FatCow Review

FatCow has been around for more than 15 years. The company has went thru two major economy downturns (the dot-com in 2000 and the sub-prime in 2008) and still alive today. But can you trust FatCow hosting with your website today? Read on.

FatCow Hosting

URL:
http://www.fatcow.com
Services:
Shared, VPS, Dedi Hosting
Price:
$3.15/mo

Reviewed by:
Rating:
3
Review Last Updated: June 23, 2016


Summary

FatCow is probably past its prime. At one time, it was a promising service with a lot to offer its customers, but that time is gone. I personally think it's better to go with one of the other hosts managed by the same company (EIG) as you’ll get the same reliable service for less money. Read on to find out more.

Established in 1998, FatCow made a name for itself by providing web hosting services for small to medium-sized businesses. FatCow is owned and managed by Endurance International Group (EIG), which is a large hosting business group. EIG also owns iPage, BlueHost, Hostgator, Arvixe, A Small Orange, and dozens of other hosting companies (see full list here). Because of that, FatCow is not just in competition with itself. It’s also in competition with its partner companies.

I tested FatCow in 2009, and at that time, I had a positive impression about its service. I was impressed by how different the company was, and I was pleased with its old-fashioned service. A lot can change in a few years, though, and that has been the case with FatCow.

Check out what FatCow has to offer and how my opinion of the web host has changed over the last several years.

What’s in the Farm: FatCow Web Hosting Plans

You have four options if you want to get a hosting plan with FatCow. You can get (the names of the hosting plans): Original FatCow, WordPress Blog, VPS Service, and Dedicated Servers.

Original FatCow

The Original FatCow is just another name for a shared hosting plan. This plan has an introductory price of $3.15 a month, but it renews for $8.95 a month.

That’s a steep increase after the first month. The plans include unlimited email addresses, disk space, and bandwidth. You’ll also get $50 in social networking credits when you sign up for a shared plan. Plus, you’ll get 1GB of JustCloud storage and access to a free website builder and domain name. These tools will help you set your site up.

The Original FatCow hosting plan in a glance.

The Original FatCow hosting plan in a glance.

WordPress Blog

If you just want to set up a WordPress blog, you can sign up for the company’s WordPress Blog hosting. The WP Starter plan starts at $3.75 a month, and the WP Essential plan starts at $6.95 a month. Both plans include the core hosting plan, a customized control panel, and pre-installed themes and plugins. The Essential plan has enhanced speed, security, and support, making it a good option if you are hosting a business blog. Otherwise, the Starter plan should provide you with everything you need for a WordPress blog.

VPS Hosting

VPS Hosting is another choice. FatCow offers three VPS Hosting plans. The Basic plan includes 1 core, 1 GB of RAM, 40 GB of storage, and 1 TB of bandwidth. The Business plan has 2 cores, 4 GB of RAM, 90 GB of storage, and 3 TB of bandwidth. The Optimum plan has 4 cores, 8 GB of ram, 120 GB of storage, and 4 TB of bandwidth. These plans range in price from $19.99 a month all the way up to $79.99 a month.

Dedicated Servers

Finally, you can go with a Dedicated Servers plan. You will also have three options to choose from if you select Dedicated Servers hosting. The Startup plan has 2 cores, 4 GB of RAM, 500 GB of storage, and 5 TB of bandwidth, while the Professional plan has twice as much of everything. The Enterprise plan has 4 cores, 16 GB of RAM, 1,000 GB of storage, and 15 TB of bandwidth. These packages range from $119.99 a month to $191.99 a month, and they provide independent control and dedicated resources.

My Experience With FatCow: What’s Good?

Strong Uptime Record

I like several things about FatCow. One of the best features is the uptime. While I don’t currently have a test site up, I track a site that is owned by a friend of mine, and I’m impressed by the site’s uptime record. The host is reliable, which is something that you always want when you have a website up, whether you are using it for business or personal use.

fatcow - 201603

FatCow March 2016 hosting uptime score: 100%

Daily Backup

I also like the way that FatCow offers a daily backup service. Most budget web hosts don’t do this, so this is a huge benefit. You want your information to be protected, and you’ll get that with FatCow without spending a ton of money on third-party backups.

Room to Grow

Also, FatCow offers room to grow. While it used to only offer shared hosting plans, it started offering VPS and dedicated hosting in May 2014. These additional options mean that you can grow with your host. If you plan to expand your site in the future, FatCow might be a good option for you. It’s nice to be able to stay with the same hosting company when you expand, so this is a great feature.

Of course, it’s can’t all be good. There are also a few things you should know.

FatCow Special Discount

FatCow runs weekend promotions and special discounts randomly. The price stated in this review might not be accurate. For best accuracy, please visit FatCow official site.

Find out more about FatCow latest discount: https://www.fatcow.com/

FatCow Uptime Review

Our record shows that FatCow has been averaging 99.85% – 99.9% (if not better) in term of uptime constantly for the past few years. The following images are recent uptime score (screen captured from Uptime Robot) of our test site.

FatCow Uptime (March 2016): 100%

fatcow - 201603

FatCow uptime for the past 30 days (in March 2016) – 100%.

FatCow Uptime (August 2014): 100%

FatCow Past 30 Days Uptime (August 2014)

FatCow Past 30 Days Uptime (August 2014)

FatCow Uptime (May 2014): 99.91%

FatCow Uptime Score (April - May 2014)

FatCow Uptime Score (Past 30 days, April – May 2014)

Important to Know

Internal upselling

FatCow engages in internal selling. Once you sign up for a hosting plan, FatCow will try to get you to sign up for free software and web application trials. You’ll find these right in your control panel, and they’ll look enticing. Once the trial ends, you’ll have to pay, and I assume that FatCow gets money when that happens. If you forget to cancel your trial, you’re going to end up with charges on your credit card.

I am not against hosting companies doing up-selling. But if you are careless, you can end up spending a ton of money on services that you don’t really want.

2. Unlimited hosting is very limited

As with most unlimited hosting provider, FatCow advertises “unlimited hosting,” but it comes with a ton of limitations. Those limitations often lead to account suspensions. If you use up too much storage space, bandwidth, or CPU time, your account can be suspended (see quotes below). So much for “unlimited.” It’s only unlimited until FatCow decides that you’ve used too much.

  • Post messages or software programs that consume excessive CPU time, or storage space, or network bandwidth; or

* Filed under FatCow’s Acceptable Use Policy Section (AUP) c. ii) 02.

3. Similar service, higher price

Then, there’s the fact that hosts that are also owned and managed by EIG have plans available for lower prices. For example, you can go with iPage or eHost and get the same services for less. It doesn’t make sense to go with FatCow if you can get the same for less.

EIG Web HostsFatCowiPageBlueHostASOeHost
Disk StorageUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited5 GB SSDUnlimited
BandwidthUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited50 GBUnlimited
Addon DomainUnlimitedUnlimited1UnlimitedUnlimited
Control PanelvDeckvDeckcPanelcPanelcPanel
Server UpgradesYesYesYesYesYes
Trial Period30 days30 days30 days90 days45 days
Anytime Money BackYesYesYesNoYes
Signup Price$3.15/mo$1.99/mo$3.49/mo$3.13/mo$2.75/mo
Learn MoreRead ReviewRead ReviewRead ReviewRead Review
Order NowVisit OnlineVisit OnlineVisit OnlineVisit OnlineVisit Online

FatCow Critic Review by Michael Bely, ex-FatCow User

I got in touch with Michael Bely of Research As A Hobby, who is an ex-FatCow user, recently.m bely

Michael wrote a long piece of review on FatCow Hosting and the following Q&A summarized his experience with the web host. This should be a useful piece of information for those who are considering FatCow.

J: Jerry Low / M: Michael Bely.

About Michael Bely and his time at FatCow

J: Hi Michael, thanks for helping with our FatCow review. For start, can you please tell us more about yourself and your experience in blogging?

M:

I’ve been blogging since July 2013. My interest is researching and showing the bloggers efficient ways to achieve their goals in a detailed, truthful and helpful way. My primary focus is tools and means for bloggers.

How long have you been with FatCow? And briefly, how would you sum up your experience in hosting?

1 month with FatCow, and more than one hundred hosts within 2 last years. I’ve been working as a technical manager for SEO clients, so I’ve been closely dealing with all these hosting companies.

What Michael didn’t like about FatCow hosting

J: The biggest issue with FatCow is … 

M:

Performance (slowness).

Initial problems after I bought hosting (I had to wait for 24-48 hours before installing WordPress. And website builder did not work out of the box). I could contact support to resolved the issues, but these issues should not have taken place in the first place.

[More details in the following images.]

fatcow server performance 1

Day one – server responding in seconds and long down time.

fatcow server performance 2

Day two.

When asking for a refund, the support was resisting that more than appropriate.

Positive in FatCow and hosting advice

J: Is there anything good you’d talk about this web host?

M: The support exists (chat, phone) which is good by itself. The support is polite in general.

J: Where do you host most of your sites nowadays? What makes you like/trust them?

M: I’d emphasize two companies above all – My main host is EuroVPS. It’s a professional-oriented hosting service. Also I like very much StableHost – reliable performance for very small price.

J: Thank you very much for your time.

 The Bottom Line

FatCow is probably past its prime.

At one time, it was a promising service with a lot to offer its customers, but that time is gone. I used to enjoy this host, but it’s time to put this cow out to pasture. Go with one of the other hosts managed by the same company. You’ll get the same reliable service for less money.

Order FatCow Now

For more details or to order FatCow, visit (opens in new window): https://www.fatcow.com/