InMotion Hosting Review

Founded 2001, InMotion Hosting is a reputable web host company that provides premium hosting service at an affordable price. Should you host your site at InMotion Hosting? Learn more and get exclusive discount in our InMotion review.

InMotion Hosting

URL:
http://www.inmotionhosting.com
Services:
Shared, VPS, Dedicated Hosting
Price:
$3.49/mo*

Reviewed by:
Rating:
5
On June 26, 2013 . Updated: May 10, 2016


Summary

Based in both California and Virginia founded in 2001, InMotion Hosting is a top-class hosting company that have my full respect. For those who don't mind paying a little extra on renewal fees, this web host is highly recommended. Do read this review or visit InMotion online for more.

Based in both California and Virginia, InMotion Hosting has been around for more than a decade (established in year 2001).

InMotion Hosting offers a wide range of web hosting services (shared/vps/dedicated) in dozen of different packages. The company is best known with its superior customer service (the company is BBB Accredited since 23/6/2003 and scores A+ with BBB Busines Review at time of writing) and is rated as one of the top hosting providers by many well-known hosting review sites. As such, experienced webmasters/bloggers normally regard InMotion as the web host for businesses and corporate users – you know, people who do not mind paying a little extra for better reliability and after-sales supports.

Tested and Tracked since 2009

In 2009, I got a free Launch account from InMotion Hosting for review purpose. I got hooked instantly and became a loyal customer – today, I pay InMotion Hosting about $1,000 every year to run all my important sites. I am not saying this because InMotion gave me a free account; I am saying this because InMotion is really outstanding in many ways. Read on to find out more.

InMotion Hosting Special Discount

Before we dive into other details, let’s talk about some special discount I’ve got from InMotion management. Yes – special discount. Note that not all InMotion Hosting prices are the same and I can give you the best deal with InMotion Hosting.

How this InMotion Promotion Works

For InMotion’s Business Class Hosting, the original price is $7.99/9.99/15.99 per month for Launch, Power, and Pro Plan respectively. If you order via my special promotion link – a special rate I got from the inside – you’ll get to save up to 56% – after discount price at $3.49/4.49/13.99 per month.

InMotion Hosting Discount – Upto 56% Price Cut *

No coupon or promo code needed, up to 56% price discount on InMotion Business Class Hosting. 


To order InMotion Hosting at this discounted price, click this promo link (opens in new window).

Update: InMotion Hosting Replaced Hostgator As My Top 5 Web Hosting Pick, Why?

In case you are not familiar with me and WHSR, I am a big fan of Hostgator (read my Hostgator review here) for years. And yet, InMotion displaced Hostgator and was selected as my top 5 in early 2013.

Why? Quick answer: Price.

Don’t get me wrong, Hostgator is still one of my favourite web hosts (and easily one of my Top 10).

However, with the latest special rate I got from InMotion Hosting management, the web host now stands out as the slightly better deal. Both InMotion Hosting and Hostgator come with more or less the same features and hosting services – shared hosting to VPS and dedicated hosting plans. Hostgator is better than InMotion in term of MySQL databases and addon domain capacity; InMotion Hosting, on the other hand, comes with couple of valuable addon features including thousands of SPAM Safe email accounts and Max Speed Zone (more about this later).

Hostgator vs. InMotion Hosting (Pricing Comparison)

Hence, the small price difference turned out to be the deciding factor between the two.

InMotion HostingPriceSimilar Plan @ HostgatorPrice
Launch$3.49/moHatchling$4.76/mo
Power$4.49/moBaby$7.16/mo
Pro$13.99/moBusiness$11.16/mo

* All prices listed are based on 24 months subscription and  my exclusive deals with the hosting companies. For InMotion Hosting discount, order via this promo link; for Hostgator, use promo code “WHSR25DISCOUNT”.

visit inmotion

My Experience with InMotion Hosting

I personally pay InMotion Hosting roughly $1,000/year to host my sites – Do I need to say more?

This site, for example, is hosted on InMotion VPS Hosting (VPS-2000) – you can verify this by searching my WhoIs info. My experience with InMotion Hosting, in short, is nothing but pleasure. If you are searching for a worry-free hosting service, all I can say is ‘go with InMotion’.

However, there are three things I need to clarify before we end this review.

One, “Jerry, Which InMotion Hosting Plan Should You Go With?”

I often get this question from my readers.

Shoppers often get confused and undecided when they see the number of choices with InMotion Hosting. In case you are one of them, here’s my advice.

First, you have to choose between InMotion’s Business Class (which is a shared hosting), VPS, and dedicated hosting plans. If you need server root access or special security features or custom software, then VPS or Dedicated Hosting Plans are your options; else, (very) high chance that you would be alright with the lowest end package – Business Class Hosting.

InMotion has three different packages with Business Class Hosting – Launch, Power, and Pro. The main differences between these three packages are the limits on addon domains and mySQL databases. you can run on. Launch, Power and Pro supports 2/6/25 addon domain, 6/26/unlimited parked domain, and 2/50/200 MySQL databses respectively. So if you are starting with one domain, then just go with Launch (remember, you can always upgrade your plan at later stage); if you are running with 3 or more different domains, then go with Power or Pro – Simple as that.

Again, bear in mind that you can always upgrade your hosting plan at InM otion whenever you need it. So it’d be wise to start small and signup on the lower plan first.

Two, Launch Plan Does Come With e-Commerce Software Support.

inmotion hosting features

* Click image to view full print screen (opens in new window).

InMotion has revamped its website in 2013 and there are tons of great cart software supported (1-click installation – Softaculous) now. The web host now supports the most business / e-commerce software, including OpenCart, PrestaShop, WHMCS, Magento, osCommerce, Zen Cart, The Hosting Tool, TomatoCart, AbanteCart, BoxBilling, Avactis, QuickCart, AlegroCart, PHP Point Of Sale, CubeCart, phpCOIN, and ZeusCart (amazing list!).

Three, InMotion Hosting Renewal Price.

All InMotion Hosting prices listed here are all one-time promotion – The standard renewal prices for 24-months subscription for Launch/Power/Pro are $7.99/9.99/15.99 per month.

For those who find this surprising, do note that this is a rather standard practice in hosting industry. Web hosting companies are often selling at the price below their cost in order to win market shares. And, upon renewal, they will charge back the usual rates (which, I think is reasonable).

InMotion Hosting Uptime Review

The longer I run my websites at InMotion Hosting, the more I like the web host – because their servers NEVER fail me! Have a look on the following uptime records (screen captured from Uptime Robot) and you’ll see what I’m talking about. It feels a bit silly to post regular uptime scores on this page because the readings I get are either 99.99% or 100% always.

InMotion Hosting Uptime (March 2016): 99.99%

inmotion - 201603

InMotion Hosting uptime score for March 2016 – 99.99%. This site (yes, you are looking at the uptime record for WebHostingSecretRevealed.net) went down for a brief 3 minutes on March 26th, 2016.

InMotion Hosting Uptime (February 2016): 99.97%

inmotion hosting feb 2016 uptime

InMotion Hosting uptime for the past 30 days (January/February 2016), screenshot taken on Feb 23, 2016.

InMotion Hosting Uptime (September 2015): 99.83%

inmotion sept uptime

InMotion Hosting uptime for the September – screenshot was taken on October 1st, 2015.

InMotion Hosting Uptime (July/August 2015): 100%

InMotion Hosting uptime record for July/August 2015. Site has not gone down for the past 934 hours.

InMotion Hosting uptime record for July/August 2015. Site has not gone down for the past 934 hours.

InMotion Hosting Uptime (Mac/Apr 2015): 100%

InMotion Hosting uptime

InMotion Hosting Uptime Score (Past 30 days March – April 2015) – Site has not go down for more than 800 hours after a short 2 minute outage in March 24, 2015.

InMotion Hosting Uptime (Mac/Apr 2014): 100%

InMotion Hosting Uptime Score (Past 30 days, March - April 2014)

InMotion Hosting Uptime Score (Past 30 days, March – April 2014)

InMotion Hosting Uptime (Feb/Mac 2014): 99.99%

InMotion Hosting Uptime Score (Past 30 days, February - March 2014)

InMotion Hosting Uptime Score (Past 30 days, February – March 2014 – response time graph is incomplete because of Uptime Robot server maintenance.)

InMotion Hosting Uptime (Dec 2013/Jan 2014): 100%

inmotion vps uptime dec-jan

InMotion Hosting Uptime Score (Past 30 days,December 24, 2013 – January 23, 2014.)

InMotion Hosting Speed Test

We added a new test in our review process. All test sites were pinged from 8 different location using a tool named Bitcatcha (awesome tool by the way, go check out). The results (in site response time, milliseconds) were compared against 10 million other sites and rated in form of A-to-F ratings.

Test Results: A+, Very Good

Our test site hosted on InMotion Hosting scored an impressive A+; all locations’ response times were below 350 milliseconds. More info in the following image.

inmotion feb 2016 response speed

Test site pinged from 8 different locations – site response times were recorded and compared. Test site hosted at InMotion Hosting scored A+ (Feb 2016). In contrast, most other hosts in our review list scored below B+ (three levels below) in this test.

What’s Good About InMotion Hosting?

Here’s what I like about InMotion Hosting according to my very own usage experience.

Premium Web Hosting Service – Affordable Price, Extraordinary Uptime Record

Again I have to stress that InMotion is one of the best hosting services in overall. Like I said, I am an InMotion user since 2009. My site’s uptime record never goes below 99.9%  uptime – both VPS and the shared account. What can you ask more for a $4.49/mo web host? Sure the price is a little higher if you compare with other budget hosting options (roughly extra $2/mo compare to iPage); but you get what you pay for.

Exclusive Max Speed Zone + Free SSD Hosting

inmotion hosting Exclusive Max Speed Zone

Update April 2015: InMotion Business Hosting are now using solid state drives (SSD) – which loads 20x faster than normal hard disk and is able to push through about 65% more data from the server.

InMotion Hosting utilizes peering technologies and multiple data centers at different locations (US East Coast or West Coast – Los Angeles CA or Washington DC).

All shared hosting users are allowed to choose their data center location. And, if you live within the Max Speed Zone, your email and website can run up to 6x faster! Bear in mind that Google now counts site speed as a ranking factor, so faster site (in many occasions) means better search ranking.

Wide Choices For Server Upgrades 

Outgrown your current web host? No problem. With InMotion, you can upgrade to VPS or dedicated hosting plan easily (more about how to choose the right InMotion hosting plans later).

90 Days Full Money Back Guarantee 

Okay, you probably do not care much about refund policy and trial period if a web host is performing well. However InMotion’s loooong trial period indicates a few positive things – one, the company is very confident with their service quality (90 days is the longest full refund period in hosting industry); and two, longer trial period shows that the company has strong commitment in meeting customers satisfaction.

Update June 2013: InMotion Hosting now offers “Anytime Money Back Guarantee” on top of its 90 days full refund trial. In other words, you can cancel your subscription any time and get back the remaining subscription fees.

Proven Track Record In Hosting Business

As a webmaster, the last thing I want to see is my hosting company ran out of business. Note that InMotion has been around for more than a decade. This means the company survived the collapse of dot-com bubble (2000-2002) and sub prime crisis (2008). If you are looking for a sustainable and stable hosting company, InMotion Hosting definitely fits the bill perfectly.

 InMotion Hosting – Problems & Drawbacks

Here’s a few issues you need to know before signup on InMotion Hosting. I wouldn’t regard these as major negative points but you might want to know it upfront to avoid any undesired surprises.

Limited Addon Domain For Business Class Hosting 

Unfortunately InMotion Business Class Hosting users can host very limited domains on their hosting account. The official numbers are 2/6/25 addon domains for Launch/Power/Pro package. InMotion’s Pro does allow unlimited parked domains but I think this feature is hardly useful to many.

Phone Verification For All New Customers 

InMotion operates on some very tight fraud prevention policies where all new customers will need to verify their purchase via phone. While this might sound nothing for those living in United States, it’s sort of inconvenient for some of us who are living outside U. S. (personally, I do not like to take long distance phone calls like this because of the time zone gap and reception issues). But then again, this is a give-and-take case – tighter security guidelines means the company is in better shape and you get to host your site in a safer environment (less chances of having spammers and fraudsters as neighbours).

Conclusion: Who Should Go With InMotion Hosting?

Basically, anyone who do not mind paying a little more for a supreme class web hosting service should put InMotion into their consideration list. Max Speed Zone, SPAM Safe email accounts, attentive after-sales services, reliable servers, Anytime Money Back Guarantee, and my special discount link, I think you don’t need me to say more, right?

Order InMotion Hosting Now

For more details or to order InMotion, visit (link opens in new window): http://www.inmotionhosting.com

visit inmotion