on whether you’re able to manage a VPS account.

There are some that come managed, but the level of technical knowledge needed is different from regular shared hosting. It’s not insurmountable but wouldn’t your efforts be better expended on managing your key asset – your website? Do you want to spend the extra time learning to manage your VPS account instead?

The flip side is scalability. Once you’ve gotten the hang of it, users of VPS hosting have an easier time in two ways: A) It’s easier to scale up and there are multiple tranches, so your cost of running a website increase slowly and B) it’ll give you a technical edge when your site has grown so large you need to move to a dedicated server.

Relevant Resources

We have also published a number of actionable guide and helpful hosting reviews for those who are searching for a web host.