RoseHosting Review

I highly recommend Rose Hosting; particularly for folks specifically looking for a quality host who strictly does not oversell. I personally have been testing Rose Hosting’s Shared 1000 plan since November 2013, and I’ve found lots of good and not much bad. Read on to learn more.

RoseHosting

URL:
http://www.rosehosting.com
Services:
Shared, VPS, Dedi. Hosting
Price:
$4.95/m3

Reviewed by:
Rating:
5
Review Last Updated: May 30, 2016


Summary

I highly recommend Rose Hosting; particularly for folks specifically looking for a quality host who strictly does not oversell. I personally have been testing Rose Hosting’s Shared 1000 plan since November 2013, and I’ve found lots of good and not much bad.

There are plenty of hosting providers out there to choose from, but it’s hard to find one with a longer history than that of Rose Hosting. Founded in 2001, this hosting provider is located in St. Louis Missouri in the United States where it also runs its own data center. The company claims that RoseHosting.com was the first and only web hosting company in the world to offer commercial Linux virtual servers back in 2001 (under Rose Web Services LLC) and encourages its customers to verify the fact on Archive.org.

Notably, Rose Hosting is a Linux-only hosting organization specialized in VPS hosting (though the company also offers both shared and dedicated hosting plans now).

Additionally, this hosting provider has a strict no overselling policy – a policy of great value in the shared space arena. Some of its more notable clients include the Altarum Institute, UPF.org,  and Voice IP Solutions.

RoseHosting Exclusive Discount

RoseHosting offers exclusive discount to some of their partners and WHSR is proudly one of them. Sign up using promo code WHSR and receive a 25% discount on shared and VPS hosting plans for life (Read! Not just for your first term – but forever).

RoseHosting Promo Code: WHSR
Details: 10% discount for life in RoseHosting shared and VPS hosting.

Rose Hosting Plans

Rose Hosting offers numerous hosting plans and configurations to serve a variety of client needs. These plans include:

Shared Hosting

RoseHosting Shared Hosting Plans (Price as for July 2014)

RoseHosting Shared Hosting Plans (Price as for July 2014)

There are five shared hosting plans available, ranging from a 20,000 MB to 60,000 MB maximum monthly data transfer and 500 MB to 8,000 MB disk space. Prices range from $3.95 per month to $24.95 per month with varying features and inclusions between the plans – see table below for comparisons.

All plans include free set-up, a spam blocker, unlimited parked domains, Cron jobs, a 30-day money back guarantee, and so on.

FeaturesShared 250Shared 500Shared 1000*Shared 2000Shared 4000
Hosted Domains124710
SSD Disk Storage500 MB1000 MB2000 MB4000 MB8000 MB
Data Transfer20 GB30 GB40 GB50 GB60 GB
Own IP AddressNoNoNoYesYes
Email Accounts50UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Sub-Domains25102030
MySQL DBs25102030
FTP Accounts51050100Unlimited
Weekly BackupFreeFreeFreeFreeFree
Price Starting at$3.95/mo$5.95/mo$9.95/mo$17.95/mo$24.95/mo
* The plan we are currently testing.

VPS Hosting

RoseHosting VPS Price (July 2014)

RoseHosting VPS Price (July 2014)

Rose’s VPS hosting comes with four available plans ranging from $19.95 to $79.95 per month. On the low end, users receive two CPU cores with 1 GB of guaranteed memory and a 2,000 GB monthly file transfer limit. On the top end of the scale, users receive eight CPU cores, 4096 MB of guaranteed memory, and 150 GB of disk space. Among the plentiful features are full root access, 24/7 support, a 100% uptime guarantee, free DNS hosting, SSD powered (yes, they are using SSD storage for all VPS plans) and more.

Dedicated Hosting

RoseHosting Dedicated Hosting Price Details (July 2014)

RoseHosting Dedicated Hosting Price Details (July 2014)

RoseHosting offers four dedicated hosting plans, ranging from a $299 per month plan which includes hardware to support 2 GB memory, 500 GB disk, and 2000 GB data transfers to the $399 per month plan that includes 4 GB RAM, 500 GB disk, and 5000 GB data transfers. All plans come with one free one dedicated IP address.

visit rosehosting

In My Experience with RoseHosting

As mentioned, I personally have been testing Rose Hosting’s Shared 1000 plan since November of 2013, and in that time, I’ve found lots of good and not much bad – a rarity for both me and the hosting world in general.

The good – What I Like About RoseHosting?

Fast and Reliable Hosting

As a whole, Rose Hosting is a very good web host maintaining remarkable uptime and site speeds; its overall uptime record is 99.99% while the maximum site response time has been 300 ms – nothing to scoff at. Compared to other web hosts that I have tracked, the site response time is quite notable. The average response time of my other basic WordPress dormant blogs range from 1,500 to 2,000 ms – in contrast, Rose Hosting is nothing shy of five times as fast! (See uptime and site load time record in next section.)

Additionally, though I personally have not tested the support system, I have heard nothing but good things about the customer support and after sales service as a whole. Again, impressive – particularly considering that people are, in general, much more likely to share the bad than the good.

Reasonable Price

In terms of pricing, Rose Hosting is very reasonable and affordable – and, considering the fact that this hosting provider has a policy to not oversell, the shared hosting price is quite acceptable (in my opinion). Beyond that, there are ample opportunities to grow within Rose Hosting’s offerings since the provider offers a variety of services from shared hosting to high-end dedicated hosting configurations.

Note: Rose Hosting offers my site exclusive discount – use the promo code WHSR and get 10% life time discount on shared and VPS hosting plans (honestly this is a great savings).

The Not-so-good – What I Dislike About RoseHosting

This may be a first for me – I really can’t find any issues or major disadvantages to this hosting provider. If I really had to look for something, I suppose it would be that it would be nice to have a higher number of domains allowed per account on the shared hosting plans.

RoseHosting Uptime/Site Load Time Record

I have been tracking RoseHosting uptime since November 2013 using Uptime Robot. Here are couple of screenshots I’ve got for you – take note on the outstanding response time and uptime score.

rose - 201603

RoseHosting uptime scores for Past 30 days (March 2016): 100%. It’s almost pointless to publish these uptime score screens for RoseHosting because it’s always 100% for the past one year.

Rose Hosting uptime scores for Past 30 days (May - June 2014)

RoseHosting uptime scores for Past 30 days (May – June 2014): 100%

Rose Hosting Uptime Score (March - April 2014): 99.97%

RoseHosting Uptime Score (March – April 2014): 99.97%

RoseHosting User Feedbacks

RoseHosting has been around for more than a decade. But to my surprise – there are so few user reviews available online. The web host is not even featured on most of the popular hosting review sites. In case you are looking for more meaningful feedbacks on RoseHosting, here’s one I have bumped into during my research. The original review is published here on Web Hosting Talk.

Start Time: December 2010
End Time: January 2010
Reason for Leaving: Linux learning curve was too high for alloted time frame and a new customer I acquired requires .NET hosting; it had nothing to do with their support or services.
Server Info: Copied from initial email.

Price: $34.99 http://www.rosehosting.com/virtserv-spec.html
Operating System: CentOS 5
Disk Space: 45 GB (This includes the space taken by the OS)
Memory: 1500 MB
Transfer Per Month: 1500 GB
IP Address: 206.196.111.139
Physical Host Name: vs1139.rosehosting.com (to be used before your DNS
changes propagate)
DNS Servers (unless you ordered your own DNS servers):
ns1.rosehosting.com (216.114.78.148)
ns2.rosehosting.com (216.114.78.155)

Summary: I discovered RoseHosting through a combination of Google searches and after doing a few hours of research I thought I’d give them a shot even though I have no experience with CentOS or Linux. I used their service for about four weeks and during that time experienced zero issues. As Linux was new to me I also submitted half a dozen help desk tickets and spoke with their live chat support several times. Every time I spoke with someone they were both knowledgeable and helpful, help desk tickets were usually answered within 2 hours.

As far as the system goes, I set up and had three 32-man Team Fortress 2 servers running on the server along with three websites. I had some Steam friends hop on the servers several times and they all ran fine including boatloads of addons, sub 100ms ping times. Here is the GameTracker link to one of the servers as further proof. I’m not sure how’d they do under full stress but with about 20 concurrent users I saw no change. They also ran multiple Counter-Strike servers well.

Initial setup took about 18 hours but I also ordered at about 3AM on Christmas eve. I emailed for a refund over the weekend and received it today. I actually feel bad for going back and asking for a refund as they helped me quite a bit. Overall I was very pleased with their service and would recommend them to anyone out there looking for a cheap Linux-Based VPS from a reliable company.

Other Similar Web Hosts

You might also want to check out (and compare) these similar hosting services: InterServer (special discount available), A Small Orange (special discount available), MDD Hosting, Altus Host, SiteGround, Stable Box.

All Things Having Been Said…

At the end of the day, I recommend – no, wait for it – highly recommend Rose Hosting; particularly for organizations or individuals specifically looking for a quality host who strictly does not oversell.

If you’re interested in trying them out, they were kind enough to provide me with a site-exclusive discount. Sign up using promo code WHSR and receive a 10% discount on shared and VPS hosting plans for life (Read, not just for your first term – but forever).

visit rosehosting