如何託管網站:完整的入門指南

Jerry Low的文章。 .
更新:Mar 31,2020

託管網站只是意味著確保可以在萬維網(WWW)上訪問您的網站。 通常以兩種方式之一完成此操作。 您可以向服務提供商託管費用,也可以自己在自己的服務器上託管-我們將在本文中介紹這兩種方法。

虛擬主機的工作原理
虛擬主機如何工作– 網站文件(例如HTML,圖像,視頻)存儲在連接到Internet的服務器中。 當用戶想要訪問您的網站時,他們將在瀏覽器中鍵入您的網站地址,然後他們的計算機將連接到您的服務器。 然後,您的網頁將通過Internet瀏覽器傳遞給用戶。

快速鏈接


如何使用託管服務提供商託管網站

使用服務提供商是託管網站的最簡單方法。 您可以每月支付少量費用,並依靠服務提供商來照顧您的所有設備,基礎設施以及其他相關需求。

與服務提供商託管的優點

  • 通常便宜
  • 支持通常很容易獲得
  • 無需硬件維護
  • 更高的可靠性

與服務提供商託管的缺點

  • 可能是一些服務限制
  • 託管位置的選擇更少

以下是通過託管服務提供商託管網站的步驟。

託管網站的5個簡單步驟
以下是通過託管服務提供商託管網站的步驟。

1.確定您要建立哪種類型的網站

網站主要有兩種: 靜態和動態。

可以使用“所見即所得”(WYSIWYG)應用程序構建簡單的靜態網站,然後將其轉移到託管帳戶。

動態站點主要由應用程序驅動,並利用腳本,數據庫和其他工具動態生成站點的某些部分。 WordPress和Joomla是當今流行的常見內容管理系統(CMS)應用程序的示例。 諸如Magento和PrestaShop之類的其他網站都用於電子商務網站。

您的網絡主機選擇取決於您正在構建的網站的類型。 像這樣的預算虛擬主機 Hostinger($ 0.99 / mo) 一個簡單的靜態網站就足夠了; 而動態站點將需要更多服務器資源。

2.比較虛擬主機類型

就像有許多不同類別的汽車一樣,網站託管也有多種風格。 例如,共享託管是 最便宜,最容易管理 –它們類似於世界上的緊湊型汽車。

隨著網絡託管類型的擴大,網絡託管的類型也隨之擴大 涉及的成本 以及管理託管帳戶的複雜性。 例如,在 VPS主機 您不僅需要管理託管詳細信息,還需要管理其託管環境。

三種類型的網絡主機

簡而言之,最常見的託管類型是

  • 共享主機
  • VPS /雲託管
  • 專用服務器託管

WordPress的? Prestashop? Magento? WooCommerce託管?

重要的是要知道Web應用程序和Web託管不是一回事。 一些網絡主機提供計劃,例如WordPress主機,PrestaShop主機,WooCommerce主機等等。 這些並不是真正的託管類型,而是旨在吸引可能不熟悉真正的Web託管術語的外行。 這些託管服務僅以流行的Web應用程序名稱吸引用戶。

例如,沒有多少人可能知道託管類型的區別,但是許多人會認識到“ WordPress”一詞。

您將需要的虛擬主機類型通常由以下方式定義:

  1. 您期望網站訪問量,或
  2. 您的網站可能有的任何特定需求。

大多數剛開始的網站通常訪問量很少(即訪問者很少),並且共享託管帳戶適合這些網站。 大多數共享帳戶也將附帶應用程序安裝程序(例如 Softaculous),但要確保滿足您的需求,請詢問主機是否可以在您要查看的帳戶上安裝所需的應用程序。

共享與VPS /雲與專用託管

在性能和管理方面,每種虛擬主機類型也各有優缺點,因此請相應選擇。

共享託管如何工作
共享主機 通常價格便宜且易於管理,但沒有高級控件,也無法處理大量流量。 你可以等共享託管服務,來自 A2 Hosting, Hostinger, InMotion Hosting
VPS主機如何工作
VPS /雲託管 更昂貴且用途廣泛。 用戶可以在這些帳戶上安裝幾乎所有需要的東西,並且能夠根據所支付的資源量來應對各種流量。 您可以 從獲得VPS或云託管服務 數字海洋, Interserver, SiteGround.
專用託管如何工作
專用服務器 是管理最複雜,成本最高的。 它們非常強大,可以由管理員直接管理到硬件級別。 AltusHost, InMotion HostingTMD Hosting 提供專用的託管服務。

3.選擇併購買虛擬主機計劃

即使在託管類型內,服務提供商也經常有各種可用的計劃。 這些計劃的主要區別通常在於每個計劃獲得的資源量。 您的網站擁有的資源越多,可以處理的訪問者就越多。

當談到網絡託管資源時,我們通常指的是三個核心項目–處理器(CPU),內存(RAM)和存儲(HDD或SSD)。 但是,這些並不總是轉化為Web主機的良好性能。

過去,沒有一種簡單的方法可以評估Web主機的性能。 不幸的是,大多數用戶不得不依靠審閱,通常情況下,它們僅捕獲主機性能的快照,很少更新。 要克服這個問題,請嘗試使用 主機分數,該網站會根據不斷收集的數據不斷評估Web主機的性能。 這意味著他們的虛擬主機性能評估更加準確。

還應注意增值功能,例如免費的SSL,域名,廣告信用,附帶的網站構建器或其他可幫助您構建或營銷網站的項目。

在A2託管您的網站
一些Web主機還可以在更昂貴的計劃上提供其他優勢,例如特殊的優化或增強。 一個很好的例子是 A2主機上的共享主機計劃。 該系列中最昂貴的計劃是20倍“ Turbo”速度。
通常,在購買虛擬主機後,您會收到一封歡迎電子郵件,其中包含有關登錄憑據和名稱服務器的詳細信息。 確保此電子郵件的安全–您將需要信息來配置域並登錄到服務器控制面板。 屏幕截圖顯示了來自我的歡迎電子郵件 HostPapa.

在過去測試和審查了60多個託管服務後,我能夠縮小範圍 最佳託管選項 針對不同的用例。

新手/簡單網站的虛擬主機

企業網頁寄存/網站成長

開發人員/高級用戶的虛擬主機

4.購買域和計劃

虛擬主機是網站文件所在的實際空間,您需要一個域名,以便用戶可以訪問您的網站。 域名就像您在WWW上的地址一樣。 像真實地址一樣 每個都是唯一的.

今天,許多虛擬主機計劃都將提供一個免費域名,因此請確保檢查該域名是否適用於您打算購買的虛擬主機。 如果是這樣,您可以在付款虛擬主機計劃的同時照顧域名。

如果沒有,則需要 單獨購買域名。 可以從您購買託管計劃的地方或其他服務提供商處進行。 如果您需要單獨購買域名,強烈建議您在其他地方查看。

域名不是固定價格的商品,經常出售。 一些提供商通常會以低廉的價格出售域名,如果您很幸運,您可以偷個域名。 例如,Namecheap經常會提供高達98%的域名折扣。

如果您是第一次站點所有者,則例外。 在這種情況下,從同一服務提供商處購買域名並託管,可能會使您作為初學者更輕鬆地工作。

5.移動/創建您的網站到服務器

域名和網絡託管計劃準備就緒後,就可以遷移了。 網站遷移可能很複雜,因此,如果您是第一次這樣做,請向新主機尋求幫助。 一些託管服務提供商提供 免費網站遷移.

InMotion託管網站Tranfer
要在InMotion Hosting中啟動站點轉移,請登錄AMP儀表板>帳戶操作>網站轉移請求。 單擊此處立即啟動InMotion免費站點遷移.

如果您是在本地(在自己的計算機上)建立網站的,則只需將我們的文件傳輸到Web服務器上即可。 為此,您可以使用網絡託管控制面板中的文件管理器,也可以使用FTP客戶端進行傳輸。

該過程類似於將文件從您自己的計算機上的一個位置複製到另一個位置。


如何在本地託管站點

在本地託管網站意味著您實質上是在使用自己的位置從頭開始設置Web服務器。 這意味著您要負責從硬件和軟件到帶寬供應和其他基礎架構需求的所有事務。

自我託管的優點

  • 完全控制您的託管環境
  • 縮短服務周轉時間的潛力
  • 您選擇的設備和服務提供商

自我託管的缺點

  • 可能很貴
  • 在居民環境中並非總是可能

警告:在本地託管Web服務器非常複雜,而且可能非常昂貴。 與託管服務提供商託管相比,它通常也不太可靠。

1.選擇設備和軟件

基本服務器硬件可能與您自己PC上的硬件非常相似,但有一些細微差別。 實際上,從技術上講,您可以攜帶自己的PC(甚至筆記本電腦),如果真的願意,可以將其轉變為家用Web服務器。

關鍵區別在於您希望Web服務器的可靠性以及它可以處理的訪問者數量。 與服務提供商一樣,您將需要密切注意處理器,內存和存儲空間。

如果您選擇機架服務器等高端服務器設備,則還需要確保滿足該設備的特殊需求。 這包括空間,冷卻和功率。

在自己的服務器上託管網站
HP SMB服務器樣本(來源)

如果您需要提高服務的可靠性,則還需要考慮硬件的冗餘性。 例如,在RAID中運行存儲驅動器,以及將備份主動鏡像到其他驅動器上。

您的其他基礎設施設備(例如路由器和調製解調器)也將需要能夠處理高流量。

對於軟件,除了操作系統之外,您還需要關注Web服務器平台(目前, Apache和Nginx 是市場上最受歡迎的)。 這也意味著您不僅需要負責配置軟件,還需要負責許可。

2.確保足夠的帶寬

Internet帶寬對於運行自己的服務器也至關重要。 在許多情況下,我們大多數人都可以使用標準Internet帶寬,因為我們使用的Internet連接有限。 想像一下,如果有30個人試圖同時使用您的家庭互聯網,那可能是您可能希望提供的支持,甚至更多。

還需要考慮的是您的IP地址。 大多數家庭Internet計劃都分配了動態IP。 為了運行Web服務器,您需要一個靜態IP。 這可以由服務提供商處理,例如 DynDNS的 或者從您的Internet服務提供商(ISP)購買服務。

學習計算所需的帶寬.

3.開發和部署網站

下一部分與使用虛擬主機提供商的體驗相似,不同之處在於您沒有獲得任何支持。 您的網絡文件需要移到您的網絡主機上,以便您的網站開始運行。


哪種方法最適合託管自己的網站?

從這裡的兩個使用託管服務提供商或自託管網站的示例中可以看出,後者可能很快變得非常昂貴和復雜。 實際上,是(相信我,我之前做過)。

除了這樣做的滿意度之外,除非您是一家對網站有非常特定需求的企業,否則這樣做的實際好處不多。 例如,其中一些可能是法律要求或公司要求。

但是,當今的Web託管服務提供商已經變得非常通用,並且在許多情況下願意與客戶討論特殊需求。 不過,在大多數情況下,使用標準的託管計劃通常綽綽有餘。

管理您的託管資源

託管網站-尤其是如果您選擇在本地託管,絕不是一項設置即忘記的任務。 隨著您的網站越來越受歡迎,服務器資源管理將變得越來越重要。 當您在同一服務器上託管多個網站時,尤其如此。

前段時間,我們採訪了Linux託管提供商的職員Marc Werne Gigatux.com,並要求他提供有關服務器資源管理的建議。 以下是他有關使資源永續使用的一些技巧。

1。 選擇輕量級CMS

你可能想用 Joomla or 曼波 如此嚴重,但是如果您的主機存儲空間不足500MB,則可能需要重新考慮您的選擇。

WordPress or Drupal例如,它將成為一種輕量級,靈活的替代方案,可以節省MB的Web磁盤和帶寬。 通常越少越輕,輕量級不等於功能越少。 製作替代方案的圖表,並選擇最適合您需求的CMS和託管包。

2.對於論壇–使用miniBB代替SMF

MiniBB僅佔用不到2 MB的內存,而SMF卻只有10 MB以上的內存,但這是一個完整的論壇解決方案,包含大量的附件,擴展程序和插件。

不喜歡miniBB?

對於更大的論壇腳本,有幾種輕量級替代品。 PunBB,FluxBB和AEF引用了一些。 此外,在安裝任何解決方案之前,請規劃論壇的範圍:如果您的目標是覆蓋數千到數百萬用戶,則可能需要升級您的託管包。 如果您希望僅保留論壇工作人員或針對少數用戶,請務必使用您可用的資源。

3.使用第三方通訊提供商

在您有限的虛擬主機帳戶上安裝新聞通訊軟件,它將開始消耗您的磁盤和帶寬。 不幸的是,它沒有太多要做,並且最小的新聞通訊腳本OpenNewsletter仍然為640Kb,您還必須考慮所有存儲問題。

相比下 - MailChimp,如果您的目標受眾人數少於2,000個訂閱者,並且您的目標是每月發送不超過12,000封電子郵件,那麼從零成本開始的完整新聞通訊解決方案。

所有模板都可以自定義,因此您無需自己託管,也可以將簡報與Facebook集成。

MailChimp的好選擇是 恆聯 - BenchmarkMail,其唯一限制由訂閱選項提供-人們只能從您的表單中進行註冊。

4。 使用緩存系統

低預算的大多數小型企業和個人網站所有者選擇共享託管包以節省投資。 有時升級是提高性能所必需的,並且歡迎更廣泛的受眾及其產生的流量,但如果不能,則可以通過使用不會使CPU過載的緩存系統來節省服務器資源。

WordPress用戶可以安裝 W3總緩存 但是如果您不使用WordPress,則應嘗試使用CMS供應商提供的工具來優化網站緩存。 例如,Joomla可以依靠 緩存清理 or 記錄緩存; 而Drupal也有幾個緩存性能工具。

5。 定期清空垃圾內容

以電子郵件,博客評論,pingback URL和超載服務器和數據庫配額的文件的形式擺脫垃圾郵件。

每周至少做一次以避免內存問題(例如,WordPress註釋刪除僅適用於64MB的內存,之後您將收到致命錯誤,您將不得不增加PHP.INI中允許的內存大小文件或在WordPress根目錄中的wp-config.php)。

6。 如果可能,請使用外部數據庫

如果您的主機允許遠程數據庫鏈接,則一定要使用它。 外部數據庫有助於將您的內容存儲在託管帳戶之外,從而有助於減輕Web磁盤配額的使用。 但是,請記住,遠程數據庫可能非常昂貴,並且給最終用戶帶來麻煩。

7.使用第三方文件託管服務

將所有可下載的內容託管在外部文件託管服務上,例如Photobucket,Vimeo,YouTube,4Shared,Giphy等。

如果資源有限,則不應允許訪問者,客戶或讀者在服務器上上載內容。

8。 定期下載和刪除日誌文件

創建日誌文件是為了讓您了解您的網站運行狀況,但在服務器上沒有使用它們:如果您每周至少下載和刪除它們一次,它們的大小將增加到幾兆字節到一英鎊。 兩個cPanel日誌尤其如此:

/ home / user中/的public_html / error_log中

-

/ home / user中的/ tmp / AWStats軟件/

error_log文件通常包括動態錯誤,如PHP警告,數據庫錯誤(非法排序等)和未經過的垃圾評論。 每週檢查此文件以查找錯誤和警告,然後將其刪除。

相反,/ awstats /文件夾包含您網站的所有訪問日誌和統計日誌。 您應該禁用帳戶中的AwStats軟件,以避免因程序自動存儲其統計文件而增加網站空間使用量,或者如果由於受限制的權限而無法使用,則應聯繫主機並要求禁用所有分析軟件。


網站託管常見問題解答

什麼是虛擬主機?

虛擬主機不僅僅是您的網站所在的空間。 它還涵蓋了軟件需求和成本,以及帶寬和大量需要管理的其他微需求。 有關更多詳細信息,我 在本指南中解釋了網絡主機的工作方式.

託管服務提供商與自託管:主要區別是什麼?

網絡託管服務提供商已經建立了專用於託管網站的環境。 他們為此目的進行了優化,並且由於它們是批量進行的,因此它們通常能夠比自託管環境便宜得多地提供服務。

您需要網站託管嗎?

是的,虛擬主機是運行網站所必需的關鍵組件之一。 要了解更多–這是以下列表 最好的網絡託管公司 我推薦了

域名是運行我的網站所必須的嗎?

域名是您網站的地址。 沒有它,您的用戶將無法訪問您的網站,除非他們知道確切的IP地址。 學習更多關於 域名如何運作.

GoDaddy是否託管網站?

是的,GoDaddy是Web服務提供商,其產品之一是Web託管。

共享託管足以容納我的網站嗎?

如果您的網站是新的,則共享託管通常綽綽有餘。 共享主機的容量因主機而異。 例如,某些網絡主機 SiteGround,即使在共享託管選項中也有非常嚴格的計劃。

有幾種類型的託管?

共有四種主要類型的網絡託管:共享,VPS,雲和專用託管。 每個提供不同程度的性能,可靠性和安全性。

哪種託管類型最好?

“最佳”是相對的–最適合我的網站可能不適合您。 通常,如果您是新手,則共享主機應該是“最佳”入門場所。 專用服務器是最強大的託管類型,但它們也最昂貴(因此不建議新手使用)。

我可以在主機上使用WordPress嗎?

如今,大多數網絡託管服務提供商都允許您安裝各種流行的Web應用程序。 這通常包括WordPress,Drupal,Joomla和許多其他主機。 為確保可以安裝所需的應用程序,最好與服務提供商聯繫。

為什麼我的網站運行緩慢?

網站速度可能取決於許多因素。 其中之一是您的網站的優化程度。 要了解影響網站性能的因素,請使用WebPageTest或GT Metrix之類的工具。 在此處運行測試將分解加載時間的詳細信息,使您能夠確定站點加載時間中的滯後點。

託管網站如何工作?

託管網站涉及一個Web服務器,該服務器旨在為通過萬維網向訪問者提供您的網站文件。 涉及的關鍵組件是您的網站文件,Web服務器和通過其訪問您的網站的域名。

什麼是雲託管?

顧名思義,共享主機帳戶“共享”單個服務器的資源。 在雲託管中,多個服務器將其資源匯總到一個“雲”中,然後將這些資源分配到雲託管帳戶中。

什麼是託管託管?

託管託管是一種網絡託管,服務提供商負責維護您帳戶的技術性能。 這通常包括技術和軟件更新。


延伸閱讀

有關託管網站的更多信息

在創建網站時

How to Host a Website: Complete Beginner Guide

Article by Jerry Low . .
Updated: Jan 21, 2020

 

Hosting a website simply means making sure that your website can be accessible on the World Wide Web (WWW). This is usually done in one of two ways. You can pay for hosting with a service provider or you can host it yourself at your own server.

How web host works
How Web Hosting Works – Websites files – such as HTML, images, videos, are stored in servers that are connected to the Internet. When users want to visit your website, they will type your website address into their browser and their computer will then connect to your server. Your webpages will then be delivered to users  through the Internet browser.

 


 

How to Host a Site Using a Hosting Provider

Using a service provider is the simplest way of hosting a website. You can pay a small monthly fee and rely on the service provider to take care of all your equipment, infrastructure, and other associated needs.

Pros of hosting with a service provider

  • Usually cheaper
  • Support is often readily available
  • No need for hardware maintenance
  • Higher reliability

Cons of hosting with a service provider

  • May be some service restrictions
  • Fewer choices in hosting locations

Here are the steps to host a website with a hosting service provider.

5 simple steps to host a website
Here are the steps to host a website with a hosting service provider.

1. Decide which type of website you are building

There are two main types of websites; static and dynamic. Simple static websites can be built using a What You See Is What You Get (WYSIWYG) application and then transferred over to the hosting account.

Dynamic sites are mainly application-driven and make use of scripts, databases, and other tools to generate some portions of the site on the fly. WordPress and Joomla are examples of common Content Management System (CMS) apps that are popular today. Others such as Magento and PrestaShop are used for eCommerce websites.

Hosting a simple static website
Your web host selection depends on the type of website you are building. A budget web host like Hostinger ($0.80/mo) would be sufficient for a simple static website; whereas dynamic sites will require more server resources.

2. Compare Web Hosting Types

Much like there are many different categories of cars, website hosting also comes in various flavors. For example, shared hosting is the cheapest and easiest to manage – they are akin to the compact cars of the world.

As the type of web hosting scales up, so too does the cost involved and often the complexity of managing the hosting account. For example, in VPS hosting you would need to manage not just the hosting details but also environment that it is being hosted in.

 

Three types of web host

In a nutshell, the most common types of hosting are

  • Shared Hosting
  • VPS/Cloud hosting
  • Dedicated Server Hosting

 

WordPress? Prestashop? Magento? WooCommerce Hosting?

It’s important to know that web applications and web hosting are not the same thing. Some web hosts offer plans such as WordPress Hosting, PrestaShop Hosting, WooCommerce Hosting, and so on. These are not really hosting types, but intended to attract laymen who may not be familiar with real web hosting terms. These hosting offers merely entice users with the names of popular web applications.

For example, not many people might know the difference in hosting types, but many will recognize the term ‘WordPress’.

The type of web hosting you will need is typically defined by:

  1. The volume of traffic you expect on your website, or
  2. Any specific needs your website might have.

Most websites which are just starting out will typically have low traffic volume (i.e. few visitors) and shared hosting accounts will be fine for those. Most shared accounts will also come with application installers (such as Softaculous), but to ensure that your needs are met, ask the host if the application you want can be installed on the account you’re looking at.

 

Shared vs VPS/Cloud vs Dedicated Hosting

In terms of performance and management, each web hosting type also has their own pros and cons so choose yours accordingly.

How shared hosting work
Shared Hosting is often cheap and easy to manage but does not come with advanced controls and is not able to handle high volumes of traffic. You can get shared hosting services from A2 HostingHostingerInMotion Hosting
How vps hosting works
VPS/Cloud Hosting is more expensive and very versatile. Users can install almost anything they will need on these accounts and be able to cope with varying volumes of traffic depending on how much resources are paid for. You can get VPS or Cloud hosting services from Digital OceanInterserverSiteGround.
How Dedicated Hosting Works
Dedicated Servers are the most complex to manage and cost the most. They are very powerful and can be managed right down to the hardware level by administrators. AltusHostInMotion Hosting, and TMD Hosting provide dedicated hosting services.

3. Choose Hosting Providers and Plan

Even within hosting types, service providers often have a variety of plans available. The key difference in these plans often lie in the amount of resources that each gets. The more resources your site has, the more visitors it can handle.

When it comes to resources on web hosting, we are typically referring to three core items – processor (CPU), memory (RAM), and storage (HDD or SSD). These however do not always translate to good performance of a web host.

In the past there hasn’t been an easy way to gauge the performance of a web host. Most users had to rely on reviews which unfortunately, normally only take snapshots of a host’s performance and seldom update that. To get past this, try using HostScore, a site which constantly rates the performance of web hosts based on ongoing data collection. This means that their web host performance assessments are much more accurate.

Also keep a look out for value added features such as free SSL, domain name, advertising credits, an included website builder, or other items which can help you build or market your site.

hosting your website at A2
Some web hosts also offer other advantages on more expensive plans such as special optimizations or enhancements. A good example of this are the shared hosting plans on A2 Hosting. The most expensive plan on that series come 20X ‘Turbo’ speeds.

After testing and reviewing more than 60 hosting services in the past, I was able to narrow down some best options for different use-cases (see my list of best web hosts).

Web Host for Newbies / Simple Websites

Web Host for Businesses / Growing Websites

Web Host for Developers / Advanced Users

4. Purchase Domain and Plan

Where your web hosting is the actual space your website files sit on, you need a domain name so that users can access your site. The domain name acts like your address on the WWW. Like real addresses, each is unique.

Many web hosting plans today will come with a free domain name, so make sure to check if that is applicable with the web hosting you intend to buy. If so, you can take care of the domain name at the same time as when you pay for your web hosting plan.

If not, you’ll need to buy a domain name separately. This can be done either from the same place that you bought the hosting plan or other service provider. If you need to buy the domain name separately, I highly recommend you look elsewhere.

Domain names are not fixed price items and often go on sale. Some providers often have cheap sales on domain names and if you’re lucky you can pick one up for a steal. Namecheap for example often had domain names on offer at up to 98% off.

The exception to this is if you are a first time site owner. In that case, buying a domain name and hosting from the same service provider might make things easier for you to work with as a beginner.

5. Move / Create Your Website to Server

Once your domain name and web hosting plan is ready it’s time for migration. Site migration can be complex, so if you’re doing this for the first time, ask for help from your new host. Some hosting service providers offer free site migrations.

InMotion Hosting Website Tranfer
To initiate a site transfer at InMotion Hosting, login to AMP dashboard > Account Operations > Website Transfer Request. Click here to initiate InMotion free site migration now.

If you have built your website locally (on your own computer) then simply transfer our files onto your web server. To do this you can either make use of the File Manager in your web hosting control panel or make the transfer using an FTP client.

The process is similar to copying files from one place to another on your own computer.

 


 

How to Host a Site Locally

Hosting a site locally means that you’re in essence using your own location to set up a web server from scratch. This means that you are responsible for everything from the hardware and software all the way to bandwidth provision and other infrastructure needs.

Pros of self hosting

  • Extreme control over your hosting environment
  • Potential for faster service turnaround times
  • Your choice of equipment and service providers

Cons of self hosting

  • Can be very expensive
  • Not always possible in residential environments

Caution: Hosting web servers locally is complex and can be very expensive. It is also often less reliable than hosting with a service provider.

1. Select Equipment and Software

Basic server hardware can be very similar to the hardware on your own PC with some slight differences. In fact, technically, you could take your own PC (or even laptop) and turn it into a home web server if you really wanted to.

The key difference is in how reliable you want your web server to be and the visitor volume it can handle. As with service providers, you will need to keep an eye on processor, memory, and storage space.

If you opt for high-end server equipment such as rack server, you will also need to ensure that the specialized needs of this equipment is met. This includes in space, cooling, and power.

hosting a website at your own server
Sample of a HP SMB Server (source)

If you need the service to be more reliable you will also need to consider redundancy in hardware. For example, running your storage drives in RAID, plus active mirroring of backups onto additional drives.

Your other infrastructure equipment such as routers and modems will also need to be able to handle high loads of traffic.

For software, aside from your operating system you will need to also focus on your web server platform (at the moment, Apache and Nginx are the most popular on the market). This also means that you need to be responsible for not just configuring the software, but also for licensing.

2. Ensure Sufficient Bandwidth

Internet bandwidth is also vital to running your own server. In many cases, most of us are fine with standard Internet bandwidth since we’re using limited connections to the Internet. Imagine if 30 people were trying to use your home Internet at the same time – that, and perhaps more, is what you might be looking to support.

What also needs to be taken into consideration is your IP address. Most home Internet plans come with dynamic IPs assigned. In order to run a web server, you need a static IP. This can either be handled by a service provider such as DynDNS or by buying the service from your Internet Service Provider (ISP).

Learn to calculate bandwidth you need.

3. Develop and Deploy Website

The next part is similar to the experience of using a web hosting provider, except that you don’t get any support. Your web files need to be moved onto your web host in order for your site to start functioning.

 


 

Which Option is Best to Host Your Website?

As you can probably tell from the two examples here of using a hosting provider or self hosting a website, the latter can quickly become incredibly expensive and complex. In reality, it is (believe me, I have done it before).

Aside from the satisfaction of having done it, there are few real benefits of doing so unless you are a business that has very specific needs for your site. Some of these might be legal or corporate requirements, for example.

However, web hosting service providers today have become very versatile and in many cases are open to discussing special needs with customers. In the majority of cases though, using a standard hosting plan is usually more than enough.

Website Hosting FAQ

What is Hosting and Why is it Important?

Web hosting is more than simply the space your website sits on. It also encompasses software needs and costs, along with bandwidth and a ton of other micro-needs that need to be managed.Without all of these things working together efficiently, your website is not likely to run properly.

What is the Difference Between Service Provider and Self Hosting?

Web hosting service providers have set up environments that are dedicated to hosting websites. They are optimized for this purpose and because they do it in bulk, they often are able to provide the service much more cheaply than self-hosting.

Do I really Need a Domain Name to Run my Website?

The domain name is the means by which visitors access your site. Without it, your users will have no way to get to your website unless they know the exact IP address.

Can I use WordPress on my Host?

Most web hosting service providers today will enable you to install a variety of popular web applications. This usually includes WordPress, Drupal, Joomla, and a host of others. To be sure the application you want can be installed it is best to check with your service provider.

Is Shared Hosting Enough for my Site?

Although shared hosting is the cheapest among hosting options, the capabilities often differ from host to host. Some web hosts like SiteGround have very strong plans even among shared hosting options.

Why is My Website Slow?

Website speed can depend on many factors. One of these is how well your website is optimized. To learn what is affecting your site performance, use a tool like WebPageTest. Running a test here will break down the details of load times, enabling you to identify lag points in your site’s loading time.

What is Cloud Hosting?

Like the name implies, shared hosting accounts ‘share’ the resources of a single server. In Cloud hosting, multiple servers pool their resources into a ‘Cloud’ and these resources are then portioned out onto Cloud hosting accounts.

What is Managed Hosting?

Managed hosting is a type of web hosting where the service provider takes on the responsibility of maintaining the technical performance of your account. This will usually encompass technical and software updates.

What is a Web Server?

The software that helps serve your web files to visitors is your web server. It listens for requests for your site and delivers the right pages when asked for them.

Hosting a website simply means making sure that your website can be accessible on the World Wide Web (WWW). This is usually done in one of two ways. You can pay for hosting with a service provider or you can host it yourself.

Further Reading

On creating a website

On managing your website

On choosing the right web host