HostMetro評論

評論人:Jerry Low。 .
  • 評論更新:Nov 02,2020
HostMetro
計劃審查:Mega Max
評論者:Jerry Low
評分:
評論更新: 十一月 02 日(2020)
總結
儘管價格便宜,終身鎖定,但由於我最近發現的主要缺點,不建議使用HostMetro。 如果您選擇繼續使用此主機,請格外小心並經常備份您的網站。

2020年XNUMX月更新:

我在2014年初對HostMetro的總體經驗不錯,但今天不再推薦他們了。 我很感激該公司仍然允許我在6年後保留測試帳戶-但鑑於我在過去兩年中觀察到的許多缺點,因此我不會在HostMetro託管任何重要站點。 我遇到的一些主要問題包括:

  1. 缺乏實時聊天支持–嘗試數小時後無法通過實時聊天與公司中的任何人聯繫
  2. 無法從用戶儀表板訪問SSL頁面-因此無法手動安裝免費的SSL
  3. 在Host Metro知識庫/支持文檔中找不到任何有意義的幫助。

HostMetro替代品

如果您正在尋找負擔得起的託管解決方案, A2 Hosting, GreenGeeks, Hostinger, 服務器間 TMD Hosting 有一些價格相近的優秀託管公司。

 


 

關於HostMetro,公司

隨著玩家改變位置和新的進入市場,託管世界不斷發展 - HostMetro就是這種情況,這是一家位於伊利諾伊州的託管公司,成立於6月23,2012(支票 誰是記錄 這裡)。

這家基於Linux的cPanel共享託管服務提供商專門研究預算友好的託管計劃。 具體來說,HostMetro通過兩個計劃(Mega Max和Business Max)提供共享託管解決方案-以後還會有更多。 該公司在位於E. Cermak的ServerCentral之外的數據中心運營數據中心(在進行了一些挖掘工作之後就知道了)。

HostMetro託管計劃

如上所述,地鐵運營在 預算託管空間。 它只提供兩個計劃,為訂戶提供簡單的選擇,更不用說大幅折扣。

這兩個計劃都是共享主機環境計劃,包括雲技術,退款保證,大量“無限”功能,包括 無限的託管域名, 網站建設者基本郵件託管, 電子商務功能, PHP 5支持, Cron的工作, 流音頻和視頻支持Flash - 僅列出一些額外津貼。

Mega Max

Mega Max,兩個計劃中的便宜,每月只需$ 2.95。 有一些附加選項,例如每月額外$ .50的域名隱私,電子商務SSL證書(每月$ 2.50)和電子商務SiteLock安全印章(每月$ 2.50)。 此外,計劃中還包含一些電子商務特權,例如免費的商業目錄列表,SEO電子書或搜索引擎優化諮詢 - 但所有特權,而不是您的網站所需的核心功能並運行。

超級馬克斯

Business Max託管計劃的起價為每月$ 6.95,包括Mega Max計劃中的“付費額外費用”,更不用說電子商務套餐了。

這兩個計劃都帶有定期折扣 - 這些超低利率適用於三年計劃,但也有一年和兩年的期限。

 

HostMetro的優勢–您可能喜歡的功能

 續訂率鎖定保證

大多數其他預算託管組織為新訂戶提供極低的費率 - 但是,當訂戶需要續訂其託管合同時,他們被迫以更高的費率這樣做。

值得慶幸的是,HostMetro提供了一個很好的選擇 - 主機Metro用戶永遠以相同的低入門率續訂。

HostMetroWebHostingHubHostGator的BlueHostGreenGeeks
註冊價格(每月)*$ 3.45$ 3.99$ 6.26$ 4.95$ 5.90
續訂價格(每月)$ 3.45$ 8.99$ 8.95$ 6.99$ 6.95
5年度託管成本(2年註冊+ 3年續訂)$ 3.45 x 60mo = $ 207($ 3.99 x 12mo)+($ 8.99 x 48mo)=
$ 479.4
($ 6.26 x 24mo)+($ 8.95 x 36mo)=
$ 472.44
($ 4.95 x 24mo)+($ 6.99 x 36mo)=
$ 370.40
($ 5.90 x 24mo)+($ 6.95 x 36mo)=
$ 391.80
回顧WHH評論Hostgator評論BlueHost點評G.Geeks評論
*除WebHostingHub(選項N / A)外,首次註冊時所有託管價格均基於2年合約(通過WHSR的獨家優惠)。

 附加服務的巨大價值

儘管基本費率中不包含一些附加服務(特別是成本計劃最低的情況),但這些附加服務的費用卻非常低。 例如,使用HostMetro的域名隱私將每月運行$ 0.50 - 但是,GoDaddy每年收取$ 10。

 CloudLinux支持

HostMetro服務器上的每個主機帳戶都是隔離的 - 這實際上意味著如果其他用戶遇到資源高峰,您的網站性能不會受到負面影響。

 明確的服務條款

你會發現的一件事是,許多託管公司 - 特別是預算託管公司 - 的服務條款聲明充其量有點模糊。 HostMetro幸運地提供了明確的服務條款和定義的參數 - 這使您可以知道“無限制”真正擊中線的位置。 使用HostMetro,每個帳戶僅限於200,000 inode,主機帳戶的使用時間不得超過系統資源的10百分比超過90秒。 看到? 明確。

引自HostMetro的TOS(日期為8月18,2014)

HostMetro帳戶限制為200,000個inode。 如果某個帳戶的使用量超過200,000,則可能會警告該帳戶所有者有關該帳戶的使用情況,如果不採取任何措施,該帳戶可能會被暫停...

託管帳戶可能不會使用10%或更多系統資源(CPU,內存)超過90秒。 如果發現某個帳戶超過此金額,則該流程可能會被終止或帳戶被暫停,恕不另行通知。 可能導致此類問題的活動包括:FTP,PHP腳本,CTI腳本等。

缺點–重要提示

沒有主機是完美的,HostMetro也不例外 - 但是,我發現有限的垮台。

 HostMetro在前98.6天的正常運行時間= 30%

一個是關於服務器可靠性。 我的測試站點在6月初/ 7月一直無法訪問,導致整體正常運行時間測試降至98.6%。 Metro經理確實解釋說這是由於我正在測試的服務器上的配置錯誤。 引用他的話:

我們的測試帳戶所在的服務器確實存在問題,由於某種原因它只讀,因此我們的管理員必須運行文件系統檢查以確保一切都穩定。 這就是停機的原因。 然而,這不是正常發生的事情。

如果它有幫助的話,我在過去的一年中附上了我們的服務器Nagios正常運行時間報告的屏幕截圖,其中顯示的停機時間總計小於7小時。

–主持人地鐵經理Kyle Dolan。

2014年2014月更新:隨著我們進入XNUMX年的最後一個月,HostMetro糟糕的正常運行時間記錄仍在繼續。請務必查看下面的正常運行時間記錄,以獲取更多信息。

 HostMetro是相對新的

我的第二個保留意見是,在託管世界中,HostMetro非常新。 這意味著關於可靠性,性能等方面的可用數據有限,但是,較低的續訂價格在我看來有點抵消了這個問題。

HostMetro正常運行時間記錄

我們從2014年XNUMX月開始測試HostMetro。以下是從Uptime Robot捕獲的一些屏幕截圖。

HostMetro正常運行時間– 99.92%(2016年XNUMX月/ XNUMX年)

地鐵正常運行時間072016
HostMetro 2016年99.92月/ XNUMX月正常運行時間得分= XNUMX%。 與過去幾個月的結果相比,有了很大的改進。

HostMetro正常運行時間– 99.38%(2016年XNUMX月)

metro  -  201603
3月2016正常運行時間分數= 99.38%。 不好。

HostMetro正常運行時間– 99.49%(2016年XNUMX月)

hostmetro feb 2016正常運行時間
HostMetro在2016年99.49月的正常運行時間得分:XNUMX%–效果不佳,但請注意,它們非常便宜,並且不會在續訂時提高價格。

HostMetro正常運行時間– 99.61%(2015年XNUMX月)

hostmetro保持正常運行時間
2015年99.61月,HostMetro的正常運行時間得分:XNUMX%–與過去幾個月的記錄相比有很大的提高。 如果HostMetro設法跟上潮流,那麼考慮到終生的固定價格,這也許是另一個不錯的預算選擇。

HostMetro正常運行時間– 98.82%(2014年XNUMX月/ XNUMX年)

主機地鐵正常運行時間分數 -  11月 -  12月2014
主機Metro正常運行時間得分= 98.82%(3年4月2014日至XNUMX月XNUMX日)

HostMetro正常運行時間– 99.56%(2014年XNUMX月/八月)

主機Metro正常運行時間分數 - (7月12  -  8月11,2014)
主機Metro正常運行時間得分= 99.56%(12年11月2014日至XNUMX月XNUMX日)

HostMetro正常運行時間– 98.59%(2014年XNUMX月/ XNUMX年)

HostMetro正常運行時間分數(6月10  -  7月9,2014)
HostMetro正常運行時間得分= 98.59%(10年9月2014日至XNUMX月XNUMX日)

結論:不推薦

在一天結束時,HostMetro的$ 2.95 / mo(3年訂閱)對於交易獵人來說是一個巨大的優勢。

但是,HostMetro的正常運行時間記錄和缺乏支持是兩個主要問題-無論價格多麼便宜,我當然不建議託管經常中斷的服務。 鑑於價格低廉,它們可能適合您不太重要的項目; 但絕對不要在Metro上託管任何重要內容。

HostMetro替代品

A2 Hosting, GreenGeeks, Hostinger, 服務器間 TMD Hosting 有一些價格相近的優秀託管公司。

一定還要檢查我的 便宜的網頁寄存清單 如果您正在尋找負擔得起的託管解決方案。

比較HostMetro與其他Web主機

 

(P / S:指向HostMetro的鏈接是會員鏈接。如果您通過此鏈接購買或使用我的優惠券代碼“ WHSR”,HostMetro會將我記為引薦來源並向我支付佣金。這就是我如何才能使該網站持續有效超過6年,並根據實際的測試帳戶添加更多免費的託管評論。通過我的鏈接進行購買不會花費您更多的費用-實際上,我保證您會使用促銷代碼“ WHSR”以最低的價格獲得HostMetro )

關於Jerry Low

WebHostingSecretRevealed.net(WHSR)的創始人 - 100,000用戶信任和使用的託管評論。 超過15在網絡託管,聯盟營銷和SEO方面的多年經驗。 ProBlogger.net,Business.com,SocialMediaToday.com等的貢獻者。

HostMetro Review

Reviewed by: Jerry Low . .
  • Review Updated: Apr 25, 2020
HostMetro
Plan in review: Mega Max
Reviewed by:
Rating:
Review Updated: April 25, 2020
Summary
Despite the cheap, locked-for-life price tag, HostMetro is not recommended due to the major drawbacks I discovered recently. Should you choose to proceed with this host - be extra caution and backup your website frequently.

Updates March 2020:

My overall experience with HostMetro in the beginning (2014) was good but I no longer recommend them today. I am grateful that the company still allows me to keep the test account 6 years later today – but I wouldn't host any important sites with HostMetro given the many drawbacks I observed in the past 2 years. A few major issues I experienced include:

  1. Lack of live chat support – Can't reach out to anyone from the company via live chat after trying for hours
  2. Can't access SSL page from my user dashboard – hence can't install a free SSL manually
  3. Can't find any meaningful help from Host Metro knowledgebase / support documents.

HostMetro Alternatives

In case you were looking for an affordable hosting solution – A2 Hosting, GreenGeeks, Hostinger, InterServer and TMD Hosting are some good hosting companies with similar pricing.

 


 

About HostMetro, the Company

The world of hosting is continually evolving with players changing positions and new ones entering the market – such is the case with HostMetro, an Illinois-based hosting company established on June 23, 2012 (check WhoIs record here).

This Linux-based, cPanel shared hosting provider specializes in budget-friendly hosting plans. Specifically, HostMetro offers shared hosting solutions via two plans: Mega Max and Business Max – more on that to come. The company operates its data center out of ServerCentral located at 350 E. Cermak (got this after some digging work).

HostMetro Hosting Plans

As mentioned, the Metro operates in the budget hosting space. It offers just two plans which offer subscribers a simple choice, not to mention heavily discounted rates.

Both plans are shared hosting environment plans that include cloud technology, a money-back guarantee, plenty of “unlimited” features, including unlimited hosted domains, website builderbasic email hosting, e-commerce features, PHP 5 support, Cron jobs, streaming audio and video, and Flash support – to name just a few of the perks.

Mega Max

Mega Max, the cheaper of the two plans, rings in at just $2.95 per month. There are some add-on options, such as the domain privacy which is an extra $.50 each month, e-commerce SSL certificates ($2.50 per month), and e-commerce SiteLock Security Seal ($2.50 per month). Additionally, there are a handful of e-commerce perks not included with the plan, such as a free business directory listing, SEO e-book, or an SEO consultation – but all perks, not core features that you need to get your site up and running.

Super Max

The Business Max hosting plan starts at $6.95 per month and includes those “pay-for extras” from the Mega Max plan, not to mention the bundle of e-commerce goodies.

Either plan comes with term discounts – those ultra-low rates are for the three-year plan, though one and two-year terms are also available.

 

HostMetro Advantages – Features You Might Like

 Renewal Rate Lock Guarantee

Most other budget hosting organizations offer new subscribers with fantastically low rates – however, when subscribers need to renew their hosting contract, they are forced to do so at a much higher rate.

Thankfully, HostMetro offers a great alternative – Host Metro subscribers get to renew at their same low introductory rate forever.

HostMetroWebHostingHubHostgatorBlueHostGreenGeeks
Signup Price (per month)*$3.45$3.99$6.26$4.95$5.90
Renewal Price (per month)$3.45$8.99$8.95$6.99$6.95
5-Year Hosting Cost(Signup for 2 years + renewal for 3 years)$3.45 x 60mo=$207($3.99 x 12mo) + ($8.99 x 48mo)=
$479.4
($6.26 x 24mo) + ($8.95 x 36mo)=
$472.44
($4.95 x 24mo) + ($6.99 x 36mo)=
$370.40
($5.90 x 24mo) + ($6.95 x 36mo)=
$391.80
ReviewWHH ReviewHostgator ReviewBlueHost ReviewG.Geeks Review
* All hosting price based on 2-year contract (via WHSR's exclusive deals) on first signup except for WebHostingHub (option N/A).

 Great Values with Add-on Services

Even though there are a few add-on services not included in the base rate (particularly the case with the lowest cost plan), the fees for those add-ons are impressively low. For example, domain privacy with HostMetro will run you $0.50 per month – however, GoDaddy charges $10 per year.

 CloudLinux Supported

Each hosting account on HostMetro’s server is isolated – which really means that if another user encounters a resource spike, your site’s performance won’t be negatively affected.

 Clear Terms of Service

One thing that you’ll find consistently is that many hosting companies – especially budget hosting companies – have terms of service statements that are a bit vague at best. HostMetro blessedly provides a clear terms of service with defined parameters – which allows you to know where that “unlimited” really hits the line. With HostMetro, each account is limited to 200,000 inodes and hosting accounts may not use more than 10 percent of the system resources for longer than 90 seconds. See? Clear.

Quoted from HostMetro's TOS (dated August 18, 2014)

HostMetro accounts are limited to 200,000 inodes. In the event that an account is using over 200,000, the account owner may be warned about the account usage, and if no action is taken the account may be suspended…

Hosting accounts may not use 10% or more of system resources (CPU, memory) for longer than 90 seconds. If an account is found to exceed this amount the process may be killed or account suspended without notice. Activities that may cause such issues include: FTP, PHP scripts, CTI scripts, etc.

Disadvantages – Important to Know

No host is perfect and HostMetro is no exception – however, I have found limited downfalls.

 HostMetro Uptime = 98.6% on First 30 Days

One is with regard to server reliability. My test site was constantly unreachable in early June/July, causing the overall uptime test to drop to 98.6%. The Metro manager did explain that this was due to a configuration error on the server I am testing. Quoting his words:

We did have an issue with the server your test account is on, for some reason it went read-only so our admins had to run a file systems check to make sure everything was stable. That is the reason for the downtime. It isn't something that happens normally, however.

If it helps at all I have attached a screenshot of our Nagios uptime report for the server over the past year, which shows a downtime of less than 7 hours in total.

– Host Metro manager, Kyle Dolan.

Update Dec 2014: HostMetro's bad uptime record continues as we move into the last month of 2014. Be sure to check our uptime records below for more info.

 HostMetro is Relative New

My second reservation is that, in the hosting world, HostMetro is very new. This means that there is limited data available as to reliability, performance, etc., –however, the low renewal pricing offsets this issue somewhat in my mind.

HostMetro Uptime Records

We started testing HostMetro since June 2014. The following are some screenshots captured from Uptime Robot.

HostMetro Uptime – 99.92% (Jun/Jul 2016)

metro uptime 072016
HostMetro June/July 2016 uptime scores = 99.92%. Huge improvement compared to results in the past few months.

HostMetro Uptime – 99.38% (Mar 2016)

metro - 201603
March 2016 uptime scores = 99.38%. Not good.

HostMetro Uptime – 99.49% (Feb 2016)

hostmetro feb 2016 uptime
HostMetro uptime score for February 2016: 99.49% – result is not good but do note that they are extremely cheap and do not jack up price at renewal.

HostMetro Uptime – 99.61% (Sep 2015)

hostmetro sept uptime
HostMetro uptime score for September 2015: 99.61% – huge improvement from the past few months record. If HostMetro manage to keep up then perhaps it's another good budget choice – given low life-time locked-in price.

HostMetro Uptime – 98.82% (Nov/Dec 2014)

Host Metro Uptime Score - Nov - Dec 2014
Host Metro Uptime Score = 98.82% (November 3 – December 4, 2014)

HostMetro Uptime – 99.56% (Jul/Aug 2014)

Host Metro Uptime Score - (July 12 - August 11, 2014)
Host Metro Uptime Score = 99.56% (July 12 – August 11, 2014)

HostMetro Uptime – 98.59% (Jun/Jul 2014)

HostMetro Uptime Score (June 10 - July 9, 2014)
HostMetro Uptime Score = 98.59% (June 10 – July 9, 2014)

Conclusion: Not Recommended

At the end of the day, HostMetro's $2.95/mo (for 3-year subscription) is a huge plus for deals hunters.

However, HostMetro's uptime record and lack of support are two major concerns – no matter how cheap they are, I certainly do not recommend hosting services that go down frequently. Given the low price tag, they may be right for your not-so-important project; but definitely don't host anything important with the Metro.

HostMetro Alternatives

A2 Hosting, GreenGeeks, Hostinger, InterServer and TMD Hosting are some good hosting companies with similar pricing.

Be sure to also check out my cheap web hosting list in case you were looking for an affordable hosting solution.

Compare HostMetro with Other Web Hosts

 

(P/S: The links pointing to HostMetro are affiliate links. If you purchase via this link or use my coupon code “WHSR”, HostMetro will credit me as referrer and pay me commission. This is how I keep this site alive for more than 6 years and add more free hosting reviews based on actual test account. Making a purchase via my link doesn’t cost you more – in fact, I guarantee that you’ll get the lowest possible price for HostMetro using promo code “WHSR”. )

About Jerry Low

Founder of WebHostingSecretRevealed.net (WHSR) - a hosting review trusted and used by 100,000's users. More than 15 years experience in web hosting, affiliate marketing, and SEO. Contributor to ProBlogger.net, Business.com, SocialMediaToday.com, and more.