Cloudways Review

評論人:Jerry Low。 .
  • 評論更新:Aug 03,2021
Cloudways
計劃審查:Cloudways DO
評論者:Jerry Low
評分:
評論更新: 8月03日, 2021
總結
對於某些企業(例如SaaS提供商,初創企業,開發人員或需要更多信息網站的企業),Cloudways是理想的選擇。 對於需要敏捷性的彈性站點而言,無論是在服務器功能還是在數據傳輸方面,規模的靈活性都是非常寶貴的。

我對 Cloudways 的體驗

我多年來一直在使用 Cloudways。 在撰寫本文時,我在 Cloudways 的兩台服務器上託管了 3 個項目,包括這個站點(WebHostingSecretRevealed.net) 你在閱讀。 在像 Cloudways 這樣的託管雲平台上託管是昂貴的(它們的成本通常高出 100% – 120%),但它具有許多純雲託管或傳統託管提供商無法提供的優勢。

在這篇評論中,我將展示 Cloudways 的工作原理,並詳細分享我對他們服務的看法。

如果您是託管雲託管環境的新手並且想知道它是否適合您的網站 - 這篇評論應該很好讀。

什麼是Cloudways?

Cloudways 是一家系統集成商,幫助人們在各種雲平台上部署他們的解決方案。

Cloudways 的商業模式相當獨特——他們不是真正的網絡託管服務提供商,而是作為一個 平台即服務(PaaS)提供商.

該公司為用戶提供各種雲平台的公平選擇,從非常實惠的 Digital Ocean 到昂貴的亞馬遜網絡服務 (AWS)。 這意味著實際性能高度依賴於平台,而不是 Cloudways 的責任。

由於它們所處的獨特地位,我們將比實際表現更貼切地看待它們如何設置以幫助您管理您所支付的服務。 這包括儀表板UI設計,添加防火牆和內容分發網絡(CDN)等功能,當然還有客戶服務。

關於 Cloudways,公司

  • 總部:馬耳他莫斯塔
  • 成立時間:2011
  • 服務:託管基於雲的託管,應用程序部署,基礎架構管理

我的 Cloudways 評論摘要

Cloudways 獨家優惠:免費獲得 10 美元積分

WHSR 讀者特別優惠——如果您使用促銷代碼,您將獲得 10 美元的信用額度“WHSR10”在註冊過程中。

Cloudways獨家優惠
使用促銷代碼“WHSR10”獲得 Cloudways 的 10 美元免費託管積分(點擊這裡立即註冊).

 

 


 

優點:我喜歡Cloudways

1. 令人印象深刻的性能 – 快速可靠

雖然到目前為止我確實遇到了 Cloudways 服務器的出色性能,但這更多是基礎設施提供商本身的結果。 它們中的每一個都必然有自己的性能優勢(也許也有怪癖!)所以同樣,它非常依賴於提供者。

就我而言 - 我正在使用 Digital Ocean 基礎設施並通過 Cloudways 平台對其進行管理。

Cloudways 託管正常運行時間

Cloudways 2021 年 XNUMX 月、XNUMX 月、XNUMX 月的正常運行時間
Cloudways 2021 年 100 月、100 月和 99.93 月的正常運行時間:XNUMX%、XNUMX% 和 XNUMX%。 XNUMX 月的停機時間部分受定期維護的影響。 我多年來一直在使用 Cloudways 託管 - 總的來說,他們的服務器性能非常好。 但是請記住,Cloudways 不擁有他們的基礎設施。 測試站點實際上託管在 Digital Ocean 並通過 Cloudways 進行管理。

 

2。 集成儀表板

您支付給 Cloudways 的費用是為了支付他們的管理服務和附加功能的費用,例如控制平台、服務遷移、用戶儀表板等。

由於它們所處的獨特地位,我們將比實際表現更貼切地看待它們如何設置以幫助您管理您所支付的服務。 這包括儀表板UI設計,添加防火牆和內容分發網絡(CDN)等功能,當然還有客戶服務。

幸好沒有讓我失望。 Cloudways 的集成儀表板功能強大,非常人性化,非常適合開發人員和/或代理機構,甚至可能是計劃單獨管理多個自己站點的公司。 他們可以為每個客戶提供託管平台的選擇,然後他們可以從一個點進行管理。

因為在每個 Cloudways 帳戶中,用戶可以為其網站和應用程序購買和設置多台服務器——我們需要一種系統的方法來對這些用戶的工作進行分組。 Cloudways 將用戶的工作分為三類:項目、服務器、應用程序。 我將在以下屏幕截圖中演示他們的平台是如何工作的。

雲道平台
項目是以某種方式相關(通過活動、部門、地理位置等)的服務器和應用程序的邏輯組。 如果您有許多服務器和應用程序,這是一種組織帳戶的便捷方式。 當您第一次開始使用 Cloudways 時 - 登錄到您的儀表板並通過導航到“項目”選項卡來添加您的第一個項目。
演示 - Cloudways 平台 - 添加服務器
將項目添加到帳戶後,繼續購買您的第一台服務器並部署應用程序。 在此屏幕截圖中,我正在購買 Linode 服務器並在其上部署 WordPress 應用程序。 請注意,每月的託管費用顯示在您的頁面底部。 準備好後單擊“立即啟動”。
演示 - Cloudways 平台 - 添加服務器
您將獲得針對不同基礎架構提供商的不同服務器定制。 對於 Linode、Vultr 和 Digital Ocean——服務器包相當固定,您只能選擇存儲大小和服務器位置。 您將通過 Google Cloud Platform 和 Amazon AWS 獲得更多選擇,其中您的帶寬、服務器存儲大小、數據庫大小和服務器位置都是可自定義的。
Cloudways平台演示
配置服務器和應用程序後,您可以使用頂部導航選項卡導航和管理它們。 在“服務器”下 - 您將管理主憑據、監控服務器使用情況、擴展(或縮減)服務器、運行完整的服務器備份和恢復以及基本的服務器安全設置。
Cloudways平台演示
在“應用程序”下——你將把你的項目鏈接到一個域名、備份和恢復你的數據庫、運行 cron 作業、監控應用程序活動、安裝 SSL 證書和設置 Git 部署。 如果您在團隊中工作,您也可以在此處添加新團隊成員的訪問權限。
使用“服務器”頁面管理每個服務器的核心服務。

 

3。 強大的插件

再次回到 Cloudways 是一個集成商這一點,這也意味著每個平台都可以帶有自己的防火牆以及 內容傳送網絡(CDN) 服務。 這對 Cloudways 上的新站點非常有幫助,這再次反映了它對開發人員的有用性。 從字面上看,它可以成為他們向客戶推送的一站式商店。

但是,對此有一個警告,那就是希望遷移到 Cloudways 的經驗豐富的站點不會發現這有幫助。 例如,WHSR 已經在使用自己的 CDN 和防火牆,因此我們不會從遠離這些中受益。

然而,Cloudways還有其他功能,例如:

輕鬆克隆/暫存/服務器傳輸

Cloudways 的服務器克隆
在 Cloudways 平台上,服務器克隆、服務器傳輸或應用程序暫存設置都可以在幾次點擊內完成。 這些功能對開發人員或機構特別有用。

準備好GIT

自動化的Git部署(插件部署日誌)–我通過GIT測試了部署,它的工作原理很吸引人。

服務器監控

Cloudways上的服務器監視–簡單的圖表,可確定何時該進行升級。

自動和按需備份

Cloudways 有兩種類型的備份——這兩種功能都包含在所有標準 Cloudways 帳戶中。 完整的服務器備份 - 只需點擊幾下即可備份整個服務器; 或者您可以備份或恢復服務器中的特定應用程序。 在這個屏幕截圖中,我展示了應用程序備份和恢復頁面。 在這裡,您可以通過單擊“立即備份”按鈕輕鬆地為應用程序創建按需備份; 或通過單擊“立即恢復應用程序”按鈕恢復您的應用程序。

 

4。 易於擴展

基於雲的託管的主要優勢之一是他們的計劃具有極高的可擴展性。 這為網站所有者提供了極端敏捷的潛力,但通常需要通過支持或銷售渠道。

您可以擴展資源的數量取決於您在註冊Cloudways時選擇的平台。 每個平台都有自己的縮小規模。 例如,Digital Ocean僅允許向上縮放。 如果你想縮小規模,那就更多了。

雲道的垂直縮放
要擴展服務器,請轉到服務器 > 垂直擴展 > 選擇所需的服務器大小。

 

5。 易於協作

Cloudways有一個稱為“團隊”的功能,可讓您將成員添加到協作組。 這使您不僅可以將成員組合到項目中,還可以將其訪問權限分成不同的組。 例如,您可以將成員分配給支持,或者將其他成員分配給雲控制台。

Cloudways Team功能允許您創建對您的帳戶,服務器和應用程序具有不同級別訪問權限的團隊成員。

 

6。 託管安全

再次回到他們作為系統集成商,Cloudways通過監督安全管理來妥善處理其帳戶。 這會給那些與他們簽約的網站所有者帶來很大負擔。 從1-點擊免費SSL安裝到安全補丁和2FA,幾乎所有網站都需要這裡。

 

7。 免費試用

當涉及到如此重大的舉動時 雲主機,它總是有助於您自己了解要準備什麼。 在某些方面,Cloudways 更加獨特,因為統一的儀表板可以鏈接多個雲平台。

這使他們的免費試用更具吸引力,你甚至不需要信用卡來註冊它。 試用版讓您可以完全訪問其所有功能,因此如果您決定使用這些功能,您將準確了解自己購買的內容。

獨家優惠:在您支付任何費用之前免費獲得 10 美元

Cloudways獨家優惠
使用促銷代碼“WHSR10”獲得 Cloudways 的 10 美元免費託管積分(點擊這裡立即註冊).

 

8。 免費白手套網站遷移

我試過Cloudways 網站遷移服務 1月2019。 我的WordPress網站在不到2天內完全轉移 - 我所做的只是提供我的原始帳戶信息(域名,SSH登錄,cPanel登錄等),技術支持完成了所有其他工作。 這是一個順利的過程。

Cloudways網站遷移服務搖滾!

 

缺點:我不喜歡Cloudways

1.有限的服務器控制

這是一個關於它是否好的爭論話題,但我個人認為對服務器缺乏控制是不方便的。 到目前為止,我所注意到的關於Cloudways環境的所有內容都傾向於開發人員,這些限制更令人困惑。

即使是像設置一樣基本的東西 cron工作,我不得不通過Cloudways支持人員尋求幫助。 有一個預先設定的表格填寫有用,但仍然需要我等待它完成 - 等待幾天!

對於新手而言,這是有幫助的,但對我或甚至許多開發人員來說,這將是浪費時間 - 其中許多人會對他們的客戶負責。

 

Cloudways計劃和定價

Cloudways定價
Cloudways 計劃和定價(2021 年 XNUMX 月檢查)。

因為 Cloudways 不是基礎設施提供商,所以您的 Cloudways 賬單價格(以及其他一切)因您的選擇而異。 有五個主要服務平台可供選擇——Digital Ocean、Linode、VULTR、Amazon Web Services 和 Google Cloud Platform。

僅在原始定價中,Digital Ocean配備了最便宜的踩踏計劃,每月10,1GB內存,單處理器內核,25GB存儲和1TB帶寬。 但是,因為這些都是雲服務,所以天空實際上是您可以擴展到的範圍的極限。

Cloudways定價模型介紹

不管 這些託管價格,請務必注意,無論您通過Cloudways註冊的平台是什麼,您所支付的費用都是如果您直接與他們簽署的,提供商將向您收取的費用的兩倍。 這不是騙局,而是您為Cloudways為方便起見而提供的許多服務所要付出的代價。

範例檔案

數字海洋 (DO)Cloudways + 做VultrCloudways + Vultr
1計劃$ 5 /月$ 10 /月$ 5 /月$ 11 /月
2計劃$ 10 /月$ 22 /月$ 10 /月$ 23 /月
3計劃$ 20 /月$ 42 /月$ 20 /月$ 44 /月

 

 

Cloudways替代品

雲託管不一定優於VPS託管,因為如果有良好的VPS服務提供商,也有可能進行白手套擴展。 VPS計劃還可以 比雲計劃便宜 (這意味著比Cloudways便宜得多)。 這些是決定切換到Cloudways時應考慮的因素。

類似(但便宜)的解決方案

ScalaHosted託管VPS作為Cloudways的替代方案
ScalaHosting 託管 VPS 計劃作為 Cloudways (點擊這裡訂購).

ScalaHosting 通過其“託管雲VPS計劃”提供類似Cloudways的服務。 配備了內部開發的軟件(SPanel和SShiled)和Digital Ocean基礎設施– Scala以更低的價格出售相同的服務器容量。 由於我們從同一提供商處獲得了相同的基礎架構,因此選擇便宜的選項似乎是理所當然的事情。

傳統的VPS主機

Interserver InMotion Hosting 是傳統VPS託管的兩個來源。 它們都提供各種級別的VPS計劃,這些計劃與雲託管計劃一樣強大。 例如,SiteGround VPS託管從具有2GB內存的4 CPU核心開始,可以以4 / mo的8GB內存達到80核心(與Cloudways的DO類似計劃相同)。

雲託管與cPanel

Hostinger提供付費託管計劃 及 TMDhosting 兩者都有基於雲技術的共享託管。 前者特別有趣,因為它允許以極低的價格從7.45 CPU內核和2GB內存開始以極低的價格進入雲託管。

參閱 Cloudways的10種出色替代品

 

 

結論:Cloudways適合您嗎?

從個人經驗來看,我發現Cloudways是一種混合體驗。 對我而言,最好的是在雲基礎架構上的性能。 它易於使用,並且已經有大量工具可用。

但與此同時,我卻錯過了獲得的控制權 傳統的VPS託管.

根據您的個人情況以及您目前所在的提供者或計劃,當然體驗會有所不同。 我覺得核心就在那裡 - 雲平台,其他一切都是根據需要而命中或失敗。

誰應該託管Cloudways?

對於某些企業,例如SaaS提供商,初創企業,開發人員或需要不僅僅是一個簡單的“ flyer”網站的企業,該平台似乎是理想的選擇。 就服務器能力和數據傳輸而言,規模的靈活性對於需要敏捷性的彈性站點而言是無價的。

同時,他們擁有客戶支持人員,他們隨時準備為您提供解決您可能遇到的任何問題的解決方案。

我的兩分錢是,需要根據需要仔細考慮Cloudways的使用情況。 我看不到 最簡單的商業網站 或需要這種功能才能運行的博客。

 

關於Jerry Low

WebHostingSecretRevealed.net (WHSR) 的創始人 - 他的托管評論文受到 100,000 用戶的信任和使用。 在網絡託管、聯盟營銷和 SEO 方面擁有超過 15 年的經驗。 ProBlogger.net、Business.com、SocialMediaToday.com 等的貢獻者。

Cloudways Review

Reviewed by: Jerry Low . .
  • Review Updated: Aug 03, 2021
Cloudways
Plan in review: Cloudways DO
Reviewed by: Jerry Low
Rating:
Review Updated: August 03, 2021
Summary
Cloudways is ideal for certain businesses - such as SaaS providers, start-ups, developers, or businesses that need more than just an informational website. The flexibility of scale in terms of both server power and data transfer is invaluable for elastic sites that demand agility.

My Experience with Cloudways

I have been using Cloudways for years. At this time of writing I host 3 projects in two servers at Cloudways, including this site (WebHostingSecretRevealed.net) you are reading. Hosting on a Managed Cloud Platform like Cloudways is expensive (they are usually cost 100% – 120% more) but it has many advantages that pure cloud hosting or traditional hosting providers can't give.

In this review, I will demonstrate how things work in Cloudways and share my thoughts about their services in detail.

If you are new to Managed Cloud Hosting environment and wonder if it's right for your website – this review should be a good read.

What is Cloudways?

Cloudways is a systems integrator who helps people deploy their solutions on a variety of Cloud platforms.

Cloudways' business model is rather unique – instead of being an actual web hosting services provider, they work as a Platform as a Service (PaaS) provider.

The company offers users a fair choice of various Cloud Platforms ranging from the very affordable Digital Ocean to pricey as heck Amazon Web Services (AWS). This means that actual performance is highly dependent on the platform rather than being the onus of Cloudways.

Because of this unique position that they are in, what we will be looking at more closely than actual performance is how they are setup to help you manage the services you are paying for. This includes things like dashboard UI design, add on features such as firewall and Content Distribution Network (CDN), and of course, customer service.

About Cloudways, the Company

  • Headquarters: Mosta, Malta
  • Established: 2011
  • Services: Managed Cloud-based Hosting, Application deployment, Infrastructure management

My Cloudways Review Summary

Cloudways Exclusive Deal: Get Free $10 Credit

Special deal for WHSR readers – You'll get $10 credit if you use promo code “WHSR10” during signup.

Cloudways exclusive offer
Apply promo code “WHSR10” to get free $10 hosting credits with Cloudways (click here to signup now).

 

 


 

Pros: What I like About Cloudways

1. Impressive Performance – Fast and Reliable

While it is true that I have so far encountered excellent performance from Cloudways servers this is more a result of the infrastructure providers themselves. Each of them is bound to have their own performance advantages (and maybe quirks too!) so again, it is very provider-dependent.

In my case – I am using Digital Ocean infrastructure and managing it via Cloudways platform.

Cloudways Hosting Uptime

Cloudways Uptime for May, June, July 2021
Cloudways Uptime for May, June, and July 2021: 100%, 100%, and 99.93%. July downtime is partly affected by a scheduled maintenance. I have been hosting with Cloudways for years – in overall, their server performance has been great. However do keep in mind that Cloudways does not own their infrastructure. Test site is actually hosted at Digital Ocean and managed via Cloudways.

 

2. Integrated Dashboard

The fees you pay to Cloudways are meant to cover their management services and pay for add on features such as control platforms, service migrations, user dashboards and the like.

Because of this unique position that they are in, what we will be looking at more closely than actual performance is how they are setup to help you manage the services you are paying for. This includes things like dashboard UI design, add on features such as firewall and Content Distribution Network (CDN), and of course, customer service.

Fortunately I was not disappointed. Cloudways' integrated dashboard is powerful, extremely users-friendly, and it's ideal for developers and/or agencies, or even perhaps companies which are planning to manage several of their own sites separately. They can offer each of their customers a choice of hosting platform which they can then manage from a single point.

Because in each Cloudways account users can purchase and setup multiple servers for their websites and applications – we need a systematical way to group these users work. Cloudways group users' work in three categories: Projects, Servers, Applications. I will demonstrate how their platform works in the following screenshots.

cloudways platform
Projects are logical groups of servers and applications that are somehow related (through campaign, department, geographical location, etc.). It is a convenient way to organize your account if you have many servers and applications. When you first get started with Cloudways – login to your dashboard and add your first project by navigating to the “Projects” tab.
Demo - Cloudways Platform - Adding a Server
Once you have added a project to your account, move on to purchase your first server and deploy an application. In this screenshot I am purchasing a Linode server and deploying a WordPress application on to it. Note that the monthly hosting fee is shown at the bottom of your page. Click “Launch Now” when ready.
Demo - Cloudways Platform - Adding a Server
You'll get different server customization for different infrastructure providers. For Linode, Vultr, and Digital Ocean – the server packages are rather fixed and you only get to choose the storage size and server locations. You'll get more options with Google Cloud Platform and Amazon AWS where your bandwidth, server storage size, database size, and server location are customizable.
Cloudways Platform Demo
Once your server and applications are configured, you can navigate and manage them using the top navigation tabs. Under “Servers” – you'll get to manage Master Credentials, monitor server usages, scaling up (or down) your server, run full server backups and restoration, and basic server security setup.
Cloudways Platform Demo
Under “Applications” – You'll get to link your project to a domain name, backup and restore your database, run cron jobs, monitor apps activities, install SSL certificates, and setup Git deployment. This is also where you can add new team members' access if you are working in a team.
Manage core services for each server using the “Servers” page.

 

3. Powerful Addons

Back again to the point that Cloudways is an integrator, this also means that each platform can come with its own firewall as well as Content Delivery Network (CDN) services. This is something that can extremely helpful for new sites on Cloudways, which is again reflective of its usefulness for developers. It can literally be a one-stop-shop for them to push on to clients.

However, there is a caveat to this and that is the fact that seasoned sites wanting to move to Cloudways won’t find that helpful. For example, WHSR is already using its own CDN and firewall hence we won’t benefit from moving away from those.

There are however other functionalities that come with Cloudways, for example:

Easy Cloning / Staging / Server Transfers

Server Cloning at Cloudways
At Cloudways platform server cloning, server transfer, or application staging setup all can be done within a few clicks. These features are especially useful for developers or agencies.

GIT Ready

Automated Git deployment (plug deployment logs) – I tested deployment via GIT and it works like charm.

Server Monitoring

Server monitoring at Cloudways – Simple chart to determine when it's the right time to upgrade.

Auto and On-demand Backup

There are two types of backup at Cloudways – both features were included in all standard Cloudways accounts. A full server backup – which allows you to backup your entire server in a few clicks; or you can backup or restore a particular application in your server. In this screenshot I am showing the Application Backup & Restore Page. This is where you can easily create an on-demand backup for the application by clicking the “Take Backup Now” button; or to restore your application by clicking “Restore Application Now” button.

 

4. Easy Scalability

One of the main advantages of Cloud-based hosting is that their plans are extremely scalable. This gives site owners the potential for extreme agility, but normally requires going through support or sales channels.

How much you can scale your resources depends on which platform you opt for when you sign up with Cloudways. Each platform has its own little quirks for scaling. For example, Digital Ocean only allows upward scaling. If you want to scale down, it is a lot more involved.

vertical scaling at cloudways
To scale up your server, go to Servers > Vertical Scaling > Select the desired Server Size.

 

5. Easy for Collaboration

Cloudways has something it calls a ‘Teams’ feature which lets you add members to a collaborative group. This lets you not just combine members on to a project but also separate their access into distinct groups. For example, you might assign members to support or some others to have Cloud Console access.

Cloudways Team feature allows you to create Team member(s) with different levels of access to your account, servers and applications.

 

6. Managed Security

Again, going back to them being a system integrator, Cloudways takes good care of its accounts by overseeing security management. This takes a very big load off site owners who sign on with them. From 1-click free SSL installation to security patches and 2FA, there is pretty much everything most site would need here.

 

7. Free Trial

When it comes to a move as significant as that to Cloud hosting, it always helps for you to see for yourself what to be prepared for. In some ways, Cloudways is even more distinct because of the unified dashboard which can link multiple Cloud Platforms.

This makes their free trial even more attractive and you don’t even need a credit card to sign up for it. The trial gives you complete access to all their features, so you’ll know exactly what you are buying in to if you decide to sign on with them.

Exclusive deal: Get free $10 before you pay anything

Cloudways exclusive offer
Apply promo code “WHSR10” to get free $10 hosting credits with Cloudways (click here to signup now).

 

8. Free white glove site migration

I tried Cloudways site migration service in January 2019. My WordPress site got fully transferred in less than 2 days – all I did was providing my original account info (domain name, SSH login, cPanel login, etc) and the tech support did all other work. It was a smooth process.

Cloudways site migration service rocks!

 

Cons: What I dislike about Cloudways

1. Limited Server Control

This is a topic of debate as to whether it is good or not, but personally I find that the lack of control over servers is inconvenient. Since to date everything I have noticed about the Cloudways environment is leaning towards developers, having those limitations is even more baffling.

Even for something as basic as setting up a cron job, I had to go through Cloudways support staff for assistance. There was a pre-set form to fill out which was useful, but still required me to wait for it to be done – a few days of a wait!

For newbies, this is helpful but for me or even many developers it would be a waste of time – time which many of them would be accountable to their clients for.

 

Cloudways Plans & Pricing

Cloudways Pricing
Cloudways Plans & Pricing (checked August 2021).

Because Cloudways is not the infrastructure provider, your Cloudways bill prices (as well as everything else) vary depending on your choice. There is a choice of five main service platforms – Digital Ocean, Linode, VULTR, Amazon Web Services and Google Cloud Platform.

In raw pricing alone Digital Ocean comes with the cheapest stepping-off plan at $10 per month with 1GB of RAM, single processor core, 25GB storage and 1TB of bandwidth. However, because these are all Cloud services the sky is virtually the limit of what you can scale up to.

Cloudways Pricing Model Explained

Regardless of these hosting prices, it is important to note that whatever platform you sign up with through Cloudways you are paying double of what that provider would charge you if you signed up with them direct. This isn’t a scam, but is the price you pay for the many services Cloudways is providing for your convenience.

Examples

DigitalOcean (DO)Cloudways + DOVultrCloudways + Vultr
Plan 1$5/mo$10/mo$5/mo$11/mo
Plan 2$10/mo$22/mo$10/mo$23/mo
Plan 3$20/mo$42/mo$20/mo$44/mo

 

 

Cloudways Alternatives

Cloud hosting is not necessarily superior to VPS hosting since there is also the possibility of white-glove scaling with a good VPS service provider. VPS plans can also be cheaper than Cloud plans (which means much cheaper than Cloudways). These are the factors you should consider when deciding on switching to Cloudways.

Similar (but Cheaper) Solutions

ScalaHosting Managed VPS as Cloudways Alternatives
ScalaHosting Managed VPS Plans as cheaper alternatives to Cloudways (click here to order).

ScalaHosting offers similar service like Cloudways with their “Managed Cloud VPS Plan”. Equipped with in-house developed software (SPanel and SShiled) and Digital Ocean infrastructure – Scala is selling the same server capacity at a much cheaper rate. As we are getting the same infrastructure from the same provider – it seems no-brainer to go with the cheaper option.

Traditional VPS Hosting

Interserver and InMotion Hosting are two sources of traditional VPS hosting. Both of them offer various tiers of VPS plans that are quite as capable as Cloud hosting plans. For example, SiteGround VPS hosting starts at 2 CPU cores with 4GB of memory and can go up to 4 cores with 8GB memory at $80/mo (same price with DO similar plans at Cloudways).

Cloud Hosting with cPanel

Hostinger and TMDhosting both have shared hosting based on Cloud technology. The former is especially interesting because it allows entry to Cloud hosting at fantastic prices starting from as low as $7.45 per month with 2 CPU cores and 3GB of memory.

Also read – 10 outstanding alternatives to Cloudways

 

 

Verdict: Is Cloudways Right for You?

From personal experience I have found Cloudways to be a mixed experience. The best thing about it for me was in terms of performance on the Cloud infrastructure. It was easy to use and there were a ton of tools already in place.

Yet at the same time, I miss the control I get to have with traditional VPS hosting.

The experience will differ of course, based on your individual situation as well as which provider or plan you are currently on. I feel that the core is there – the Cloud platform and everything else is a hit or miss depending on need.

Who Should Host With Cloudways?

This platform seems ideal for certain businesses, such as SaaS providers, start-ups, developers, or businesses that need more than just a simple “flyer” website. The flexibility of scale in terms of both server power and data transfer is invaluable for elastic sites that demand agility.

At the same time, they have customer support who are ready to spoon-feed you with solutions to any problems you might have.

My two cents is that Cloudways uptake needs to be carefully considered based on need. I can’t see most simple business sites or blogs requiring this level of power to operate.

 

About Jerry Low

Founder of WebHostingSecretRevealed.net (WHSR) - a hosting review trusted and used by 100,000's users. More than 15 years experience in web hosting, affiliate marketing, and SEO. Contributor to ProBlogger.net, Business.com, SocialMediaToday.com, and more.