JustHost Review

Reviewed by: Jerry Low . .
  • Review Updated: Oct 18, 2018
JustHost Review
Plan in review: Plus
Reviewed by:
Rating:
Review Last Updated: October 18, 2018
Summary
The best thing about JustHost is their cheap price tag - they are one of the cheapest in market. Dave, exiting JustHost user, thinks the host deserved a 5 star today but we are not 100% sure about that.

JustHost is a web hosting company which has been around for some time. The company is founded by Chris Philip – the same guy who also founded Dot 5 Hosting (sold), Just Develop It (a web development company) as well as cloud storage company Just Cloud.

Back in 2009/2010, JustHost was one of the fastest growing hosting companies; it was one of the first which introduced an Anytime Money-back Guarantee; and the one-and-only web host with free MySpace ad credits ($50).

The company was sold to a bigger company named Endurance International Group (EIG) in 2010/11 for an unknown figure.

The hosting deals at JustHost are now different and have been updated accordingly in this article. I believe the people as well as culture behind the company are very different today.

About Endurance

Just in case you have no idea who the heck EIG is – they are probably the biggest player in today’s web hosting industry. It was first founded as a web hosting company in 1996 and is headquartered in Burlington, Massachusetts. To date, the company has took over dozens of popular web hosting brands, including iPage, BlueHost, Hostgator, etc; and has turned into a very large hosting conglomerate.

Today, EIG is listed on NASDAQ and valued at almost $1.3 billion.

(Quick Link) Review JustHost Hosting in:

JustHost Server Performance

Our experience & thoughts:

Average hosting uptime above 99.9%

Rated A at Bitcatcha Speed Test

Single data centre located in Chicago, Illinois

TTFB rates above 2,000ms

JustHost Hosting Uptime

Uptime tracking was performed on a random user’s site (Dave, read his story below).

We started tracking Dave’s site in May 2015 and the following are some results we have recorded.

JustHost uptime record (Feb 2018): 100%
justhost - 201604
JustHost uptime score (Mar 2016): 100%.
JustHost September Uptime Record
JustHost uptime score (Sep 2015): 100%. The last outage was recorded in August 27th, 2015, site went down for 2 minutes.

JustHost Speed Tests at Bitcatcha

Tests last updated 26th February 2018

Test site’s esponse time to United States server was quick.

JustHost Speed Tests at Webpage Test

Despite showing decent performance in ratings on BitCatcha, JustHost consistently under-performed in one critical area of Webpage Test – Time to first Byte.

Test site #1 – JustHost Plus Plan, test from Singapore

Rated “F” in TTFB of webpage performance test from Singapore.

Test site #2 – JustHost Plus Plan, test from Chicago

Rated “F” in TTFB of webpage performance test from Chicago.

 

Back to top


 

JustHost Customer Care

Our Experience & Thoughts:

Anytime money back guarantee

 Basic knowledge base for DIY help

Has video help tutorials

Does not host a support forum

Iffy live chat support

No Service Level Agreement (SLA)

Unlimited hosting limited by various server limitation

 

On JustHost Unlimited Hosting

I suppose you understand the real meaning of unlimited hosting, do you? This is written clearly in JustHost’s TOS (User Agreement #7 Usage Polices and Definition), read underlined text.

#7) 1d. Unlimited Hosting Space; excessive MySQL files

[…] Accounts with a large number of files (inode count in excess of 200,000) can have an adverse affect on server performance. Similarly, accounts with an excessive number of MySQL/PostgreSQL tables (i.e., in excess of 1000 database tables) or of database size (i.e., in excess of 3GB total MySQL/PostgreSQL usage or 2GB MySQL/PostgreSQL usage in a single database) negatively affect the performance of the server. Just Host may request that the number of files/inodes, database tables, or total database usage be reduced to ensure proper performance or may terminate the Subscriber’s account, with or without notice.

JustHost Server Limitation

To further on my point that all unlimited hosting is in fact limited, the following table is published in JustHost TOS.

Note that JustHost limit users’ server usage by limiting file count (inodes) and database tables. The number of allowed inodes for Starter and Plus Plan is actually slightly below industry standard (not too bad, but most hosts allow up to 100,000 inodes for a ~$5/mo host).

Starter Plus Pro
Free Domain 1 Year 1 Year For Life
Email Accounts 100 Unlimited Unlimited
File Count (inodes) 50,000 50,000 30,000
MySQL Database 20 Unlimited Unlimited
Database Tables 1,000 1,000 3,000

 

On the side note, it seems that Pro Plan is a pretty good deal – provided that you are signing up on the promo price of $9.95/mo (news at $22.99/mo). Quoting words from the same TOS page –

The Pro Package has 80% less accounts per server which allows the use of more resources per account (more CPU usage, disk usage, bandwidth). It offers more speed, more power, with less users. More CPU, memory and resources For $24.99 / month (Saves you over $225 per year over the cost of buying these features separately!)

JustHost Anytime Money Back Guarantee

JustHost offers an Anytime Money Back Guarantee with all its hosting plans.

The cancellation policy is very simple according to the officials – if you cancel your hosting account, JustHost will provide you with a refund for the remainder of the term. The refund will exclude any setup fees that were charged when you signed up and any domain registration fees that you paid. But you do get to keep your domain name.

After digging further into JustHost TOS, it seems that JustHost actually allow a full refund (including the domain fees!) if you cancel your new account within the first 3 days –

*If you cancel within 3 days and you purchased a .com, .net, .biz, .info, .org, and .us domain, you will receive a full refund.

Also the domain registration will be released. Domain names can only be cancelled and refunded within 3 days. Domain registrations for UK domains such as .co.uk and .org.uk cannot be cancelled.

JustHost live chat experience

Calling the service a live chat is a little iffy in my point of view. After filling in some basic information a pop-up chat screen appeared.

However, I’m pretty sure they were using a chatbot, and not a very good one either. User experience was extremely poor, given that responses took AGES to come back. At times it took so long that I thought it was an email system instead. Eventually, I simply gave up.

Click here to start live chat support.

 

JustHost Video Tutorials

Although there are video tutorials, the interface doesn’t really bring to mind anything really visual. Also, there are a grand total of 17 videos, that’s it.

Just 17 tutorial videos at JustHost.

Back to top


 

JustHost Shared / VPS Hosting Features

Today JustHost offers both shared and VPS hosting services. Let’s take a look at each.

JustHost Shared Hosting

JustHost offers three shared-hosting plans; namely Basic, Plus, and Prime.

The Basic Plan starts at $3.95/mo where it is only good for one website that goes not more than 50 GB of storage and 5 email accounts.

In contrast, both the Plus Plan ($6.95/mo) and the Prime Plan ($6.95/mo) offer bigger capacity and allow users to host more websites – 10 for Plus and unlimited for Prime. You also get 100 email accounts for Plus and unlimited emails for Prime, although Plus limits each email account size to 500MB. (*Note – Prime renews at $14.99/mo while Plus renews at $10.99/mo)

What differentiates the two is that the Prime Plan comes with more perks, including domain privacy protection, $200 value in marketing coupons/vouchers, plus almost unlimited resources in all areas.

There is also what Just Host calls Go Pro for $14.99/mo, which one-ups Prime with   a Dedicated IP address and SSL Certificate.

JustHost VPS Hosting

JustHost VPS Hosting choices - Standard, Enhanced, Premium, and Ultimate.
JustHost VPS Hosting choices – Standard, Enhanced, Premium, and Ultimate.

JustHost VPS Hosting choices – Standard, Enhanced, Premium, and Ultimate.

JustHost VPS hosting plans are divided into four different offerings:

  • Standard: $14.99/mo; single core server, 2 GB of RAM, 30 GB of storage, 1 TB/month, and 1 IP.
  • Enhanced: $29.99/mo; dual core server, 4 GB of RAM, 60 GB of storage, 2 TB/month, and 2 IPs.
  • Premium: $44.99/mo; dual core server, 4 GB of RAM, 60 GB of storage, 2 TB/month, and 2 IPs.
  • Ultimate: $59.99/mo; quad core server, 8 GB of RAM, 240 GB of storage, 4 TB/month, and 2 IPs.

All VPS hosting plans include a free domain name, cPanel control, and root access. As usual with all EIG hosting brands, prices listed above are for first term only, renewal will come at higher rates  – $24.99/49.99/74.99/99.99 monthly for Standard/Enhanced/Premium/Ultimate.

 

 

Back to top


 

JustHost User Review by Dave Scott

Jerry’s note

I had a JustHost account back in 5 or 6 years ago but have cancelled it in 2012 to cut down operation costs.

In 2015 I bumped into Dave Scott on a popular blogger job board. I was searching for bloggers who can write me unbiased reviews on several hosting brands and Dave has an existing site hosted on JustHost (Brain Wave Harmony). To give you a better view of JustHost service, I asked Dave Scott to share his experience with us. The following review (on pros & cons and bottom line) is written by Dave. 

Background on Dave and JustHost

Just over 6 years ago I was looking for a company to host the website for our new business. I looked at all the ‘big name’ companies, read all the “Top Tens” and reviews but still had a hard time deciding.

Dave’s Considering Factors

Being a new business, as well as new to building web sites, a few things were important to me;

  1. Cost, obviously – Some hosting sites were really cheap but were also really poorly put together, had poor uptime statistics and ‘nickeled and dimed’ you after the signup process. Others looked great as far as services, uptime and options, but cost way too much for what was being provided.
  2. Availability – No point in having a great site if the servers are always down.
  3. Web site builder – I know web site builders generally are pretty poor for creating a good professional looking site, but I needed a quick start and a builder that would get me up and running quickly and easily.
  4. Space – I wasn’t sure exactly how much I would eventually need but at the beginning I was looking to use the server for some pretty heavy file storage, so I didn’t want to hit a wall for available space or data transfer limits.

After several days of searching I was down to 2 or 3 choices, all pretty much offering the same services at the same price.  The deciding factor for me was the complete package;

  • One of the better website builders available at that time
  • 99+% availability statistics
  • Unlimited websites
  • Unlimited space and bandwidth

  • One free domain
  • Unlimited parked domains
  • Unlimited sub domains
  • Unlimited email accounts
  • Unlimited email storage

Why JustHost? The Goods

The costs are very reasonable for my continuing unlimited plan, no sudden rises in fees after the first year!  There have also only been 2 or 3 outages of more than a few minutes over the 6 years which is very impressive.

There are a selection of site-builders, none of them 5 star but all usable and easy to learn.  I quickly realized that a site built with these tools isn’t very good and started to use Dreamweaver, but they’re great to start with.

Yes there have been brief outages, yes there has been a billing snafu once, yes there has been a frustrating experience with a support person whose English and technical knowledge both left a great deal to be desired.  However, the outages have been brief, the billing issue sorted out very quickly and efficiently and the technical issue escalated in a very acceptable time frame to a technician with greater knowledge (of both servers AND English).

Probably the only issue I have is that I have to do manual backups.  This is something that should be included , simply for disaster recovery.  It is simple to run and download my own backups but I think it should be done by the hosting company.

  • One of the better website builders available at that time
  • 99+% availability statistics
  • Unlimited websites
  • Unlimited space and bandwidth

  • 1 free domain
  • Unlimited parked domains
  • Unlimited sub domains
  • Unlimited email accounts
  • Unlimited email storage

Why JustHost? The Goods

The costs are very reasonable for my continuing unlimited plan, no sudden rises in fees after the first year!  There have also only been 2 or 3 outages of more than a few minutes over the 6 years which is very impressive.

There are a selection of site-builders, none of them 5 star but all useable and easy to learn.  I quickly realized that a site built with these tools isn’t very good and started to use Dreamweaver, but they’re great to start with.

Yes there have been brief outages, yes there has been a billing snafu once, yes there has been a frustrating experience with a support person whose English and technical knowledge both left a great deal to be desired.  However, the outages have been brief, the billing issue sorted out very quickly and efficiently and the technical issue escalated in a very acceptable time frame to a technician with greater knowledge (of both servers AND English).

Probably the only issue I have is that I have to do manual backups.  This is something that should be included , simply for disaster recovery.  It is simple to run and download my own backups but I think it should be done by the hosting company.

Quick Glance: JustHost Pros vs Cons

To recap, here’s what Dave think of JustHost –

JustHost Pros

  • Lots of available add-ons through CPanel (including some very useable and user friendly website builders)
  • 99+% uptime availability statistics
  • Unlimited email accounts
  • Unlimited email storage
  • Generally excellent access time
  • Generally very good technical support and quick resolution of issues

JustHosts Cons

  • Have to do own backups (really the only significant one)
  • Occasional unannounced down time
  • Rare access time (server down) issues

Back to top


 

Verdict: Should You Go with JustHost?

In Dave’s opinion, JustHost rates 5 stars; (in his words) not because they are perfect but because any negatives are too insignificant to rate them down for.

As he mentioned, he has never regretted his decision to use JustHost. Dave mentioned that his website has matured and become more complex, what’s good about JustHost is that it had no problem keeping up.

From my experience, JustHost is an okay-host with a very cheap price tag. The best part about what they offer is in the price – however, this has changed slightly and they now offer about par prices compared to other cheap web hosting companies out there. However, I am unsure how JustHost would perform for large sites with lots of data or traffics (see limitation listed above).

Hosting plans similar to JustHost include: InMotion Hosting ($2.95/mo), iPage ($1.99/mo), A2 Hosting ($3.92/mo) and One.com Hosting ($0.25/mo).

 

Back to top


 

Order / Visit JustHost Online

Click: https://www.justhost.com