RoseHosting Review

RoseHosting Review
Plan in review: SSD Business
Reviewed by:
Rating:
Review Last Updated: May 29, 2018
Summary
I highly recommend Rose Hosting; particularly for folks specifically looking for a quality host who strictly does not oversell. I personally have been testing Rose Hosting’s Shared 1000 plan since November 2013, and I’ve found lots of good and not much bad.

There are plenty of hosting providers out there to choose from, but it’s hard to find one with a longer history than that of Rose Hosting.

Founded in 2001, this hosting provider is located in St. Louis Missouri in the United States where it also runs its own data center. The company claims that RoseHosting.com was the first and only web hosting company in the world to offer commercial Linux virtual servers back in 2001 (under Rose Web Services LLC) and encourages its customers to verify the fact on Archive.org.

Notably, Rose Hosting is a Linux-only hosting organization specialized in VPS hosting (though the company also offers both shared and dedicated hosting plans now).

Additionally, this hosting provider has a strict no overselling policy – a practice that we don’t see often in budget / shared hosting market. Some of its more notable clients include the Altarum Institute, UPF.org,  and Voice IP Solutions.

Rose Hosting Plans

Rose Hosting offers numerous hosting plans and configurations to serve a variety of client needs. These plans include:

Shared Hosting

There are four shared hosting plans available, ranging from a 200 GB to 2,000 GB maximum monthly data transfer and 2 GB to 30 GB SSD disk storage. Prices range from $4.95 per month to $19.95 per month with varying features and inclusions between the plans – see screen shots below for comparisons.

All plans include free set-up, a spam blocker, unlimited parked domains, Cron jobs, a 30-day money back guarantee, and so on.

Key features in Rose shared hosting plans. Prices are based on yearly plan with 10% special discount (updated on May 31, 2018). Note that RoseHosting does not provider free domain during signup. Order here.

VPS Hosting

Rose’s VPS hosting comes with four available plans ranging from $19.95 to $79.95 per month.

On the low end, users receive two CPU cores with 1 GB of guaranteed memory and a 2,000 GB monthly file transfer limit. On the top end of the scale, users receive eight CPU cores, 8 GB of guaranteed memory, and 150 GB of disk space. Among the plentiful features are full root access, 24/7 support, a 100% uptime guarantee, free DNS hosting, SSD powered and free dedicated IP address.

RoseHosting managed VPS hosting plans. Prices are based on one year subscription with 10% special discount; all plans come with full root access and a free dedicated IP address. Order here.

Dedicated Hosting

RoseHosting offers four dedicated hosting plans, ranging from a $269.10 per month plan which includes hardware to support 24 GB memory, 500 GB disk, and 3,000 GB data transfers to the $1079.10 per month plan that includes 96 GB RAM, 2,000 GB disk, and unmetered data transfers.

RoseHosting dedicated hosting plans come in four flavors. Prices based on one year subscription with 10% discount (based on 10% special discount). Order here.

 

My Experience with RoseHosting

As mentioned, I personally have been testing Rose Hosting’s Shared 1000 plan since November of 2013, and in that time, I’ve found lots of good and not much bad – a rarity for both me and the hosting world in general.

The Pros: What I Like About RoseHosting?

1- Fast and Reliable Hosting

As a whole, Rose Hosting is a very good web host maintaining remarkable uptime and site speeds; its overall uptime record is 99.99% while the maximum site response time has been 300 ms – nothing to scoff at. Compared to other web hosts that I have tracked, the site response time is quite notable. The average response time of my other basic WordPress dormant blogs range from 1,500 to 2,000 ms – in contrast, Rose Hosting is nothing shy of five times as fast!

Additionally, though I personally have not tested the support system, I have heard nothing but good things about the customer support and after sales service as a whole. Again, impressive – particularly considering that people are, in general, much more likely to share the bad than the good.

RoseHosting Uptime

We have been tracking RoseHosting uptime since November 2013. Here are some recent results we gathered using third party uptime tracking tool.

rose - 201603
RoseHosting uptime scores for Past 30 days (March 2016): 100%. It’s almost pointless to publish these uptime score screens for RoseHosting because it’s always 100% for the past one year.
Rose Hosting uptime scores for Past 30 days (May - June 2014)
RoseHosting uptime scores for Past 30 days (May – June 2014): 100%

Rose Hosting Uptime Score (March - April 2014): 99.97%
RoseHosting Uptime Score (March – April 2014): 99.97%

RoseHosting Speed Test

Recent speed test (May 2018) shows test site hosted at RoseHosting is loading quick (TTFB rating = A).

 

2- Slight price difference after first term

Unlike some other hosting companies, RoseHosting does not jack up their hosting prices after first term.

Take SSD Business for example: signup rate = $9.95/mo, renewal rate = $10.75/mo on annual billing. The difference is minimum and reasonable.

3- Free site migrations for first time customers

Why stress it when you can let the pros do all the heavy lifting work? All new users get free site migration service when they switch to Rose Hosting.

4- RV Site Builder Pro

All RoseHosting shared hosting plans are bundled with RV Site Builder Pro. This is a huge time saver for layman and non-technical person. You can simply build a simple site without the need of web development experience or programming skills.

RV Site Builder Pro. You can try edit and build a website using this demo.

The Cons: What I Dislike About RoseHosting

1- Expect better shared hosting features

At the price of $10.35/mo (four-year average cost), I would expect to get more from my web host.

RoseHosting SSD Business plan allows only five domains and 20 databases. Dedicated IP addresses, Cloud Flare CDN (a $10 is charged for setup fees), daily backup features, etc are only available for users who are willing to pay extra.

2- Server location in United States only

RoseHosting runs its own data center in St. Louis, Missouri, United States and does not offer other options in term of server location. There might be latency issue if majority of your site users are based outside United States.

We discussed about latency and published few web host listings based on latency analysis. To learn more read-

RoseHosting Review by Verified Users

RoseHosting has been around for more than a decade. But to my surprise – there are so few user reviews available online.

The web host is not even featured on most of the popular hosting review sites. In case you are looking for more meaningful feedbacks on RoseHosting, here’s one I have bumped into during my research. The original review is published here on Web Hosting Talk.

Start Time: December 2010
End Time: January 2010
Reason for Leaving: Linux learning curve was too high for alloted time frame and a new customer I acquired requires .NET hosting; it had nothing to do with their support or services.
Server Info: Copied from initial email.

Price: $34.99 http://www.rosehosting.com/virtserv-spec.html
Operating System: CentOS 5
Disk Space: 45 GB (This includes the space taken by the OS)
Memory: 1500 MB
Transfer Per Month: 1500 GB
IP Address: 206.196.111.139
Physical Host Name: vs1139.rosehosting.com (to be used before your DNS
changes propagate)
DNS Servers (unless you ordered your own DNS servers):
ns1.rosehosting.com (216.114.78.148)
ns2.rosehosting.com (216.114.78.155)

Summary: I discovered RoseHosting through a combination of Google searches and after doing a few hours of research I thought I’d give them a shot even though I have no experience with CentOS or Linux. I used their service for about four weeks and during that time experienced zero issues. As Linux was new to me I also submitted half a dozen help desk tickets and spoke with their live chat support several times. Every time I spoke with someone they were both knowledgeable and helpful, help desk tickets were usually answered within 2 hours.

As far as the system goes, I set up and had three 32-man Team Fortress 2 servers running on the server along with three websites. I had some Steam friends hop on the servers several times and they all ran fine including boatloads of addons, sub 100ms ping times. Here is the GameTracker link to one of the servers as further proof. I’m not sure how’d they do under full stress but with about 20 concurrent users I saw no change. They also ran multiple Counter-Strike servers well.

Initial setup took about 18 hours but I also ordered at about 3AM on Christmas eve. I emailed for a refund over the weekend and received it today. I actually feel bad for going back and asking for a refund as they helped me quite a bit. Overall I was very pleased with their service and would recommend them to anyone out there looking for a cheap Linux-Based VPS from a reliable company.

RoseHosting Alternatives

Other similar hosting services you might want to check out:

Wrapping Up: Is RoseHosting a go?

Short answer: Yes.

At the end of the day, hosting stability and speed are what matters the most. And RoseHosting did exceptionally well in that region. Hence, I recommend Rose Hosting to organizations or individuals who are looking for a solid hosting solution with strict no-oversell rules.