VPS托管指南:虚拟专用服务器如何工作?

Jerry Low的文章。 .
更新:Mar 16,2020

*更新:删除了免费VPS中的Guhat,添加了cPanel价格更改,并更新了2020年的价格。

当涉及到 网站托管 有很多不同的选择。 每个都有各自的优点,在功能和价格上有所不同。 今天,我们将仔细研究虚拟专用服务器(VPS)托管。

通过VPS托管,您可以将Web资产存储在已配置为外观像独立的专用服务器的空间中。

目录(快速链接)


什么是VPS托管

VPS代表虚拟专用服务器。 VPS是服务器上的孤立空间,具有整个服务器本身的特征。 这意味着它具有自己的操作系统(OS),应用程序,资源和配置。 所有这些都包含在单个功能强大的服务器中。 每个服务器上可以有多个VPS帐户。

VPS主机如何工作?

顾名思义,VPS托管的整个前提都围绕虚拟化展开。 使用此技术,可以将整个服务器“拆分”并分配给不同的人。

他们共享一台物理服务器,但是每个人都具有能够设置和配置其空间的好处,就好像它完全属于它们一样。 这为他们提供了高度的灵活性以及增加的隐私元素-只需专用服务器成本的一小部分。

虚拟化技术对服务器进行整体评估,然后根据这些帐户持有者所支付的费用在不同帐户之间分配资源。 例如,如果服务器具有128GB的RAM,则可以将其分成2个或更多部分。

然后,将为每个帐户所有者分配其托管合同中指定的RAM数量。 分配给每个帐户的资源仅用于该帐户,即使其他帐户需要或使用更多资源也不会被利用。

什么是VPS托管? 共享和VPS托管之间的最大区别在于如何共享服务器资源。 请注意,专用服务器资源(如RAM和CPU电源)分配给每个VPS片。
共享和VPS托管之间的最大区别在于如何共享服务器资源。

从用户的角度来看,VPS主机意味着:

  • 保证的资源–内存,处理时间,存储空间等将永远不会共享。
  • 更好的网站安全性–您的网站将托管在隔离的环境中。 如果邻居的帐户发生任何不良情况,则不会影响您; 和
  • 高度的灵活性–您可以获得服务器级的管理权限,例如根访问权限,操作系统选择等。

VPS托管的优点

VPS托管是价格,性能,安全性,可承受性和隐私的完美平衡。 使用这些服务可以获得一些惊人的好处;

  1. 共享服务成本
  2. 快速服务器设置
  3. 更好的服务器访问和更多控制
  4. 私人环境
  5. 与专用服务器类似的服务级别
  6. 可扩展性,可更好地长期使用

共享vs VPS vs专用服务器托管

由于涉及共享,VPS和专用托管方面的众多选择,有些人可能会感到困惑。 让我们做一个简短的分析和比较,以更好地理解关键差异。

共享主机

共享主机就像与他人共享一个房间。

共享主机就像你住在一个有很多朋友的房间里。 这意味着你必须适合同一个房间,你必须分摊几件事的成本,因为它是 实惠又便宜.

但是,让几个人共享同一空间意味着必须有一定程度的让步。 资源需要共享(例如5个人轮流使用洗手间)。

这也意味着影响一个朋友的事物也可能会影响您。 如果共享该空间的人中有一位患有流感,您可能也会受到感染。 那个房间里的所有东西都应该在大家之间共享(听起来有些不卫生,对吧?)。

许多网站所有者更喜欢使用共享托管服务,原因很简单,因为它易于管理且价格合理。 托管服务提供商将负责服务器维护,因此网络所有者只需要专注于其网站的建设和运营。

有时拥有共享资源可能会遇到无法预料的情况。 例如,如果一个网站非常繁忙并且消耗了大量资源,则您的网站可能会陷入等待状态。 这不会因为您自己的过错而影响网站的性能。 解决方案的唯一希望是资源消耗者释放它正在使用的资源,或者您的Web主机进行干预。

共享托管服务商: Hostinger, Interserver., GreenGeeks

VPS主机

VPS托管就像一个公寓大楼。

VPS托管就像您住在公寓大楼中一样。 这意味着其他人住在同一栋大楼中,但是您拥有自己的安全公寓。 与住在共享空间中相比,您可能有更多的空间,而且肯定更少的限制。 这也意味着,如果您的邻居行为不当,那就是建筑物所有者而不是您的所有者的问题。

同样,在VPS的情况下,有多个用户正在使用同一服务器,但它们彼此隔离。 这意味着没有人会受到另一人正在使用多少资源的影响。

您将毫不妥协地获得所需的速度和安全性。 这几乎是一个完美的方案,因为您获得了专用服务器的好处,但仍然可以分担服务成本。

VPS托管服务提供商: InMotion Hosting, TMD Hosting, BlueHost

专用主机

专用服务器托管就像一个平房。

专用服务器托管就像是房子的拥有者。 您可以自由移动您喜欢的房产内的任何地方。 但是,你必须支付可能很昂贵的抵押贷款和账单。

同样,在真正的专用服务器中,您将为未与其他任何人共享的整个服务器付费。 您将完全控制所有服务。 不幸的是,它也是最昂贵的托管选项,需要一些专业技术来管理。

网站拥有特定要求的人通常使用它。 这可以包括处理高水平的网络流量或提高安全性要求的能力。

专用托管服务提供商: A2 Hosting, Altus主持人, HostPapa


VPS主机:什么时候是正确的切换时间?

现在是时候升级到VPS ......

*注意:如果您正在寻找VPS托管– 这是我最好的VPS托管列表.

1.您需要更快的速度

当您向网站添加更多内容时,一段时间后其速度可能会降低。 对于依赖数据库密集型操作的网站(例如WordPress!)尤其如此。 如果您注意到处理时间越来越长,那么该考虑托管类型或计划的升级了。

此外,大多数网站会随着时间的推移而增加流量。 热门网站意味着更高的流量,这对您来说非常棒。 但是,这意味着您现有的计划可能无法管理该流量。 升级到VPS主机是您此时的下一个合乎逻辑的步骤。

已知主机速度功能
示例:某些托管VPS托管服务带有额外的速度功能。 已知主机VPS (参见图片)用户可以以合理的费用使用内置的LiteSpeed(+ $ 20 / mo)和LS Cache(+ $ 6 / mo)优化其Web主机。

2.性能下降

不断得到 503服务器错误 最有可能意味着您的网站服务没有及时提供给访问者和客户。 这通常是由于缺少内存等资源造成的。 如果这种情况经常发生,则您的网站访问者可能会停止访问,因此,再次可能是时候转向VPS托管了。

Hostpapa vps功能
示例:VPS托管用户可以为其网站获取专用的服务器资源。 HostPapa VPS主机 (见图),HostPapa VPS Plus用户可以保证使用1.5 GB RAM和4核心CPU。

3.越来越多的安全问题

如果您很不幸地遇到了服务器,该服务器面临着对托管在该站点上的另一个站点的多次攻击,那么事情可能会变得很棘手。 在这种情况下,您将不得不依靠主机的良好管理来处理这种情况。 或者,切换到VPS托管并完全避免这种情况。

VPS计划中的A2托管安全功能
例如: A2托管VPS托管 提供针对恶意黑客和安全威胁的主动保护(功能包括KernelCare,DDoS保护,双重托管防火墙,例行病毒扫描)。

4.特殊的操作系统需求

拥有完全的root访问权限(通常是非托管VPS托管计划附带的),您可以安装和自定义优化主机体验所需的任何软件。 当您需要安装自定义操作系统时,灵活性特别有价值。

服务器间vps操作系统
例如: InterServer托管VPS主机 提供16操作系统选项; 包括Debian,CentOS,Ubuntu,Gentoo,Open Wall,Fedora和Slackware。

免费VPS主机:在哪里找到他们?

这是我们在网上找到的一些免费VPS主机。

免费VPS提供商存储解决方案记忆体信用卡?支持?
OhostiGB 25512 MB
InstaFreeGB 5256 MB

搜索免费的VPS托管可能不如渡渡鸟那么难,但是您可能会对找到的东西感到失望。 大多数免费的VPS根本没有付费的VPS强大和强大。

安全通常是主要问题 当您使用免费平台时。 想象一下,将您的网站与垃圾邮件/过时/不受管理的网站一起托管-您永远都不知道这些邻居何时会造成麻烦(即使您使用的是VPS)。

客户支持和性能也是如此。 当你不支付任何金钱时,你不能要求高水平的支持和一流的服务器性能,对吗?

最重要的是,硬件,软件和带宽都是要花钱的。 如果服务提供商免费为您提供所有这些服务,则他们必须从其他地方赚钱-很有可能是从您的数据中赚钱。

但话说回来,这些VPS计划是 免费。 它们满足某些Web所有者的需求-特别是对于正在开发Web应用程序的用户或希望在选择付费选项之前先体验VPS托管的用户。


VPS托管常见问题

我如何开始使用VPS托管?

桥梁 好的VPS网络主机 将提供有关如何管理VPS主机的综合知识库文章。 如果您不熟悉VPS环境,那么这应该是您熟悉环境的第一站。

什么是云计算?

云计算是几台联网计算机的资源汇集在一起​​的地方。 在可伸缩性方面,这比许多方面具有更多潜力 其他类型的网络托管.

VPS托管有什么用?

VPS托管通常用于需要处理大量流量的网站。 在这些情况下,主机将能够保证资源可用性和更高的安全性。

以下是选择正确的VPS托管的一些技巧.

VPS托管多少?

VPS托管通常比共享托管花费更多,但比专用服务器便宜。 价格通常是根据所需的资源量和其他功能(例如托管帐户)来设置的,范围从每月6美元到数百美元不等。

查看流行的VPS托管提供的功能及其显着的VPS功能.

哪种VPS托管是最好的?

有许多知名的网络托管公司提供可靠的VPS计划。 其中一些包括 InMotion Hosting, A2 Hosting, 服务器间SiteGround.

托管VS非托管VPS主机

如果您曾经自己使用过计算机(是的,这听起来可能很奇怪,但这是有原因的),那么您可能会知道使用非托管VPS托管的感觉。 在这两种情况下,您都要负责系统上运行的所有应用程序的设置和维护。

非托管VPS:-
使用非托管VPS,您的托管服务提供商只有两个职责 - 确保您的VPS正在运行并且它已连接到网络。 您可以想象,这可能需要您的一些技术专业知识来处理。

托管VPS:-
在受管VPS环境中,您可以放心,放松并让主机知道您想做什么。 无需担心安全性问题,而无需处理特定功能的任务。 您的主机将为您管理所有事务,并解决所有出现的问题。

VPN与VPS:有什么区别?

说实话,没有太大的相似之处。

什么是VPN?
VPN是一个专用网络(即。 ExpressVPNNordVPN大多数人用来在互联网上保持安全和私密。

什么是VPS?
另一方面,VPS是虚拟服务器,您可以像专用服务器一样使用它来托管您的网站或管理其他与Web相关的任务,例如设置Cloud Storage,托管电子邮件等。 两者只是首字母缩写相似。

接下来是 - 我包括此段,因为您可以使用VPN连接到VPS服务器并进行管理。 VPN将使您的连接保持私密且无法追踪,因此您可以在没有任何其他人知道的情况下登录VPS。

更重要的是,使用VPN连接时,发送到设备或从设备发送的任何数据都将被加密。 这意味着,如果您要发送密码等敏感信息,建议使用VPN服务。

良好的VPN提供商 提供固定IP地址,这给许多用户带来了另一个优势,因为几乎所有ISP都为大多数客户使用动态IP。 通过使用具有固定IP的VPN,您可以选择仅将IP列入白名单以允许其连接到VPS。 这极大地提高了安全性。


底线

平均VPS比共享托管更昂贵,但这并不总是正确的。 由于VPS帐户提供的可伸缩性,价格可能相差很大。 在考虑是否需要迁移到VPS主机时,我希望您专注于是否能够管理VPS帐户。

有一些可以管理,但是所需的技术知识水平与常规共享托管不同。 这不是无法克服的,但是您的努力不会更好地用于管理关键资产–您的网站吗? 您是否想花费额外的时间来学习管理VPS帐户?

另一方面是可扩展性。 掌握了这些要点之后,VPS托管的用户可以通过以下两种方式来简化时间:A)扩展更容易,并且有很多付款,因此您的 运营网站的成本 缓慢增加B)当您的网站变得如此之大以至于需要转移到专用服务器时,它会为您提供技术优势。

相关资源

我们还为搜索网络托管服务的用户发布了一系列可操作的指南和有用的托管评论。

VPS Hosting Guide: How Virtual Private Server Works?

Article by Jerry Low . .
Updated: Jun 18, 2020

* Update: Removed Guhat in free VPS, added cPanel price change, and updated pricing for 2020.

When it comes to website hosting there are many different options available. Each has their own merits, differing in features and price points. Today we’re going to be taking a closer look at Virtual Private Server (VPS) hosting.

VPS hosting allows you to store your web assets on space that has been configured to look and feel like a standalone dedicated server.

Table of Content (Quick link)


What is VPS Hosting

VPS stands for Virtual Private Server. A VPS is a siloed space on a server that has the characteristics of an entire server itself. A virtual server hosting has its own Operating System (OS), applications, resources, and configurations. All of this is contained within a single powerful server. Each server can have multiple VPS accounts on it.

How Does VPS Hosting Work?

As the name implies, the entire premise of VPS hosting revolves around virtualization. With this technology, entire servers can be ‘split up’ and allocated to different people.

Virtual servers share a single physical server, but each gain the benefits of being able to set up and configure their space as if it were wholly belonging to them. This gives them a high degree of flexibility along with an added element of privacy – for a fraction of the cost of a dedicated server.

Virtualization technology assesses the server as a whole and then divides resources up among different accounts based on what those account holders paid for. For example, if the server has 128GB of RAM, it may split that up in 2 or more parts.

Each account holder will then be assigned the amount of RAM as specified in their hosting contract. The resources allocated to each account are only for that account and will not be tapped into even if other accounts need or use more.

What is VPS hosting? The biggest difference between a shared and VPS hosting is how server resources are being shared. Note that dedicated server resources (such as RAM and CPU power) are allocated to each VPS slice.
The biggest difference between a shared and VPS hosting is how server resources are being shared.

From a user point of view, a VPS host means:

  • Guaranteed resources – Memory, Processing time, storage, etc will never be shared.
  • Better site security – Your website(s) will be hosted in an isolated environment. If anything untoward happens to your neighbour’s account,it will not affect you; and
  • High degree of agility – You gain server-level administrative powers such as root access, choice of OS, and more.

Advantages of VPS hosting

VPS hosting is the perfect balance of price, performance, security, affordability, and privacy. Some of the amazing benefits you will get by using the services are;

  1. Shared cost of services
  2. Quick server setup
  3. Better server access with more control
  4. Private contained environment
  5. Similar level of services as with a dedicated server
  6. Scalability for better long term use

Shared vs VPS vs Dedicated Server Hosting

Some might get a little confused because of the multitude of choices when it comes to shared, VPS, and dedicated hosting. Let’s do a short analysis and comparison to better understand the key differences.

Shared Hosting

Shared hosting is like sharing a room with others.

Shared hosting is like you are living in a room with a lot of friends. It means you must fit in the same room and you must split the cost of several things because it is affordable and cheap.

However, having several individuals sharing the same space means there must be some degree of give and take. Resources need to be shared (e.g. 5 people rotating to use a washroom).

It also means that what affects one friend may affect you as well. If one of the people sharing that space has the flu – you might get infected as well. Everything that is in that room is to be shared among all of you (sounds a little unhygienic, right?).

There are many website owners who prefer to use shared hosting services for the simple reason that it is easy to manage and affordable. Hosting service providers will take care of server maintenance, so the web owners only need to focus on building and operating their site.

Having shared resources sometimes can have unforeseen circumstances. For example, if one website were to be very busy and using up a lot of resources, your website might get stuck waiting. This will affect the performance of your site through no fault of your own. Your only hope of resolution is if the resource hog releases resources it is using, or if your web host intervenes.

Shared hosting providers: Hostinger, InterserverGreenGeeks

VPS Hosting

VPS hosting is like an apartment complex.

VPS hosting is like you are living in an apartment complex. It means that other people are living in the same building, but you have your own secure apartment. You may have more space and definately fewer restrictions as compared to living in a shared space. It also means that if your neighbour is misbehaving, it is the problem of owner of building, not yours.

Similarly, in the case of VPS, there are several users that are using the same server but they are isolated from each other. It means that no one will be affected by how much resources another is using.

You will get the speed and security that you need without compromise. It is almost a perfect scenario because you gain the benefits of a private server but in a way still share the cost of services.

VPS hosting providers: InMotion Hosting, TMD HostingBlueHost

Dedicated Hosting

Dedicated server hosting is like a bungalow.

Dedicated server hosting is like being the owner of a house. You are free to move anywhere within your property that you like. however, you will have to pay for the mortgage and bills that can be expensive.

Similarly, in a real dedicated server, you will pay for the entire server that is not shared with anyone else. You will get complete control over all services. Unfortunately, it is also the most expensive hosting option and needs some technical expertise to manage.

It is commonly used by those who have websites with specific requirements. THis can include the ability to handle high levels of web traffic or increased security requirements.

Dedicated hosting providers: A2 Hosting, Altus Host, HostPapa


VPS Host: When is the Right Time to Switch?

It's time to upgrade to VPS when…

* Note: In case you were looking for a VPS hosting – here's my list of best VPS hosting.

1. You Need More Speed

When you add more content to your website, its speed will likely slow down after some time. This is especially true for websites that rely on database-intensive operations (like WordPress!). If you notice increasingly long process times, it’s time to contemplate an upgrade in hosting type or plan.

Further, most websites will see increased traffic over time. Popular sites mean much higher traffic rates, which is fantastic for you. However, it means that your existing plans will likely not be able to manage that volume of traffic. Upgrading to VPS hosting is the next logical step for you at this point.

KnownHost speed feature
Example: Some Managed VPS hosting services come with extra speed features. KnownHost VPS (see image) users can optimize their web host with built-in LiteSpeed (+$20/mo) and LS Cache (+$6/mo) at reasonable fees.

2. Performance Degrades

Continuously getting 503-server errors most probably means that your website services are not being made available to your visitors and customers in a timely manner. This is often caused by a lack of resources such as memory. If it happens frequently, your site visitors may stop coming, so again,  it may be time to move to VPS hosting.

Hostpapa vps features
Example:  VPS hosting users get dedicated server resources for their websites. HostPapa VPS Hosting (see image), HostPapa VPS Plus users are guaranteed with 1.5 GB RAM and 4 core CPU.

3. Increased Security Concerns

If you’ve become unlucky enough to have gotten onto a server which is facing multiple attacks against another site hosted there, things can get tough. Under this scenario, you’ll have to rely on the good graces of your host to manage the situation; or alternatively, switch to VPS hosting and avoid the situation altogether.

A2 Hosting security features in VPS plan
Example: A2 Managed VPS Hosting offers proactive protection (features include KernelCare, DDoS protection, dual hosting firewall, routine virus scanning) against malicious hackers and security threats.

4. Special Operating System Needs

With full root access (that usually comes with unmanaged VPS hosting plans), you are able to install and customize any software that you need to optimize your hosting experience. This is flexibility is especially valuable when you need to install a custom OS.

interserver vps operating system
Example: InterServer Managed VPS Hosting offers 16 operating system options; including Debian, CentOS, Ubuntu, Gentoo, Open Wall, Fedora, and Slackware.

Free VPS Hosting: Where to Find Them?

Here are some free VPS hosting we found online.

Free VPS ProvidersStorageMemoryCredit Card?Support?
Ohosti25 GB512 MB
InstaFree5 GB256 MB

Searching for free VPS hosting may not be as elusive as the dodo bird, but you might be disappointed at what you find. Most free VPS are simply not as powerful and robust as paid ones.

Security is usually a major issue when you are using a free platform. Imagine hosting your sites alongside with spammy / outdated / unmanaged sites – you never know when these neighbors are going to cause troubles (even though you are on VPS).

So are customer support and performance. You can't ask for high level support and topnotch server performance when you are not paying any amount of money, right?

The bottomline is that hardware, software, and bandwidth all costs money. If service providers are giving you all of this for free, they have to earn money from somewhere else – most likely from your data.

But then again, these VPS plans are FREE. They fit the needs of certain web owners – especially for users who are developing a web application or users who want a taste of VPS hosting before going for the paid options.


VPS Hosting Frequent Asked Questions

How do I get started with VPS Hosting?

Most good VPS web hosts will offer comprehensive knowledge base articles on how to manage your VPS host. This should be your first stop in familiarizing yourself with the environment if you're new to the VPS environment.

What is cloud computing?

Cloud computing is where the resources of several networked computers are pooled together. This gives far more potential in terms of scalability than many other types of web hosting.

What is VPS hosting used for?

VPS hosting is typically for websites that need to handle larger amounts of traffic. In these cases, the host would be able to guarantee resource availability and increased security.

Here are a few tips on picking the right VPS hosting.

How much is VPS hosting?

VPS hosting will typically cost more than shared hosting but less than a dedicated server. Prices are usually set depending on the amount of resources required and other features such as managed accounts, ranging from as little as $6 to as much as a few hundred dollars per month.

Check out the popular VPS hosting provides and their notable VPS features.

Which VPS hosting is the best?

There are many reputable web hosting companies offering solid VPS plans. Some of these include InMotion Hosting, A2 Hosting, InterServer, and SiteGround.

Managed vs Unmanaged VPS Hosting

If you’ve ever used a computer on your own (yes, this might sound strange, but there’s a reason for it) then you’ll probably know what it’s like to use unmanaged VPS hosting. In both situations, you’re responsible for the setup and maintenance of all applications which run on the system.

Unmanaged VPS:-
With an Unmanaged VPS, your hosting provider has only two responsibilities – making sure your VPS is running and that it’s connected to the network. As you can imagine, this may take a little technical expertise on your part to handle.

Managed VPS:-
In a Managed VPS environment, you can sit back, relax and let your host know whatever you’d like done. There are no security issues to be concerned about, not function-specific tasks you’ll need to handle. Your host will manage everything for you and resolve any issues that crop up.

VPN vs VPS: What’s the Difference?

To be honest, there is not much of a similarity.

What is a VPN?
A VPN is a private network (ie. ExpressVPN and NordVPN) which most people use to keep secure and private on the Internet.

What is a VPS?
A VPS on the other hand is a virtual server you can use like a dedicated server to host your website or manage other web-related tasks, such as setting up Cloud Storage, hosting email or such. The two are similar in acronym only.

Here comes the but – I include this segment because you can use a VPN to connect to a VPS server and manage it. The VPN will keep your connection private and untraceable, so you can sign in to the VPS without anybody knowing otherwise.

More importantly, when using a VPN connection, any data which is sent to and from your device is all encrypted. This means that if you’re sending sensitive information like passwords, using a VPN service is recommended.

Some good VPN providers offer fixed IP addresses and that gives many users another advantage since almost all ISPs make use of dynamic IPs for most customers. By using a VPN with a fixed IP, you can choose to only whitelist your IP to allow it to connect to your VPS. This increases security by a very high degree.


The Bottom Line

The average VPS is more expensive than shared hosting, but this is not always true. Because of the scalability that VPS accounts offer, prices can vary a lot. When considering whether you need to move to a VPS host, I would rather you focus on whether you’re able to manage a VPS account.

There are some that come managed, but the level of technical knowledge needed is different from regular shared hosting. It’s not insurmountable but wouldn’t your efforts be better expended on managing your key asset – your website? Do you want to spend the extra time learning to manage your VPS account instead?

The flip side is scalability. Once you’ve gotten the hang of it, users of VPS hosting have an easier time in two ways: A) It’s easier to scale up and there are multiple tranches, so your cost of running a website increase slowly and B) it’ll give you a technical edge when your site has grown so large you need to move to a dedicated server.

Relevant Resources

We have also published a number of actionable guide and helpful hosting reviews for those who are searching for a web host.