WebHostFace Review

Reviewed by: Jerry Low . .
  • Review Updated: Oct 24, 2018
WebHostFace Review
Plan in review: Face Extra
Reviewed by:
Rating:
Review Last Updated: October 24, 2018
Summary
WebHostFace is incredibly cheap at signup (the cheapest plan costs only $0.69/mo at signup) - but you wouldn't know that by only looking on its server performance or features list. We think WebHostFace is reliable and best for those who are looking for a budget host.

Established by Valentin Sharlanov just a couple of years ago, WebHostFace has already managed to establish a decent reputation in the hosting world.

“Before WebHostFace, I worked on numerous websites of my own,” said Sharlanov. Aside from his web design work, he also has some experience in e-commerce projects. He gained experience in web hosting by working as part of a team for a big web hosting company.

“These two occupations pretty much determined my career as I gained experience on both sides. That helped me immensely in developing my skills and deepening my knowledge,” he added.

My experience with WebHostFace Hosting

In case you are unaware – we interviewed WebHostFace boss, Valentin Sharlanov, twice on the WHSR Blog (here and here) and have been tracking its hosting service (under Face Extra Plan) since April 2016.

Today WebHostFace has data centers in 4 different locations and ample offerings at the time of this writing.

In this review, we will dive in to see if WebHostFace lives up to what it says it offers.

About WebHostFace Hosting

  • Headquarter: Delaware, US
  • Established: 2013
  • Services: Shared, VPS, dedicated, managed WordPress hosting

 


 

What’s in this WebHostFace review

WebHostFace Plans & Pricing

Compare WebHostFace Price

Verdict & Others Quick Facts

 


 

Pros of WebHostFace

1- Extremely cheap signup price

WebHostFace is one of our best cheap hosting picks and offers the lowest signup price compare to others.

Shared hosting plans cost $0.69, $1.09, and $1.99 per month on sign up – you save up to 90%.

Unreal! $1.09/mo hosting with SSH access and daily backup.

Compare WebHostFace Price with other similar budget hosting plans 

Web Hosts Sign Up* Review
WebHostFace $1.09/mo
A2 Hosting $4.90/mo Review
Arvixe $4.00/mo Review
BlueHost $3.95/mo Review
Hostinger $3.49/mo Review
GoDaddy $4.99/mo Review
HostMetro $2.45/mo Review
HostGator $10.36/mo Review
iPage $1.99/mo Review
InMotion Hosting $2.95/mo Review
IX Web Hosting $3.95/mo Review

 

* All hosting prices based on plans similar to WebHostFace’s offer, 2-year subscription and exclusive discount prices at WHSR.

 

 

Back to top


 

2- Choice of server locations in three continents

WebHostFace has a number of data centers located across the globe.

You can select where to host your website between three continents: United States, Europe, or Asia.

Location of WebHostFace data centers in three continents.

 

Back to top


 

3- WebHostFace hosting uptime above 99.9%

WebHostFace servers are reliable – my dummy site (which I shifted over since April 2016) scores above 99.95% uptime constantly.  It’s no surprise to see that WebHostFace is guaranteeing users’ satisfaction formally.

WebHostFace uptime (Apr/May 2018): 99.98%

Test site hosted at WebHostFace only went down once for one minute in past 30 days.

Old server uptime record

* Click images to enlarge.

Test site hosted at WebHostFace scored 99.99% uptime (June, 2017). Site has gone down once (for 4 minutes) on May 31st, 2017.
Uptime score for the last 30 days: 99.64% (March 2017).

webhostface uptime 072016
WebHostFace uptime scores for the past 30 days (July 12th, 2016): 99.94%. Test site scored 100% uptime for the past 7 days.
Test site uptime scores - no downtime for the past 30 days.
Test site uptime scores 100%. No downtime for the past 30 days (June 13th, 2016).

 

Back to top


 

4- Hosting performance backed by SLA

WebHostFace Service Level Agreement (SLA)

WebHostFace service is backed by SLA. If WebHostFace is unable to meet this service level, you will be eligible to receive a credit to apply to future service billing cycles

14.1 WebHostFace will use commercially reasonable efforts to make our services available with 99.9% network uptime of the time during each monthly billing cycle. If WebHostFace is unable to meet this service level, you will be eligible to receive a credit to apply to future service billing cycles based upon the Unavailability for that month.

14.2 For the purposes of this agreement, Unavailability means that either (a) the hosting service is unresponsive, or (b) hosting service returns a server error response to valid user requests for more than 60 seconds of consecutive requests.

Source: https://www.webhostface.com/terms-of-service

 

Back to top


 

5- Built-in DDoS mitigation and brute force detection

WebHostFace offers top of the line security for their servers. Some of the security features included are built-in DDoS mitigation and the ability to detect any brute force hacking.

Add to that a multi-levelled protection that ranges from the administration (security access control, log capturing and correlation, etc.) to the server (password security policies, managed OS patches, etc.), this makes WebHostFace one of the most secure hosting providers around.

 

Back to top


 

 6- Free RV Site Builder and R1Soft Backup

Another great feature that WebHostFace offers is the free RV Site Builder for those who signed up with their shared hosting plans and free R1Soft Backup for the WordPress hosting plans.

Both are great tools to have and use. RV Site Builder lets you create amazing looking websites, even if you’re a newbie, and R1Soft Backup is one of the most reliable site backup tool today.

Examples of sites you can build with RV Site Builder.

RVSiteBuilder website examples.

Back to top


 

 7- Good customer support

WebHostFace Video Tutorial

WebHostFace provides helpful video guides relating to all kinds of hosting areas – from account to cPanel assistance, from  application information.

Tons of helpful video tutorials at WebHostFace.

Excellent live chat customer support

I did a case study in July 2017 to compare hosting companies’ live chat support. WebHostFace is one of the few that charge less than $5/mo and performed well in the study.

Screenshots of my live chat record at WebHostFace. My chat requests were answered within seconds, and my questions were answered professionally. The overall experience with the web host support staff was excellent.

Back to top


 

8- WebHostFace VPS, Dedicated and Managed WordPress plan

There is plenty of room to grow at WebHostFace. This is great news if you plan to build a bigger website in the future but wish to save costs on hosting now – just stick with the shared hosting plans to start with and upgrade later.

Dedicated hosting plans at WebHostFace

 

Back to top


 

9- A hosting company with real faces

Just as the name suggests, this is a hosting company with a face. They reveal the people behind the company.

It’s a smart business strategy and makes you feel like you are working with people you know instead of a nameless company. Plus, I’ve deal with Valentin Sharlanov a number of times in the past and I know him to be both knowledgeable as well as helpful. That gave me a lot of confidence in using this company, and he didn’t let me down.

Faces of WebHostFace
Faces of WebHostFace

 

Back to top


 

Cons of WebHostFace

1- Mixed results on server speed test

WebHostFace Site Speed Tests at Bitcatcha

Speed testing my dummy site hosted on WebHostFace – server scored “C” when compared with other results at Bitcatcha. This is a revised result from the original A grade (see speed test #2 below) it received when first tested.

Test #1: Feb 2018

Speed testing my dummy site hosted on WebHostFace – server scored “A” when compared with other results at Bitcatcha.

Speed testing my dummy site hosted on WebHostFace - server scored "A" when compared with other results at Bitcatcha.
Test #2: June 2016

WebHostFace Speed Tests at WebPageTest

When it came to WebPageTest, results came back better.

Test from Chicago, U.S.; time-to-first-byte (TTFB) 220ms.

 

Test #1: Chicago server, Feb 2018

Test from Singapore, TTFB 2,400ms. My guess – time to first byte due to latency delay (test site is hosted in U.S. data center) – which explains why test at Bitcacha returned a “C”.

Test #2: Singapore Server, Feb 2018

 

Back to top


 

2- Price increase on renewal

Like many other budget hosting providers, WebHostFace prices increase during renewal.

As the signup discount you get with WebHostFace is huge (90%), the price hike when your first term ended is quite high too. Face Extra will cost you $10.90/mo during renewal.

Features Face Standard Face Extra Face Ultima
Signup Price $0.69/mo $1.09/mo $1.99/mo
Renewal Price $6.90/mo $10.90/mo $19.90/mo

 

 

Back to top


WebHostFace Plan and Pricing

Shared hosting plans

WebHostFace offers Three different shared hosting plans – Face Standard, Face Extra, and Face Ultima. These plans range from $6.90 up to $19.90 a month (regular price); 15 GB to 30 GB of web space, and come with free domain name and Let’s Encrypt SSL.

Features Face Standard Face Extra Face Ultima
SSD Storage 15 GB 20 GB 30 GB
Data Transfer Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Website Hosted 1 Unlimited Unlimited
Free Website Transfer 1 3 5
Choose Server Location
SSH Access
Addon Domains
RV Site Builder
24/7 Support
Premium Support
Signup Price $0.69/mo $1.09/mo $1.99/mo

 

 

 

Back to top


 

Managed WordPress hosting plans

Web Host Face released two brand-new Managed WordPress Plans – WP Artists and WP Master, in February 2017.

WebHostFace Managed WP Hosting is the only WordPress hosting plan (so far) that offers a personal WP assistant where you can ask for help on things such as SEO or security configuration.

Each plan comes with a Personal WP assistant, who provides guides in all things WordPress – from speed optimizations to security and SEO. In a glance:

Features WP Artists WP Masters
WordPress Sites 3 5
SSD Storage 20 GB 50 GB
Traffic Capacity ~150,000 visits/mo ~300,000 visits/mo
WP Development Guide* 1 hour /mo 2.5 hour /mo
NGINX, PHP7, Free CDN
R1Soft Daily Backup
Personalized SEO Audit*
Signup Price $19.95/mo $36.95/mo

 

 

Back to top


 

VPS hosting plans

WebHostFace comes with four VPS plans with 20, 40, 80, or 120 GB of space and they range from $9.95 a month all the way up to $79.95 a month.

Features Face VPS 1 Face VPS 2 Face VPS 3 Face VPS 4
SSD Storage 20 GB 40 GB 80 GB 120 GB
RAM 1 GB 2 GB 4 GB 8 GB
Data Transfer 1 TB 2 TB 3 TB 4 TB
CPU Core 1 2 4 6
Free Domain & Private SSL
Free Dedicated IP 1 1 1 1
Signup Price $9.95/mo $19.95/mo $39.95/mo $79.95/mo

 

 

 

Back to top


 

Compare WebHostFace Price

Let’s take closer look and compare WebHostFace’s shared hosting prices with other popular shared hosting providers.

Web Hosts Sign Up* Renewal* Trial Our Ratings
WebHostFace $1.09/mo $10.90/mo 30 days
A2 Hosting $4.90/mo $10.99/mo 30 days Review
Arvixe $4.00/mo $14.95/mo 60 days Review
BlueHost $3.95/mo $6.99/mo 30 days Review
eHost $2.75/mo $7.98/mo 45 days Review
GoDaddy $4.99/mo $6.99/mo 45 days Review
HostMetro $2.45/mo $2.45/mo 30 days Review
HostGator $10.36/mo $12.95/mo 45 days Review
Hostinger $3.49/mo $8.84/mo 30 days Review
iPage $1.99/mo $9.99/mo 30 days Review
InMotion Hosting $2.95/mo $6.99/mo 0 days Review

 

* All hosting prices based on plans similar to WebHostFace’s offer, 2-year subscription, and exclusive discount prices at WHSR.

 

Back to top


 

Important things to know about WebHostFace

1- Personal WP assistant in Managed WP plan

WebHostFace is so far the only managed WordPress hosting company that offers users a personal WP assistant to rely on. Their trained WordPress experts will help users with their site SEO as well as performance and security configuration.

More: WebHostFace.com/managed-wordpress-hosting/

Notable features in WebHostFace Managed WordPress Hosting plans.

 


 2- No Adult / Pay Day Loan Sites

Note that WebHostFace doesn’t allow adult content and pay day loan sites (including pay day loan affiliate sites). If you’re hosting these sites, you will have to go over to some other host.

Other than that slight hiccup, WebHostFace is a good option for hosting.

* Click image to enlarge.

Screenshot of WebHostFace’s ToS.

Back to top


 

Verdict: Is WebHostFace A Go?

Quick recap

Here’s what we have learned about WebHostFace in this review.

The mainstream has yet to discover WebHostFace, making this an amazing hidden gem.

Of course, I’m not the only person who knows about this hosting site. Just look at the customer feedback on forums and you will see that there are lots of happy customers who are more than willing to talk about how great WebHostFace is. Because of that, don’t be surprised if it ends up growing by leaps and bounds.

WebHostFace is best for individual bloggers/site owners who are looking for a budget web host.

WebHostFace is recommended for

  • Individual bloggers/site owners who are looking for a budget web host

Alternative to WebHostFace

If you think WebHostFace is not for you, here are other similar hosting providers to look into.

 


 

Order WebHostFace Now

For more details or to order WebHostFace, visit: WebHostFace.com

 

 

 

(P/S: The links pointing to WebHostFace in this page are affiliate links. If you purchase via this link, it will credit me as your referrer. This is how I keep this site alive for almost 8 years and able to add more free, helpful hosting reviews. Buying via my link doesn’t cost you more – in fact, you will get extra discount from our link. Your support is highly appreciated, thank you! )