InterServer Review

Reviewed by: Jerry Low . .
  • Review Updated: Mar 30, 2020
InterServer
Plan in review: Shared
Reviewed by:
Rating:
Review Updated: March 30, 2020
Summary
InterServer is less mainstream but it's hard to look past them once you get to know the company. The web host is a great bargain (shared hosting locked at $5/mo for life), highly scalable; and their server performs very well in our test.

Founded by Michael Lavrik and John Quaglieri, InterServer is a New Jersey-based company that’s been in the game since 1999. Initially launching as a virtual hosting account re-seller, the hosting provider has grown over the past 17 years and now operates two data centers in New Jersey and is in the process of expanding to additional locations, including Los Angeles.

Self-deemed (and widely proven) a budget-friendly provider, InterServer specializes in shared, VPS, and dedicated and co-location hosting solutions.

My experience with InterServer

This InterServer review is based on my experience with their VPS hosting and shared hosting service, which I still own at this point of writing.

One of my InterServer-hosted sites (the dummy test site) is located here – I'm monitoring the site performance (speed and uptime) using our in-house system named HostScore and publish its real-time server performance statistics on this page.

I also did an online interview with InterServer co-founder Michael in September 2014 and visited the company’s HQ in Secaucus, New Jersey in August 2016.

About InterServer, the Company

  • Headquarter: Secaucus, New Jersey
  • Established: 1999
  • Services: Shared, VPS, dedicated, and co-location hosting

About Michael Lavrik, InterServer Co-founder

Michael and I. Photo taken during my visit to InterServer HQ in August 2016.

Excerpt from my InterServer interview-

Hello Michael – can you tell us more about yourself and Interserver?

My name is Michael Lavrik and I’m an operating partner at InterServer, but my official title is Director of Business Development.

My colleagues and I work out of our office/datacenter in Secaucus, NJ. We started this business in 1999 -when I was only 15 years old- by reselling virtual hosting accounts for another provider. Then we bought our first dedicated server, switched to colocation, then a rack, then multiple racks. Fifteen years later we operate two datacenters in Secaucus NJ and are expanding rapidly into other locations like Los Angeles, CA.

After sitting in front of the computer at the office all day, I love to get dirty! In addition to the various maintenance and repair at the office, in my free time, I’m restoring a 1969 Pontiac GTO Convertible.

 


 

Summary: What's in this InterServer review?

InterServer Plans & Pricing

Verdict

 


 

The Pros: What I Like About InterServer?

1. Reliable – Average hosting uptime above 99.99%

I have got multiple websites hosted at InterServer. In overall, I am impressed with the host performance. While most hosting sites shoot for a 99.9% uptime (and many fall short of that), InterServer managed to keep my site up 100% most of the time. The uptime history is published below.

InterServer Uptime January / February 2020

interserver uptime Jan / Feb 2020
InterServer January 2020 uptime = 99.99%, February 2020 uptime = 100%.

InterServer Past Uptime Records (2015 – 2018)

February 2018: 100%
March 2017: 99.97%.

interserver feb 2016 uptime
February 2016: 99.99%.
InterServer Uptime for the past 30 days (September 2015): 99.99%
September 2015: 99.99%.

 

2. Fastest budget hosting around – TTFB below 220ms

InterServer Latest Performance

Image below shows Interserver speed for January and February 2020 – my InterServer-hosted test site took, on average, 116ms to respond.

InterServer speed test
We have built our own tracking system and measure hosting speed every four hours from 10 locations. Based on our record, InterServer hosting speed has been stable and fast for January and February 2020. You can also view  latest InterServer speed test results here

InterServer Bitcatcha Speed Test

InterServer server response speed meets my expectation for a $5/mo host.

Recent server speed tests show that InterServer is one of the fastest budget hosting services around.

We ping our test site from 8 different locations using Bitcatcha and compare the server response times with other websites. As you can see in images below, the results were pretty good.

Interserver speed test
InterServer speed test results from 10 locations. Range = 7ms (United States East Coast) – 185ms (Bangalore, India). See actual test results here.

InterServer WebpageTest.org Speed Tests

Speed test at WebpageTest.org is equally impressive as well for InterServer. I have tested the site using three locations (U.S., U.K., Singapore), all three received a high A rating in First Byte Time. You can see actual results here, here, and here.

Side note: Why stress so much on server speed?

That's because 1) according to expert case studies, just 1 second decrease in site load time offers a 7% improvement in conversion rate and 11% bump in page views; and 2) Google is now using site speed as one of their ranking factors – you need a faster site (or at least a up to par server) to rank well. 

 

3. Price lock guarantee

Many hosting providers lure in new customers with super low pricing for their initial term of service and then jack the rate upon renewal. The renewal prices increase for more than 200% fro some hosting companies. I love that InterServer avoids this practice and instead values loyalty. The company's price lock guarantee ensures that the price you start with will continue to be your price for as long as you keep your InterServer hosting account.

Interserver price lock policy
Unlike many other cheap hosting services, InterServer does not jack up their price on renewal – Shared hosting costs $5/mo for life.

 

4. Great support: Helpful + 100% In-house

InterServer customer support team doesn’t just say they’ll help you. They actually do.

For example, during a recent crackdown of another hosting company (Arvixe), InterServer stepped in to help the unhappy customers. It set up a special team to help the people migrate their sites over to the InterServer hosting platform, making the transition seamless. You won’t get that type of service with many hosting companies.

interserver-office
All customer supports are done from InterServer office at Secaucus, NJ. I was at their office and witnessed the team answering users requests – The new client list and support requests are shown in the screens hanging at the ceiling.

 

5. 99.9% uptime backed by SLA

InterServer service is backed by clear writing SLA (see image). Should they fail to meet the guarantee in a given month, they’ll credit clients on a case by case basis.

Going beyond the uptime guarantee, InterServer also gives a 100% guarantee of uninterrupted electricity.

 

6. InterServer free site migration service

One big plus for InterServer is their free, white-glove site migration service.

For those who are too busy to move your web host, just contact InterServer and get their support staffs to do it for you.

No matter what control panel or account access you have on your old host, the folks at InterServer are there to migrate your sites for free. To initiate account / site migration, visit this page.

 

7. Highly customizable VPS hosting plan

I tried InterServer’s VPS plan in 2014 and quickly appreciated how its flexibility.

InterServer VPS clients can customize just about everything, from their preferred operating system to the software, control panels, and server capacity.

interserver os choice
Operating system options at InterServer – there are 15 of them to choose from.

 

There are 16 sets of pre-configured VPS plans at InterServer for both Linux Cloud VPS and Windows Cloud VPS. Users can choose the number of needed CPU cores, RAM, as well as storage and data transfer capacity.

Also, unlike many other VPS hosting providers that require users to pay for bundled software and apps, InterServer only requires its clients to pay for what they need and use.

VPS UpgradesAdditional Cost
Additional IPAdd $3/mo/IP
FantasticoAdd $4/mo
cPanelAdd $15/mo
SoftculousAdd $2/mo
Direct AdminAdd $8/mo
KspliceAdd $3.95/mo
* Note: Usually what many other VPS hosting providers do is to include the cost of these features into their VPS plans and claim that they are free. With InterServer, you get the choice to go without these additional softwares.

 

 

8. 20 years of proven business track record

With over 20 years of experience under their belt, InterSever has established themselves as one of the best hosting providers today with a business track record that's equally impressive.

They've often been the choice for bloggers and website owners who want a great performing web host that is still affordable.

interserver-server-room
One of the server blocks in InterServer's data center. “Everything is built and managed in-house at InterServer – including the power and room cooling system. This is how the company manage to keep their prices low, ” said Mike during our meeting.
Play room for the geeks? InterServer servers are built from scratch by the team in this “Builders” room.

 


 

The Cons: What's Not Good About InterServer

1. InterServer unlimited hosting is limited

For starters, although InterServer offers “unlimited” features in its shared hosting environments, the unlimited hosting does come with limits.

This will always be the case with any provider, though… and, like with any provider, InterServer users are bound by server usage rules and terms. However, unlike many other hosts, InterServer gives users a clear foray into what those limits are, providing them in the ToS (quoted below).

No single shared hosting account is permitted to use more that 20% of the server resources at a time. A single account is limited to 250,000 inodes at any given time. Clients on the Unlimited SSD shared hosting platform using more then 1GB of space will be moved to SATA.

 

2. VPS hosting not for newbie or non-techie

Because InterServer does not bundle the usual software (like cPanel and Softculous) into their VPS plans – the initial setup process maybe overwhelming for newbies and non-techies who switch to VPS hosting. I tested InterServer VPS in 2014, the setup process was very manual and took longer time than I expected.

If you plan to go with InterServer VPS, I recommend allocating a bit of additional time for the learning curve and setup process.

 

3. Host in the United States East Coast only

InterServer operates on only one data center – which is the one they built in their Secaucus, New Jersey office. If majority of your website traffic is non-U.S., you will need a content delivery network (CDN) to ensure that they can access your website quickly.

Note – CloudFlare CDN is free of charge, Key CDN charges ~$0.10/GB traffic.

 


 

InterServer Hosting Plans & Pricing

InterServer Shared Hosting Plans

The InterServer shared hosting plan is a budget-friendly option, at just $5 per month with discounts available for longer-term contracts. If you use promo code WHSRPENNY and pre-order 3 years, the price drops to $3.88/mo.

The service includes a wealth of handy features, including one-click installs, 24/7 customer support, a free migration service, SitePad site builder, “unlimited” features (more on that later), and more. InterServer shared hosting features, server specifications and other details are shown in the table on the right sidebar.

 FeaturesStandard
Storage and Data TransferUnlimited
Websites / DomainsUnlimited
Domain Registration$1.99/year
Available AppsWordPress, Joomla, Drupal
eCommerce Ready
Inodes Limit250,000
Free CDNCloudFlare
Money Back Guarantee30 Day
Price Lock
Support24/7 In-house
Price$5/mo – monthly
$4.50/mo – 12 months
$4.25/mo – 24 months
$4/mo – 36 months

 

For best accuracy, visit InterServer shared hosting offer page.

 

InterServer VPS hosting plans and details

InterServer offers a variety of VPS and cloud hosting plans to provide the flexibility and scalability its clients are looking for.

Linux cloud VPS begins at $6 per month, while Windows cloud VPS starts at $10 per month. Both offer a variety of options, based on your needs for CPU cores, memory, storage, and transfer caps.

FeaturesLinux/1Linux/3Windows/1Windows/3
CPU Cores1313
Memory2048 MB6144 MB2048 MB6144 MB
SSD Storage30 GB90 GB30 GB90 GB
Monthly Data Transfer2 TB3 TB2 TB6 TB
cPanelAdd $15/moAdd $15/moAdd $15/moAdd $15/mo
FantasticoAdd $4/moAdd $4/moAdd $4/moAdd $4/mo
SoftaculousAdd $2/moAdd $2/moAdd $2/moAdd $2/mo
Unique IPAdd $3/moAdd $3/moAdd $3/moAdd $3/mo
Monthly Cost$6/mo$12/mo$10/mo$30/mo

For best accuracy, visit InterServer VPS hosting offer page.

 


 

InterServer Alternatives

If InterServer is not for you – A2 Hosting, Hostinger, InMotion Hosting, SiteGround, and TMD Hosting are some popular alternatives to InterServer.

All five hosting companies offer wide range hosting solutions (shared, VPS, managed WP, dedicated) and performed well in our server tests. A2, Hostinger, and TMD Hosting are relatively cheaper where users get to host multiple sites with them for less than $5/mo (first bill). SiteGround and InMotion Hosting are slightly pricier but they do come with additional advanced features and good customer support.

To stack up InterServer with other hosting providers, make use of our Hosting Comparison Tool here.

Screenshot – A2 Hosting vs InMotion Hosting vs InterServer.

 


 

Frequently Asked Questions about InterServer

Is InterServer hosting good?

Absolutely yes. InterServer is a rare gem in hosting market. The best thing about InterServer is their solid server performance, guaranteed email delivery, and locked-in signup price.

I spoke to Michael and John, the two founders, at length during my visit to their New Jersey office. It was clear that they’ve very serious about their customers and their business. They have a clear vision of how they’re going to take their business to the next level.

To put it simply, I strongly recommend this web host.

Where are InterServer Data Centers located?

InterServer houses servers in four data centers – three in Secaucus and one in Los Angeles

Is InterServer expensive?

InterServer shared hosting starts from $4/mo but these prices will remain the same on renewal, unlike many other hosts which undergo price hikes during renewal. InterServer also has a price lock guarantee, which means the price you buy-in won't change.

Does InterServer have a money-back policy?

Shared hosting plans on InterServer come with a 30-day money-back guarantee. To take advantage of this, you need to contact their support team within the 30-day period and request a refund.

Can I host email with InterServer

Web hosting plans at InterServer come with e-mail packaged in but if you wish, you can apply for just private email hosting with them for as little as $5/mo.

What is SitePad?

SitePad is the website building tool that is offered with InterServer hosting packages. It features rapid development options including a drag-and-drop builder along with pre-built themes which you can use ‘as is' or customize for to your liking.

Is InterServer good for beginners?

InterServer shared hosting is cheap and suitable for beginners; VPS plans, however, are not right for newbies.

Is InterServer good for small business?

Yes. In fact InterServer is one of the best small business hosting services in market. The company pledge that they will never increase their price during renewal and keep their server usage under 50% utilization for sudden traffic spikes. Also, the new Guaranteed Email Delivery feature ensure important business emails you sent will not be trapped in recipients' junk box.

 


 

Verdict: Should You Host at InterServer?

In short, I think InterServer is a rare gem in hosting market. I spoke to Michael and John, the two founders, at length during my visit to their New Jersey office.

It was clear that they’ve very serious about their customers and their business. They have a clear vision of how they’re going to take their business to the next level.

To put it simply, I strongly recommend this web host.

Who should use InterServer hosting?

InterServer shared hosting is good for small businesses and individual bloggers who want a cheap hosting solution. Keep in mind that InterServer does not jack up their price during renewal – this means your hosting cost will be stable for long term.

InterServer VPS, on the other hand, is a great solution for advanced users who are not afraid of handling their own server.

When not to use InterServer?

  • If most of website traffic are non-U.S. visitors.

Quick recap on my Interserver review

Here's a quick recap of the pros and cons about InterServer.

 

 

 


 

Special Discount: Try InterServer at $0.01/mo

Promo code: WHSRPENNY

Not sure about InterServer? You can now try them out for just one cent. Use promo code “WHSRPENNY” when you order InterServer cloud or shared hosting and cut first month bill to $0.01.

Order page at InterServer.net – the promo code “WHSRPENNY' will be inserted automatically if you visit this special discount page.

 

P/S: Is this review helpful?

WHSR is funded mainly by affiliate income. If you like my work, please support us by buying via our affiliate link. It does not cost you more and helps me to produce more helpful hosting review like this one.

About Jerry Low

Founder of WebHostingSecretRevealed.net (WHSR) - a hosting review trusted and used by 100,000's users. More than 15 years experience in web hosting, affiliate marketing, and SEO. Contributor to ProBlogger.net, Business.com, SocialMediaToday.com, and more.